We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
Ranked #17 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2005

What an excellent hotel! Great location on Sherbrooke - close to the Musuem of Fine Arts and shopping attractions. I got a room on the 19th floor and had a great view of the neighboring grand mansions (the Ritz-Carlton looked so old and sad from my room). And the bed is one of the best I've slept in (in my opinion, second only to the Peninsula Bangkok... way better than the Westin Heavenly Beds). Staff is professional and exceptionally friendly. The bellman is amazing, who helped me carry my shopping bags up to my room without that "tips please" look/attitude from New York. Room service is delicious and not overly expensive. The complimentary "fruit shots" at breakfast were inspiring.

Will return without hesitation!

Stayed July 2005
Helpful?
6 Thank JPang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,207
    532
    133
    34
    26
See reviews for
342
740
132
474
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2005

I would definitely stay there again!!!! The service was fabulous!!! Anything you needed they would accommodate you as best they could; and majority of the time they accommodated you. The hotel is in a great location, within walking distance to a majority of amenities (ie. St.Catherine street, where all the shopping is; Cresent street, where all the restaurants and some bars) HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT!

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TOtraveller9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2005

I stayed here in May. I thought the location was excellent. My room was extremely clean and tidy each day i returned. The staff were very helpful and pleasant to deal with although the concierge was not always there when required or there was a bit of a wait. The free internet access was very handy. I have stayed in other Sofitel hotels and would definitely recommend this one.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Glasgowtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2005

What a wonderful hotel!
Very European feel. From the moment I entered the lobby I was treated as the most welcomed guest.

I checked in and went to my room where I found myself surrounded in comfort and clean efficiency. The concierge didn't even raise an eyebrow when my empty tummy insisted I find a McDonald's or something and asked for directions. They have apples at the desk for guests to enjoy and the lobby is spacious and well decorated.

The location is ideal for those with business to accomplish, and not too far from the scenic Port Area.

I stayed for three days and enjoyed every moment.

The meeting rooms were well equipped and the food was amazing.

The beds are heaven. The lack of a coffee maker in each room was the only thing I would wish for.

They even have internet access free to guests in a room off the lobby.

Wonderful Place.

  • Stayed January 2005, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Scuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nowhere
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2005

I've stayed at the Sofitel several times over the past few years. The one problem that I've always had is service. I go to Montreal on business and stay anywhere from 3 to 10 nights at a time. Everyone from the front desk to houskeeping have an indifferent attitude toward the guests 7 out of 10 times. I've stood at the desk waiting to ask a question and waited while the doorman, desk staff and bell staff had a long personal conversation before someone finally, rather grudgingly, helped me. On the good side, the hotel is fairly new and decorated in deco style. Beds are very comfortalbe and baths are marble with separate shower and large,deep tub. (deluxe room) Large closets and the usual chair/ottoman finish the simple and clean decor. Houskeeping is spotty and all the little things that make a 4 star hotel a 5 star hotel slip away. Hard to get service in the resturant, that serves average food. Montreal is a real food town and you do much better walking to any of the many excellent local places. The staff is almost universally young and badly trained. I stay or the Omni and the FourSeasons trained staff there could run rings around these people. The locals all share the same low opinion of the staff and the hotel in general. You can do much better

  • Stayed June 2004, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank earlybrass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2005

Use to be a regular guest somewhere else(the vogue), but I had to try the sofitel and I was just amazed by the entire hotel. I had a nice junior suite on the 17th floor with a great view of the mont-royal and olympic stadium tower. The bathroom was so large :2 sinks, large oval/roman bath, large rain shower (we could fit almost 5 persons the shower!) and separate toilet. The sofitel bed is really like sleeping on a cloud, didn't want to get up in the morning!! My only complaint for the suite will be the sofa, very small, low and not too confortable, but the suite itself was large and clean. The regular rooms must be smaller but nice too. If you order room service try the lobster spring rolls, so good! I had to order a second portion !!(as an appetizer).
The entire staff is really friendly from doorman to barmaid. At check in, when I turn to go take the elavators, a manager welcomed me with my name and holded an elevator for me, I was chocked in a good way of the quality of service and how did he knew my name, he was not even at the front desk!! Location is really good, in a nice "chic" part of downtown. Will certainelly return!

  • Stayed March 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2005

I took my Aunt and daughter out for lunch at the "Renoir" in the Sofitel hotel. The service in the restaurant was excellent. The food is quite pricey but tasty for the most part. Lunch cost just over $150 plus tip. No children's menu. Valet parking for lunch was $8 plus tip.
Several days later my daughter and I stayed at the Sofitel Hotel while she had time off from school. There is a very large and beautiful stained glass in the lobby. The Hotel has paid alot of attention to the bedrooms and beds. Makes for a great night sleep. The room we stayed in was small but comfortable. The shower with a large glass door was spacious with an oversized shower head in the ceiling for rain effect. The RogerGallet soap supplied, was a wonderful treat. This is a nice place to stay for a business trip to Montreal. Nearly all of the hotel staff were very professional and helpful. There are no special welcome considerations or treats for children as my kids have become accustomed to in the Loews "Vogue Hotel on Mountain Steet.

Helpful?
Thank MyHumbleOpinion23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#5 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
#1 of 163 in Montreal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#21 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Crystal
Hotel Le Crystal
#14 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile

Property: Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
Address: 1155 Sherbrooke West, Montreal, Quebec H3A 2N3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Montreal
#8 Business Hotel in Montreal
#10 Family Hotel in Montreal
#13 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#22 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile 5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile is conveniently located in the heart of the city ideal for business travelers and art lovers - at the foot of lush Mount Royal Park, next to the renowned McGill University and Montreal Museum of Fine Arts. Enjoy the masterful blend of minimalist design and warm sophistication at our luxury hotel embellished with Victorian accents from the estate of North American railroad pioneer William Cornelius Van Horne. Choose one of 241 elegant and stylish hotel rooms or 17 suites all featuring Sofitel's luxurious feathertop and duvet sleep system - SoBed. 258 rooms including 17 suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, ACCOR, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Montreal Hotel Montreal
Montreal Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing