We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Weekend in the City”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Ranked #5 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Cuba, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Weekend in the City”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

This hotel has great character, spacious rooms and bathrooms, pleasant staff and a great surrounding area for tourism. We traveled to Montreal on St. Patrick's Day Weekend for the UFC Fight at the Bell Centre. We got a great deal through the hotel's website for two nights, one night at half off. The hotel is three buildings connected to each other. We had a junior suite on the third floor. The room did not have much of a view, but made up for it in character and comfort. Spacious area with a king sized bed, sitting area with chairs, desk, couch, entertainment center complete with fat screen TV, DVD player, surround sound and mini bar. The ceiling in the room were approximately 20ft and had three large floor to ceiling windows. The room was darkened plenty by curtains and wood blinds. The hotel had a bar adjoined to it with pleasant staff and it came alive at night with a DJ. There was also valet parking. The surrounding area is Old Montreal with plenty to see by walking. Shopping District is a ten minute walk away, the subway is easily accessible as well as an underground walkway to the fun parts of the city (really helped in cold weather). WIFI in the hotel worked fine, nice pool table off the lobby to kill some time and the bathroom for our suite was fantastic. Spacious glass paneled shower, jacuzzi tub and never ending hot water with good pressure. Would recommend to anyone and it had better charm and character than staying in traditional hotel chain.

Room Tip: If you find a deal on the suites, they are worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmynChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,601
    462
    110
    40
    18
See reviews for
312
1,101
87
362
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (474)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a weekend getaway. The hotel is beautiful! The building is very old on the exterior, but the interior has been completely modernized. The staff was very friendly, and spoke english well, and check-in was fast. Our room was beautiful and upon walking in, the electric fireplace was on and music was playing. I loved that the room had an iPhone docking station/alarm clock, very convenient. Very nice decor, and a large bed, flat screen and sitting area as well. My absolute favourite part was the shower! I have never seen such a large gorgeous shower like it before....complete wall of glass and tile, very nice!

My only complaint would be about the sound from the heating unit. The room was warm, so we turned off the heat altogether and the sound from the ventilation was still very loud even after we shut it off. I had no problem sleeping because of the sound, but it kept my husband up for a little bit at night. Unless you are a light sleeper, the sound probably wouldn't bother you at all.

Upon check-in, we were given a voucher for 2 complimentary cocktails in the lounge. We went to the lounge around 10pm and it was a very cool, modern atmosphere with a DJ and purple lights. The bartender told us the voucher was good for drinks valued at up to $11 (which there really are not many drinks at or below that price). We were fine with that though because she told us upfront and said we could pay the difference. I ordered a raspberry dirty martini which was really good! However, had I not had the voucher I probably wouldn't have had more than the 1 drink in the lounge because the martini itself was $13. Overall, very unique atmosphere in the lounge, we enjoyed it.

If you're wanting to pick up your own liquor/beer, there is an SAQ (liquor store) about a block away from the hotel on Rue Notre Dame & Rue Saint Sulpice. Most convenience stores and grocery stores also sell liquor & beer until 11pm. There is a minibar in the room, however the bottles are pretty expensive ($35 for a small bottle of gin that you can get for about $16 at a liquor store).

There's a lot of construction going on near the hotel, so it's a bit hard to get to, but is in a nice area and close to lots of things (Notre Dame Basilica is a 2 minute walk away).

We didn't have breakfast at the hotel, but went to a place called "The Mon Cafe" which was about a 5 minute walk away and very highly recommended on other review sites. It's a quaint little place that had fantastic breakfast!

The valet parking was $28/night which is about average pretty much anywhere in Montreal at a hotel. It was well worth it though because of the construction & one way streets, it would have made parking difficult had it been up to us to find parking and try to navigate the construction and one way streets to get to the parking garage.

Overall, it was a wonderful hotel and I would highly recommend!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amcs76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Beautiful architecture and design in common areas and room (including jacuzzi, chimney, etc.), attention to details, friendly staff, generosity, great location in old Montreal, and trendy restaurant / lounge just a few floors beneath. We couldn't ask for more for our snowy wedding anniversary escapade in Montreal.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Turrb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abington, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

My family stayed here on the "kids in the city" package which was a great value. Convenient location, comfortable room and wonderful service all around. Complimentary continental breakfast, milk and cookies turn down service and free Wifi made for a very comfortable stay.
The location allowed for easy walking to Notre Dame, the Archaeology Museum, shops and restaurants despite it being the middle of March when we stayed. Service was top notch and very welcoming; returning from our adventures around the city and beyond always made us feel like we were coming home.
Would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheresaW1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Had bad experience here several years ago with ongoing constructions noise and lack of concern from hotel management. Went back this year on business trip with husband and guess what – construction noise again – but this time we did get a fruit tray from management. All that did was prove to us the lack of detail and care that seems to plague our visits to this hotel. The fruit had clearly been out for some time and actually smelled bad. I’ve never seen strawberry leaves as brown as the ones on the tray – how long would that take? How many staff saw that and allowed it to be delivered? Did the manager sending it not check it first? So many things this visit – from dirty toilet (probably due to housekeepers who are on the cell phone while cleaning the bathroom), no clock radio, no coffee for coffee maker you have to request,to the handling (literally) of food by staff at the breakfast buffet that I am surprised they manage such a high rating on this site. Shame.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Avalonbliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MathieuLarochelle, General Manager at Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Avalonbliss,

We truly appreciate your review as it allows us to better our services, as we strive to offer the highest level of quality. We are truly saddened to hear that on both occasions we were not able to meet your expectations. The comments made in your review have been taken seriously and addressed with our staff, for what you have mentionned does not reflect our level of service nor our standards.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
detroit
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel was the best from food, to the people, to the room, etc. We loved every minute of our stay there and can't wait to go back. Perfect location as well! Our fireplace was malfunctioning when we arrived and they had someone up in 10 mins and he replaced it {as it is electric}. Just amaziiiiiiiiiiiing!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leelee8218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed in a suite style room (it was huge!) last weekend and it was a very nice weekend getaway. The bed was comfortable, the pillows were amazing (I want to buy some), the fireplace was a nice touch (it could have been in front of bed instead of couch but oh well), and the amenities (bar, pool table, lobby, etc.) were very well done. Front staff were extremely nice and pleasant to deal with. Bathroom was amazing - huge, large shower, nice jacuzzi against brick wall. The room faced the street which was VERY loud but we were up early anyway so it didn't bother us too much. I loved the huge windows/curtains.

The section of hotel we were staying in only had one elevator that was used by maintenance and cleaning staff - in many instances the elevator door would open and we wouldn't be able to go in because it was full with a cart (not a huge deal, I'm just commenting on all details). We'd then have to wait for it to go up slowly, them to unload, and come back down to get us.

The ONLY complaint we have is the maid service at this hotel. Two parts to this. In the welcome book in the room it states there will be turn down service but it did not occur (it never mentioned that it was by request only so we didn't ask and assumed it would be done when we got back at the end of the night). Obviously we were fine without it, but seeing that it was advertised we did hope for it.

The other part to the maid service was the daily cleaning. I do not think she really cleaned the room or checked on anything (yes, we got fresh towels which is most important) but there was a water bottle cap (that was not mine) that was left on the bed side table (which was not there when we left)...and the main issue: the empty box of Kleenex on the bathroom counter (which was empty from the beginning of our trip). It was never replenished - although we did find extra boxes underneath the sink - It's pretty standard to check and refill things like this (just like the soaps, shampoos, etc). Not a deal breaker - just mentioning both the good and bad.

Old Montreal is great. This hotel is great and the location is amazing. Very close to all the restaurants/shops on St.Denis and very close to Place D'Armes subway station which gets you about anywhere you need to go!

I would definitely recommend this hotel. We may stay here again when we come back in the summer.

Room Tip: I'm not sure which rooms are quieter, but you may want to request this since where I stayed faci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travel_l0ve11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#8 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,627 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#7 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#13 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,879 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#9 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites

Property: Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Address: 55 Saint-Jacques W, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1K9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#5 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#7 Business Hotel in Montreal
#7 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#12 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Place d'Armes features 80 rooms and 53 suites, including six studios with private terrace and five large penthouses where the decor blends contemporary design with ancient architecture. The three historic buildings housing Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites all date back to the late 19th century. These regal structures were originally home to some of the pre-eminent businesses of the time, and their architecture recalls an era devoted to unmatched craftsmanship and detail. Hotel Features: - 6 meeting rooms and a modular ballroom that can accommodate up to 350 people, with natural light, stone or brick walls and equipped with comfortable furniture - 2 restaurants and a spa - Rooftop Terrace ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Place d`Armes Hotel And Suites
Le Place d`Armes Hotel Montreal
Le Place d Armes Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing