We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Place d'Armes
Ranked #8 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 14, 2013

The rooms in this hotel were big and beautiful! Fabulous shower and bath.

The location of the hotel was perfect if you want to spend your time in Old Montreal...walking distance to amazing restaurants and shops.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,414)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,423 - 1,429 of 2,414 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2013

What can I say other than amazing! From the staff to the rooms to the location, this hotel is unbelievable! We stayed in the penthouse suite and it was absolute luxury from beginning to end. The staff,mainly Madeleine were A1! I highly recommend you treat yourself and book into this hotel. Thanks again!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

A gem in Old Montreal

We stayed in Hotel Place d’Armes for one night last September. We were in a the Penthouse suite. What a gorgeous suite! Incredible! The decor was absolutely stunning, and the comfort was ultimate. The main bathroom was very incredible: everything you can imagine in a bathroom is there. We appreciated the room service as well. The interior design is fantastic and the ambiance is great. The location is ideal to visit the Old Montreal by feet and the subway station is very close.
This is great hotel you can’t miss and I highly recommend it for your next stay in Montreal City.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DianeC36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Perfect location - steps from Notre Dame and two underground stations.

The staff could not have been more helpful.. The bar was fun and lively although sometimes a little too loud. Food was great and the servers very helpful

Rooms were well appointed

Spa staff again great

Room Tip: We had an "executive suite" which was very spacious adn you could close off the bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaS02110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here last month in a suite. Loved the brick work in our room and throughout the hotel. Staff were all great. Had side by side massages and my husband said it was the best one he's ever had! Had our two teenage girls with us, great location for hopping on the subway system with them. They loved Montreal Underground! Lots of shopping!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bluesky98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

My new rule from now on: if staff offer me an affordable upgrade to a king room or higher, I'm taking it. I say this because I paid $10 a night for an upgrade to a king room during my recent stay at Place D'Armes, and what a score! Got a large corner room overlooking the Notre Dame cathedral. Hardwood floors are a nice touch and probably great for allergy sufferers. I stayed in the 'old' section of the hotel, building 1, and the room was decorated traditionally - furnishings a little worn, but still nice. But all the modern appointments you'd expect, except for a mini-fridge.

Highlights:
-GREAT service - in particular, Iman from reception (who upgraded me) was wonderful
-lots of natural light from the huge windows
-ultra-comfy giant king bed
-great black and white tiling in the bathroom
-huge tub with jets -- perfect for couples
-all the standard appointments: stereo, robes, good toiletries
-strong wifi, even at peak hours

Minor quirks:
-no mini-fridge
-some street noise if you're a light sleeper
-cleaning staff seemed to do just the minimum, no tidying except for the bed
-elevator was slow and temperamental when i stayed there, had to take the stairs up once

Place D'Armes is in a great location - super close to the metro, chinatown, convention centre, and of course, beautiful old Montreal. There's a SAQ (wine and beer) on the next corner, so don't drain the makeshift mini-bar booze. We ate at the adjacent restaurant Suite 701 -- not a bad prix fixe for $29, but it's got a nightclub/lounge feel at night, so not a spot for quiet intimate dinners.

Would I stay here again? You bet -- if only to soak in that crazy-big bathtub!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorkingOnIt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Really well located - walking distance to all of Old Montreal and a great deal of downtown. Rooms are spacious (and the bathroom was insanely huge!), but missing coffee makers (argh). I had issues with the room wifi, but got it working in the meeting room that I was in (thankfully, and unfortunately the front desk person wasn't remotely interested in helping me with my wifi issues). The bed was comfy and the meeting facilities and catering was delicious. My only issue was the wifi - the rest was great. There is a gym here but I didn't use it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank d_p_richards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#6 of 165 in Montreal
2,194 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#2 of 165 in Montreal
1,367 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#7 of 165 in Montreal
1,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#9 of 165 in Montreal
1,745 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 165 in Montreal
2,033 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#5 of 165 in Montreal
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Place d'Armes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Place d'Armes

Address: 55 Saint-Jacques W, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1K9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#7 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#7 Business Hotel in Montreal
#7 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#12 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: $131 - $642 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Place d'Armes 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Place d'Armes features 80 rooms and 53 suites, including six studios with private terrace and five large penthouses where the decor blends contemporary design with ancient architecture. The three historic buildings housing Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites all date back to the late 19th century. These regal structures were originally home to some of the pre-eminent businesses of the time, and their architecture recalls an era devoted to unmatched craftsmanship and detail. Hotel Features: - 6 meeting rooms and a modular ballroom that can accommodate up to 350 people, with natural light, stone or brick walls and equipped with comfortable furniture - 2 restaurants and a spa - Rooftop Terrace ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Place d'Armes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Place d`Armes Hotel And Suites
Le Place d`Armes Hotel Montreal
Le Place d Armes Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing