We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding at Hotel Place d'Armes”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Place d'Armes
Ranked #7 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 14, 2012

I just got married in this hotel. We had a wonderfull experience! The staff, the location, the services, the food, the reception, we have nothing to complain about: it was simply : perfect! We recommend that Hotel for wedding reception! With the help pf their coordinator, it is really easy and it would be a fabulous time for you and all your guests!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank genevieveemond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,385)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Place d'Armes
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,476 - 1,482 of 2,385 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Le Place d'Armes the second weekend of November. We booked a Tourism Montreal 'sweet deal' and decided to go all out and stay in the penthouse in building two. We were in room 2705..it was simply one of the top three rooms we've ever stayed in.
Perfection. We don't have a single complaint with this hotel. After reading reviews here, we steered away from rooms over the '701' bar. It was very noisey when we returned to the hotel one night, but we did not hear a thing in our room. The building is full of history and the location is great. We walked all along rue St. Paul, and ate there a couple of times, and even made the walk downtown with no difficulty.

Room Tip: If you are worried about noise from the bar, get a room in building two or three. These are not out...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

My partner and I have stayed here before and wanted to return because of the friendly staff and pleasant environment. We were not disappointed.

It was as enjoyable as we remembered and more. The staff were consistently knowledgeable and helpful. The spa massage was a delight. The complimentary drink much appreciated.

We can not wait to return to Montreal and to make this hotel part of our vacation plans.

Room Tip: Sebastien, the doorman, functions as a unofficial and knowledgeable concierge.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelhoundIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

My wife & I stayed at the Place d'Armes for 2 nights 10/17-19. We were generally pleased with a hotel that we expect will continue to improve.

The staff in all respects was wonderful, whether at the front door, the bar, or the restaurant. In particular, the concierge, Ms. Magil Tétreault, was exceptional; she helped us for several weeks via emails before we arrived & was then warm, gracious, & additionally helpful when we arrived.

We elected to stay in the old section of the hotel - recently renovated - where we upgraded to a room with a loft that was a bit awkward in its layout, but charming. The biggest problem was a day when the elevator failed & we were left climbing 7 flights of stairs!

The hotel's location in old Montreal is outstanding, especially its access on the square to the stunning Notre Dame Basilica (reviewed elsewhere on TA).

The hotel's bar is a popular after-work meeting place with blaring, off-putting music (?), but the drinks were excellent & the beet salad was exceptional.

The hotel's Aix restaurant was pleasant for dinner with excellent service, but fell short in its execution of their ambitious menu (reviewed elsewhere on TA).

Room Tip: Ask about room renovations in the old section.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RalphSchmitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

My wife and I took our first vacation as a family with our new baby to wintery Canada and we had a great time. The hotel itself is gorgeous and in an excellent location. As travelers we realize there are plenty of places that offer this, what makes this place stand out is the level of service their staff provides. From the moment you walk through the door everyone is helpful, freindly, and seem geniuinely happy to be of service. One employee stood above them all, Bruce the bartender/server at Suite 701 (the restaurant in the lobby) was cordial, informative, and well versed in his craft. The bar has a nice selection of whiskey, but the mixed drinks are the shining star, all ingredients are fresh and served with style. Merci Beaucoup Bruce

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Riley-JD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I took my husband here for his birthday weekend getaway in August and we had a fantastic stay. The hotel was beautiful and our King Suite guest room was huge. My favorite parts about the room were the exposed brick in the bedroom along with the oversized jacuzzi tub, and rain shower. What a great value for the price. The staff were all very professional and helpful in planning dining options. For the summer months, the hotel has a roof terrace and for the winter months, the rooms have fireplaces. The hotel is right next to the basilica in Old Montreal which is completely lined with cobble stone streets. I would highly recommend staying here. Make sure to walk over to Olive Gourmando for breakfast - their breakfast panini is to die for. For dinner you can also walk to Barroco or L'Original.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelfan414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We only spent one night @ Le Place d'Armes, before meeting up with friends for a week long 'home stay', but would happily recommend it as a great hotel in a great location.

A boutique hotel, yet not small and pokey, our room was a great surprise when we walked through the door. It was HUGE !

Well appointed and very very spacious we could have easily stay for the week. Our room was on the front corner of the building that shows in all the photos of the Hotel. It looked out across the cobblestone square, to Notre Dame and was a spectacular sight at night.

Very comfy King bed, and a great bathroom - it was a fantastic first night in Montreal.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouBale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#6 of 165 in Montreal
2,178 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#8 of 165 in Montreal
1,447 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#2 of 165 in Montreal
1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#5 of 165 in Montreal
389 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 165 in Montreal
2,006 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#9 of 165 in Montreal
1,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Place d'Armes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Place d'Armes

Address: 55 Saint-Jacques W, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1K9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#6 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#7 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#7 Business Hotel in Montreal
#12 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: $182 - $609 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Place d'Armes 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Place d'Armes features 80 rooms and 53 suites, including six studios with private terrace and five large penthouses where the decor blends contemporary design with ancient architecture. The three historic buildings housing Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites all date back to the late 19th century. These regal structures were originally home to some of the pre-eminent businesses of the time, and their architecture recalls an era devoted to unmatched craftsmanship and detail. Hotel Features: - 6 meeting rooms and a modular ballroom that can accommodate up to 350 people, with natural light, stone or brick walls and equipped with comfortable furniture - 2 restaurants and a spa - Rooftop Terrace ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Place d'Armes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Place d`Armes Hotel And Suites
Le Place d`Armes Hotel Montreal
Le Place d Armes Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing