We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Event at Opera room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Place d'Armes
Ranked #7 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 26, 2011

With my student association, we organized a professional cocktail for 90 attendees. It's the second year that we choose this hotel for this event. Two times at Opera AB room. We also had conferences, so one side of the room was with chairs (Theatre configuration) and the rest for the cocktail. It's really great to work with the staff. They are present during all the evening to help us.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jprlauzier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,478)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,771 - 1,777 of 2,478 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2011

I have stayed three times now. Twice for business and once for leisure. In all instances this hotel has exceeded expectations. It has a rambling lobby layout with separate rooms including a billiard table and lots of cozy nooks to relax or meet informally. The real win is the rooms. I had the pleasure of an executive suite this past time complete with self cleaning jetted tub. Two flat panel tvs, stereo, rain shower, and bug comfy bed. Easily my favorite hotel out there and I stay 40+ nights a year in hotels. The service is great as well. When I left my passport behind they called me!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank steakum1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2011

I stayed here for several days on business and the location is very good as the hotel straddles downtown and Old Montreal perfectly and I could walk to both without a problem. The suites are large and quite comfortable but the rooms have this very 1990's aesthetic that I can't really explain. Nonetheless, the poor aesthetic is quickly replaced by beautiful bathrooms and decent service. Next time, I would likely stay at the St. Paul as it seems to be a more interesting option in the heart of Old Montreal but this hotel works just as well. Also, the breakfast is terribly dissapointing and the service in the morning is bad. Opt out of a breakfast package and get something in the area.

Room Tip: Opt for a suite if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CocoFranco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MathieuLarochelle, General Manager at Hotel Place d'Armes, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2011

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback about your recent stay. I apologize for the bad breakfast experience you had and will not hesitate to share your comments with our team so we can improve. I am also very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the room décor. The inspiration was drawn from the Old Montreal look and feel with a twist of modernity and came to life in 2005. I do respect your opinion and if I may suggest, next time you come to Montreal do not hesitate to contact me and we can look at other products in our portfolio (Le Petit Hotel) that would perhaps match your taste more than the Place D’Armes.

Best regards,

Mathieu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2011

I was in Montreal for a few nights on business and checked in to the Place d'Armes. Fabulous! The bathroom is enourmous with a huge white tub and separate shower (also huge).
The king bed was extremely comfortable, the temperature in the room was perfect. The television was also very large and clear. Wi-fi internet was free and the connection was excellent. The work chair at the desk was uncomfortable, but I was only sitting there working for a few hours befre heading to meetings.
The location in Old Montreal is equally fabulous! On Place d'Armes Square, facing the Notre-Dame Basilica, it is steps away from a metro station.
Highly recommend this property - would like to have stayed longer and have included my boyfriend!

Room Tip: Ask for Building three on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FTopGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Before visiting this hotel, I was a little worried that the reviews might be overrated. This was absolutely not the case. My husband and I thought the hotel was wonderful and would definitely stay at Place D'Armes again. We visit Montreal fairly often and this was our favorite stay. The staff at the hotel were very friendly, the room was large/welcoming and the location was great. We've stayed at more expensive hotels in Montreal that weren't nearly as classy or as welcoming as this hotel. While the rooms were very charming, the hotel's biggest asset is definitely the staff. The few times we approached the concierge/staff with requests, they responded to them quickly and pleasantly. This hotel deserves all the great reviews it is receiving. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We were in room 3504 and it had a nice view facing downtown Montreal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LazySundayz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

My husband, another couple and I just returned home from a weekend in Old Montreal, staying at Le Place d'Armes and we couldn't have been happier with our choice of hotel. We were looking for a mature, classy hotel that was surrounded by a good selection of restaurants. This was the perfect spot to satisfy all of these... and one of the nicest hotels my husband and I have ever stayed at. The service was excellent, the rooms were very clean, spacious and stunning, the location was perfect for our demographic. We all agreed to come back another time during the summer.
Special thanks to the concierge for their restaurant recommendations and help with directions.
We will definitely be back to stay here!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ColadaRC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Close to Old Montreal, a great hotel plenty of character, excellent staff, just a delight to visit.
stay here about 2 to 3 times per year when in Montreal would stronglynreccomd it.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pdorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MathieuLarochelle, General Manager at Hotel Place d'Armes, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2011

Dear guest,

Thank so much for such a great review. I hope we will have the chance to serve again.

Do not hesitate to contact us directly upon your return.

Regards,

Mathieu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#3 of 165 in Montreal
1,108 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#6 of 165 in Montreal
2,244 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#9 of 165 in Montreal
1,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 165 in Montreal
2,064 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#2 of 165 in Montreal
1,391 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#8 of 165 in Montreal
1,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Place d'Armes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Place d'Armes

Address: 55 Saint-Jacques W, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1K9, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#6 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#7 Business Hotel in Montreal
#7 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: $146 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Place d'Armes 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Place d'Armes features 80 rooms and 53 suites, including six studios with private terrace and five large penthouses where the decor blends contemporary design with ancient architecture. The three historic buildings housing Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites all date back to the late 19th century. These regal structures were originally home to some of the pre-eminent businesses of the time, and their architecture recalls an era devoted to unmatched craftsmanship and detail. Hotel Features: - 6 meeting rooms and a modular ballroom that can accommodate up to 350 people, with natural light, stone or brick walls and equipped with comfortable furniture - 2 restaurants and a spa - Rooftop Terrace ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Place d'Armes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Place d`Armes Hotel And Suites
Le Place d`Armes Hotel Montreal
Le Place d Armes Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing