We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet luxury in the heart of Old Montreal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Ranked #6 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Quiet luxury in the heart of Old Montreal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

I am actually a local and live in Montreal.
I have searched long for a nice romantic hotel to take my wife for our anniversary and was not disappointed by Place D'armes.
Nice hotel, composed of three adjacent buildings of character. Ambiance manages to be both classic and sophisticated. the rooms are nice and well appointed with walk in showers and spa baths. We originally booked a junior suite and were upgraded to executive after a little issue with our A/C unit.
Large rooms with a nice view. Quiet hotel in the centre of the action.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wap13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,604
    462
    109
    40
    18
See reviews for
314
1,102
87
362
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (475)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

The location is perfect and the hotel is extremely nice. We reserved a room with a king for three nights and were bumped up to a suite. The room was gorgeous and the service was great. we extended to a fourth night and were given the best rate for the extra night. Easy walk to all of Old Montreal and very close to the Metro.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MLnoname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Yes, this place can be pricey but it was a great stay in Montreal. We paid ~ $750 for three week nights in October.

Location: Fabulous because it was near the quaint old town area with plenty of areas to stroll through and pick up breakfast. 1 block away from the metro stop and about 3 blocks from China Town. About 5 blocks from the water front and Archeology museum.

Service: Very friendly and tried to be professional but some odd answers to my questions. They seemed to always try to sell their own restaurant whenever we wanted suggestions from the concierge...even when we asked to find St.Viateur for their famous bagels. I also tried to get a room with a good view - one of the customer service reps said she would try, since the rooms were not ready when we arrived. But then another service rep looked at her and mumbled something in French... She then said that our room does have a good view and then within the same sentence, said that really, there were not good views in this hotel. Then, our toilet had very low water pressure so I called the front desk who said they would relocate us to another room. 15 minutes later, after frantically packing our things, a guy comes up to the room and says no other rooms are available and they would fix it in the a.m. "A" for effort but "C" for the odd answers and possibly... lack of experience?

Rooms: Loved the brick walls and hard wood floors INSIDE the rooms - a lot of personality with very high ceilings. Big bathroom with full bath. Good blow dryer in the room, iron and board, umbrella, robes, iphone/ipod dock on radio. Bed was a bit firm for me (I am soft biased) but otherwise comfy.

Fitness room: small but my husband said was good enough - had cardio machines and weights.

We received a free drink voucher for their restaurant upon checkin. Our friends also stayed in the hotel and opted to buy package deal that included 4 free metro passes and coupons... not sure how much more they spent but they also got a bigger room.

Room Tip: To get a larger room, do not use AAA. (although our room was small, I thought it was worth the savin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luv2travel_whoohoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

The room was beautiful and the staff was terrific. My wife loved the bathroom. We got a special weekend rate and received an upgrade. We had to leave early because the hurricane was coming and the hotel told us there would be no cancellation fee for the night we had to cancel

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itsmeboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

This was our first stay here, but we may explore elsewhere next time. Reception was a bit rushed, our room (simple King) was lovely & mostly clean, nice linens, pillows, towels & robes, lovely toiletries. No breakfast included (apparently they used to offer this all the time). Our bathroom was not equipped with a rain shower head. Avoid the rooms situated on the floors above the Resto 701. Unless of course you like to be lulled to sleep by the incessant bass rhythm of club music until very late. Our room had 2 big lovely windows, but strangely they were solely covered in wooden blinds. Which means you have street lights shining through the slats of the blinds all night into your room. We did not sleep well. I wore an eye mask & ear plugs. I expected more from what seemed a prestigious hotel. Plus on our final morning, as we were still catching up on our sleep around 9 a.m., the chambermaid lightly knocks (we thought we heard knocking on the door of the room next to us), then proceeds to unlock the door. I leaped out of bed to tell her we were still sleeping, and she never apologized, just went to the next room. Upon check-out, I told the girl at the desk about the inadequate window treatments & poor sleep. She just gave me a lukewarm apology & handed me my bill. I will try other hotels in Old Montreal now that I have looked around.

Room Tip: Les chambres situées au-dessus du resto-club sont à évitées!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MathieuLarochelle, General Manager at Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Lise L,

Thank you for providing us with feedback regarding your stay. Guest Satisfaction is our main priority and we apologize that your stay was not up to the hotel’s standards. The quality of sleep of our guests is important to us and we have taken your comments seriously and the issues will be addressed. We would be delighted if ever you stay in Montreal again that you give us another opportunity. Feel free to contact me directly.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanton, Vermont
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed here during our second vist to Old Montreal and it was the best hotel we have ever stayed in. Excellent service from check-in to check-out. With the fall special we recieved the second night at half price, activities coupon book and two drink tickets for the bar. That was a very nice touch. We will be staying here during our next stay in Old Montreal.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denisbourbeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. Location was fantastic as it was a stone's throw away from the Basilique Notre Dame and the Place d'Armes Metro station.

As we were on our honeymoon, the hotel staff very kindly upgraded us to a junior suite. The suite was very spacious and the bathroom was huge with a wonderful jacuzzi tub. The lighting in the room however was a little dim but that didn't bother us much.

The only minus point was that the hotel staff did not seem to know whether the restaurant in the hotel was open or not. The bellman told us it was open on the first night we were there but the reception staff told us otherwise.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlmleong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#8 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,628 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#7 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#13 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,884 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,289 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#9 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites

Property: Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Address: 55 Saint-Jacques W, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1K9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#6 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#7 Business Hotel in Montreal
#7 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#12 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Place d'Armes features 80 rooms and 53 suites, including six studios with private terrace and five large penthouses where the decor blends contemporary design with ancient architecture. The three historic buildings housing Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites all date back to the late 19th century. These regal structures were originally home to some of the pre-eminent businesses of the time, and their architecture recalls an era devoted to unmatched craftsmanship and detail. Hotel Features: - 6 meeting rooms and a modular ballroom that can accommodate up to 350 people, with natural light, stone or brick walls and equipped with comfortable furniture - 2 restaurants and a spa - Rooftop Terrace ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TravelClick, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Place d`Armes Hotel And Suites
Le Place d`Armes Hotel Montreal
Le Place d Armes Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing