We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Ranked #6 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great weekend getaway”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

My husband and I spent the long weekend here and enjoyed the start of the Jazz Festival. The hotel is wonderfully situated in Old Montreal in a gorgeous old building. We stayed in a Jr. Suite with a balcony and I would highly recommend it. You get a great view and can sit on the balcony and watch the night. Housekeeping staff may want to sweep away some of the spiderwebs on the balcony just to make it more inviting, but it was still very nice.
The room itself was spacious and modern and the bed was extremely comfortable. We had friends staying across the hall in 3702 and their air conditioning was not quite as cool as they liked, but ours was perfect. The terrace bar on top of the hotel is a real hotspot. If you don't want the crowds and music, go in the afternoon for a glass of sangria. Service was very nice, friendly and the staff all switched easily between French and English so language was not a barrier. Nice romantic weekend.

Room Tip: Do not stay in building 1 on the 8th floor as you will be inundated with terrace bar traffic. Get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jacknmacksmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear JacknMacksmom,

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your getaway with us! The jazz Festival is always a crowd pleaser and we are glad you enjoyed that as well. We will look into the issue of room 3702, thank you for advising us.

We wish you a wonderful Summer!

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,642
    468
    111
    41
    18
See reviews for
324
1,122
88
370
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (488)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We were staying here because my husband was attending a conference being held at the hotel. It is in a very good location near to old Montreal with it's many restaurants and it was not too far to walk to the Jazz Festival. There is a really good roof terrace.
The first room we were given in building one was not very big, which is not always a problem, but it didn't have a comfortable feel about it, it looked directly into the opposite offices and it was at the end of a very narrow depressing corridor. The floor had obviously not been cleaned and was very dirty and dusty and remained so, the bathroom was also not the cleanest. We couldn't move for a couple of days because the hotel was full but for our remaining 3 nights we were upgraded to an executive suite in building three....What a contrast....Ok so were were paying more but not a lot. The staff were very friendly albeit a little forgetful. Breakfast was a little disappointing, it usually arrived lukewarm whether we were in our room or in the restaurant and again the staff kept forgetting bits of it or brought the wrong thing! Overall though I enjoyed my stay and would go back again if I were ever to go back to Montreal.

Room Tip: If I stayed again I would avoid building one and pay more and stay in building three with an open vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank JoSaint51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your review. I appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback about your recent stay with us and rest assure wherever we had a lack in our service that it will be corrected with our team. As for the room type, the first building do host the classic rooms and they are a little more conservative in terms of design than the superior ones in the second and third building but really charming. Despite the fact that they are located in a different building, cleanliness should not be different and we will address it with our team.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly upon your next visit.

Regards,

Mathieu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

I stayed here on business as part of a meeting that was being held on site. The hotel is conveniently located in Old Montreal and close to downtown, and is walking distance to the convention centre (Palais de Congrè) and the metro (subway). Out of the front door you step out to the square infront of the Notre Damme cathedral. It really is a great location if you want to experience Old Montreal. I stayed in a king suite, which was decorated like a modern loft complete with an exposed brick wall. The bathroom was probably the most enjoyable part. The whirlpool bathtub was wonderful and the rain showerhead was also very relaxing. The room had a seating area, with the television, a sound system, a bar and a wardrobe. It was very well decorated, but the furniture was a bit stiff and wasn't really condusive to relaxing infront of the tv after a long day in meetings.

The hotel itself is beautiful, and is made up of three historic buildings that are linked together. The decor is lovely, and it is easy to get around.

The hotel is a bit pricey, and would have been a bit over my budget if I was not there for a work function, but if you are looking for a unique boutique hotel, it is a very nice place.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Purplegrapefruit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear that you have enjoyed the decor of your room as well as the charm of the Old Town.

Do not hesitate to contact us if you ever visit Montreal again.

Regards,

Mathieu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

This hotel is very attractive and in a great location for old Montreal and the port. We upgraded to a Jr. Suite, but felt that everything in the room was place there to make the hotel money and not to please the guests (i.e booze, wine and water). Cloths from another guest where left in the dresser. Maids did not hang up new towels and where just ok. The front desk staff was very good. This could be a great hotel with some help!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Budsreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

My husband and I stayed in a king suite - which we found nicely decorated, and very comfortable. The hotel itself is within three old buildings, so it has great charm and character, while having a modern feel. We found all the staff very helpful and friendly - from the front desk to the cleaning staff. We especially enjoyed having water bottles and chocolates put in our room every night. The location itself can't be beat - close to the Metro and righ in Old Montreal. We walked everywhere and loved coming back to the hotel to clean up and get ready for another fabulous diner in the city.

Our only negative was the Aix turns more into a night club in the evenings, but honestly Montreal is different place and so lively how can you not expect that. My husband and I just are not into that (we would rather enjoy a meal and wine at a restaurant into the evening).

We would recommend Le Place d'Armes to anyone travelling to Montreal.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Robyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We booked this hotel and have been incredibly disappointed. We specifically requested a room on a low floor. When we checked in, they said they only had the 5th floor. They were able to move us, but 4 people needed to stay in a room for 2. The air conditioner didn't work and the maintenance worker said there was nothing he could do about it. Hot water -- forget about it -- it was on again and off again. And, to top it all off, the hotel's food was horrible (and very expensive) - my children's "Kobe beef burgers" made McDonalds look like gourmet food, the tuna was chewy, and there wasn't a drop of moisture in the steak. All and all -- very disappointing.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review.

I would like to apologize for a less than stellar experience you have had with us. It makes me sad to see that even with the compensations offered we could not change your impression of our property. Please rest assure that all your feedback was shared with our team members and proper actions are being taken.

Please do not hesitate to contact us directly if you ever would like to give us another chance.

Best regards,

Mathieu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 164 in Montreal
1,931 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#9 of 164 in Montreal
2,093 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#2 of 164 in Montreal
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#8 of 164 in Montreal
1,665 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 164 in Montreal
1,319 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#7 of 164 in Montreal
1,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites

Property: Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Address: 55 Saint-Jacques W, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1K9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#5 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#7 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#7 Business Hotel in Montreal
#12 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Place d'Armes features 80 rooms and 53 suites, including six studios with private terrace and five large penthouses where the decor blends contemporary design with ancient architecture. The three historic buildings housing Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites all date back to the late 19th century. These regal structures were originally home to some of the pre-eminent businesses of the time, and their architecture recalls an era devoted to unmatched craftsmanship and detail. Hotel Features: - 6 meeting rooms and a modular ballroom that can accommodate up to 350 people, with natural light, stone or brick walls and equipped with comfortable furniture - 2 restaurants and a spa - Rooftop Terrace ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, TravelClick, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Place d`Armes Hotel And Suites
Le Place d`Armes Hotel Montreal
Le Place d Armes Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing