We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel in great neighbourhood.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Place d'Armes
Ranked #6 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel in great neighbourhood.”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I stayed one night in this hotel and was very pleased with the room. It was very large and beautifully appointed. I had a King room with a fireplace and a rain shower.

The spa was great. It was empty the day I visited so I had the entire Hammam (steam room) to myself! When I arrived home the next day, I could still smell the lavender in my clothes which was very nice.

Restaurant/room service was a disappointment. Menus on the website are totally out of date and there are only a few things to choose from that are very expensive. The veal burger should be renamed fat-burger (it was gross). There are tons of restos in the immediate area, though, that offer plenty of options. I'd heard the rooftop patio in the hotel is nice but given my stay was in February, it wasn't open.

I'd return to this hotel in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CU_in_TO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,684
    481
    114
    41
    20
See reviews for
339
1,150
90
377
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (499)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

Ok, the room was small but if you stay in old Montreal I suppose you have to expect that to a certain extent....just wish they charged a bit less too!!!! No real complaint there though.

What mad me irate was the lousy service in the restaurant. The food wasn't spectacular and they certainly charged enough for it! That said, I just couldn't get past the lousy service. Slow and rude. I waited more than 15 minutes to have someone acknowledge I was even there and then it simply didn't get better from there. Got a coupon for a free drink when I checked in...not worth waiting for

Stayed February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank GuyfromOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 12, 2013

The location for this hotel is perfect since it is close to everything in Old Montreal and also near public transit. The linens, bed, bath products and bathroom were all outstanding. There was some noise from being in the center of Montreal but it was not bothersome, but worth noting if you are a light sleeper. the hotel areas are not very large but the room and bathroom were an impressive size. I would go back when I am in Montreal.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmerrill80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Location is just excellent in old montal, The rooms... I thought they gave me a suite, Beautiful, big, cool design, you could see the bricks on the walls, the service was excellent, everyone had a smile in their face, i did not try the restaurants, they looked cool but i do not know about the food, the bar on the roof had a great view to notre dame.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

This is located very close to our Montreal offices and it has been a pleasure every time I have stayed there. Depending on whether you get the new building or old building there are some differences but all in all definitely a 4 start experience to me. My only one gripe is depending on the room your bathroom can be very small or it can be huge. It is totally hit or miss. 2 times I have gotten a huge room and bathroom and once a smaller room and bathroom. If you are expecting American sized rooms you will not get it here but the rooms are great in general. The restaurant and bar at the hotel are great especially in the blistery winters. I would recommend this for a romantic evening or a business trip. Not too sure about a family type vacation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel twice on business, our business travel agency gives it a 5 star, however I don't think I would. For me 5 star means your starting point is of the highest standard, and I don't see this is the case. The basic queen room is tiny and has a small stand up shower. Really to have a 5 star experience you need to upgrade your room to a king suite as a starting point. The bathrooms are huge, but not a great use of space - no counter space for toiletries. Wait for elevators can be long with cleaning staff having to move all their equipment and tying up the elevators. Door man may or may not be around. I will say the location is great, the building itself interesting, and the staff friendly and try hard to accomodate. The first time I stayed there was no hot water in the evening or in the morning and I had called to find out the scoop. Understandable so circumstances are out of their control - however at check out their was no inquiry as to 'how was your stay'. Not a horrible stay but nothing to encourage me to stay there again with so many choices in the city.

Room Tip: Upgrade your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sgc10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MathieuLarochelle, General Manager at Hotel Place d'Armes, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear scg10,

Thank you for reviewing Le Place D'Armes Hotel and Suites. We regret to hear that the Queen Sized room the agency may have reserved for you was not up to your standards. We invite you to visit our website and look at the various rooms and suites available that may better accomodate your needs. We will share your comments with our staff and ensure that our level of service is up to standards.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Location was amazing.

Hotel Rooms were outstanding (Like a high end condo). Exposed brick. Vegas quality snacks and mini bar.

Service was outstanding. They upgraded our room with a Suite and gave us a complementary alcoholic beverage at their lounge.

Room Service and amenities were also outstanding. The King size bed was extremely comfortable and we had a complimentary bottle of wine and cookies from the concierge in our room.

I would honestly give them a 10.

Adam

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#8 of 165 in Montreal
2,133 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#7 of 165 in Montreal
1,410 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 165 in Montreal
1,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 165 in Montreal
1,341 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#2 of 165 in Montreal
356 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#9 of 165 in Montreal
1,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Place d'Armes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Place d'Armes

Property: Hotel Place d'Armes
Address: 55 Saint-Jacques W, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1K9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#5 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#7 Business Hotel in Montreal
#7 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#12 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Place d'Armes 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Place d'Armes features 80 rooms and 53 suites, including six studios with private terrace and five large penthouses where the decor blends contemporary design with ancient architecture. The three historic buildings housing Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites all date back to the late 19th century. These regal structures were originally home to some of the pre-eminent businesses of the time, and their architecture recalls an era devoted to unmatched craftsmanship and detail. Hotel Features: - 6 meeting rooms and a modular ballroom that can accommodate up to 350 people, with natural light, stone or brick walls and equipped with comfortable furniture - 2 restaurants and a spa - Rooftop Terrace ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Place d'Armes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Place d`Armes Hotel And Suites
Le Place d`Armes Hotel Montreal
Le Place d Armes Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing