We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Place d'Armes
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Nelligan(Montreal)
$241
$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Bonaparte(Montreal)
$272
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$163
$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Gault(Montreal)
$344
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$203
$191
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$209
$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$426
$385
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$252
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,652)
Filter reviews
2,652 results
Traveler rating
1,928
533
125
42
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,928
533
125
42
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold montrealrain spajunior suitenotre dameexposed brickchocolate covered strawberriesbeautiful hotelrooftop terracebottle of champagneelectric fireplacejetted tubhigh ceilingsturn down serviceperfect locationhuge bathroombeautiful roomhotel bar
Filter
Updating list...
1,616 - 1,621 of 2,652 reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My fiancée and I recently held two events at the Place D'Armes Hotel; our wedding ceremony and family gathering in the room Saint-Jacques, followed by cocktail and dinner with friends in the VIP Suite at Suite 701 restaurant two weeks later, and we could not have been happier with the events. Food was great, so was the service by the very enthousiastic and professional staff. We also booked two nights at the hotel, and were upgraded for both nights, which was a very pleasant surprise. Our experience at the RainSpa also enhanced our overall experience at this venue. We highly recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a classy venue for a wedding reception. Cristina & Alex, Montreal

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We spent two nights at the Place d'Armes hotel in the very heart of Old Montreal. Our Classic King Suite was a well appointed corner room with a nice city view. The location of this hotel is ideal - attractions of Old Montreal are within short walking distance as are many charming bars and bistros.

The staff were very friendly from check-in through to check-out. My wife speaks some French which was certainly helpful but as an English-only guest I had no problems communicating with staff.

The chic bar downstairs is obviously a popular spot and serves a good range of cocktails, wines and beers as well as a selection of gourmet meals.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Hubby and I decided to get away for our anniversary and had heard good things about this hotel.The room looked nice online and although a bit pricey,we decided to book our stay

We were disappointed,in not just the room,but the overall service.The room we got had a very uncomfortable bed,and we heard alot of noise each night coming from the hotel bar "suite 701"

Extra's were unreasonably expensive and one would think that with such a high cost for a hotel room,they could have at least included a coffee maker! $9 for a small tin of jelly beans? Give me a break!

Overall iam NOT going to recommend this place to my family/friends.For less $$$ we could have done better

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jillyd48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MathieuLarochelle, General Manager at Hotel Place d'Armes, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Dear Jillyd48,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay. We try to go above and beyond for all our guests and we are truly sorry we did not meet your expectations. The comfort and experience of each of our guests is our main priority. We have taken your comments serioulsy and will try to keep improving our services.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Stayed here for a long weekend on a girls trip! Perfect location to Old Montreal and its great boutique shops and quaint cafes. Notre Dame Basilica is directly kitty corner, steps away....amazing in itself! The rooms here are quite spacious, comfortable and the bathroom was fabulous with the rain shower! The metro is approx. 1 block away and very convenient....although walking everywhere around Montreal is quite easy and fun! Really enjoyed our stay and would stay here again!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank grove91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Let's start with the fact that I had messed up my reservation night and the Place along with every hotel in old town was sold out. As luck would have it a room opened up - but even if it hadn't the staff was working so hard to accommodate my wife and I we were so appreciative. We were so thrilled to get a room but the staff went further to assist us in getting checked-in and comfortable. Every interaction we had with was pleasant. This is the staff we all dream we had working at our business.

The hotel facilities are exceptional. We were in the building two in a superior king room and the design and amenities were all top shelf. Valet parking is quick and efficient and dining is relaxed and refreshing. If you are much younger than us the Suite 701 space turns into an upscale nightclub. If we were to change anything about the hotel it would be to have a quieter place for just an evening cocktail.

The tourist activities are a short distance away and comfortable walk for nearly anyone. It was a most enjoyable stay and we highly recommend the hotel to anyone wishing to visit the area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews