We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Ranked #5 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect location!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here last month in a suite. Loved the brick work in our room and throughout the hotel. Staff were all great. Had side by side massages and my husband said it was the best one he's ever had! Had our two teenage girls with us, great location for hopping on the subway system with them. They loved Montreal Underground! Lots of shopping!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluesky98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,606
    462
    109
    40
    18
See reviews for
314
1,103
87
363
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (475)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
In Toronto
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

My new rule from now on: if staff offer me an affordable upgrade to a king room or higher, I'm taking it. I say this because I paid $10 a night for an upgrade to a king room during my recent stay at Place D'Armes, and what a score! Got a large corner room overlooking the Notre Dame cathedral. Hardwood floors are a nice touch and probably great for allergy sufferers. I stayed in the 'old' section of the hotel, building 1, and the room was decorated traditionally - furnishings a little worn, but still nice. But all the modern appointments you'd expect, except for a mini-fridge.

Highlights:
-GREAT service - in particular, Iman from reception (who upgraded me) was wonderful
-lots of natural light from the huge windows
-ultra-comfy giant king bed
-great black and white tiling in the bathroom
-huge tub with jets -- perfect for couples
-all the standard appointments: stereo, robes, good toiletries
-strong wifi, even at peak hours

Minor quirks:
-no mini-fridge
-some street noise if you're a light sleeper
-cleaning staff seemed to do just the minimum, no tidying except for the bed
-elevator was slow and temperamental when i stayed there, had to take the stairs up once

Place D'Armes is in a great location - super close to the metro, chinatown, convention centre, and of course, beautiful old Montreal. There's a SAQ (wine and beer) on the next corner, so don't drain the makeshift mini-bar booze. We ate at the adjacent restaurant Suite 701 -- not a bad prix fixe for $29, but it's got a nightclub/lounge feel at night, so not a spot for quiet intimate dinners.

Would I stay here again? You bet -- if only to soak in that crazy-big bathtub!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorkingOnIt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
109 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Really well located - walking distance to all of Old Montreal and a great deal of downtown. Rooms are spacious (and the bathroom was insanely huge!), but missing coffee makers (argh). I had issues with the room wifi, but got it working in the meeting room that I was in (thankfully, and unfortunately the front desk person wasn't remotely interested in helping me with my wifi issues). The bed was comfy and the meeting facilities and catering was delicious. My only issue was the wifi - the rest was great. There is a gym here but I didn't use it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank d_p_richards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

A great boutique hotel in Old Montreal. Great location, literally kiddie-corner to Notre Dame Cathedral and walking distance to charming bistros and shops.
GREETING. Friendly and professional greeting. Front desk staff is efficient and pleasant. REMEMBER, when in Montreal, try to speak French first. They will figure out you're English by your accent and they will gladly speak to you in English. I do this out of respect for their culture. They all speak two languages, typically "anglos" only speak one.
ATMOSPHERE. This hotel is made up of two historical buildings restored and joined. There are two elevator banks, for building 2 and 3. The rooms have exposed brick combined with a modern decor. Very clean and well maintained.
RESTAURANT. A beautiful room, with 24-foot ceilings and that old feel. Truly a great place for cocktails and/or dinner.
MY ROOM(S). I have stayed here several times and have tried the King Suite and have been upgraded to the King Junior Suite, in both building 2 and 3. I prefer building 3 as it faces St. Jacques which is a quieter street than the street building 2 faces. All have a generous rain-head shower and modern amenities.
Overall, this is a good hotel. The staff are pleasant and efficient, the rooms comfortable and the atmosphere a cool converted loft feel.

Room Tip: My favourite room was 3502, a King Junior Suite facing St. Jacques. On the same floor and steps to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 5starbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

I reserved a room asking first and foremost that it be a quiet one, since this hotel is in the downtown area. After checking other reviews I even specified where I wanted to be, and reiterated that at check-in. My room was rather spare (given the price), had hard wood floors (above me as well) and was just outside a rather noisy elevator. Further, the room was hot and the air conditioning was not yet turned on (in early April) and the window did not open. I called the front desk and they agreed to move me to another (much nicer) room, but wanted to charge me an extra $20/night (which the manager later waived), provided a fan, had the maintenance man unlock the window, fixed a broken bulb and the TV (cable behind an enclosure had come lose). So, I felt that while the problems should have been avoided, they responded to them well. Excellent front desk staff.
Consider this hotel if you like history and local color. Look elsewhere if you are a business traveler who just wants everything to work since all you're doing there is sleeping.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeattleSojourner_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Stayed only one night in the charming Old Montreal hotel, wasn't our first stay there as it is our regular spot to cut ourselves from the busy everyday life. Superior rooms are not that large but the feel and vibe in them is just great, everything you need is there, nice and complete minibar.

The staff and especially the concierge will go out of there way to make you feel like the most special guest in the hotel. nice free cocktail at the bar upon check-in. Food at the bar is great with a lively and hip crowd.

Would recommend this Montreal hotel to any tourist or any local just looking for a weekend getaway!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SebnVero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MathieuLarochelle, General Manager at Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear SebnVero,

We thank you for your wonderful feedback. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful experience, and we hope to be able to accomodate you again in the near future.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

My room at the hotel had several problems the first day of my visit and the concierge switched rooms for me the next day. Also, my flight home was cancelled the day of my return home and my concerige was at the ready again, calling the airline and reserving a taxi for me. He certainly made my stay at Le Place d'Armes delightful!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeanineA842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MathieuLarochelle, General Manager at Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear JeanineA842,

Thank you for sharing your comments. We are glad that even though the start of your stay may not have been perfect, that our dedicated team along with the concierge team was able to turn that around. We hope you will visit us again soon.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#8 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,630 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#7 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#13 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,886 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#9 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites

Property: Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Address: 55 Saint-Jacques W, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1K9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#5 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#7 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#7 Business Hotel in Montreal
#12 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Place d'Armes features 80 rooms and 53 suites, including six studios with private terrace and five large penthouses where the decor blends contemporary design with ancient architecture. The three historic buildings housing Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites all date back to the late 19th century. These regal structures were originally home to some of the pre-eminent businesses of the time, and their architecture recalls an era devoted to unmatched craftsmanship and detail. Hotel Features: - 6 meeting rooms and a modular ballroom that can accommodate up to 350 people, with natural light, stone or brick walls and equipped with comfortable furniture - 2 restaurants and a spa - Rooftop Terrace ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Place d`Armes Hotel And Suites
Le Place d`Armes Hotel Montreal
Le Place d Armes Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing