We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
Ranked #16 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great hotel and location”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We loved our 2 night stay at the Montreal Sofitel. The service was excellent, the staff polite, knowledgable, and efficient. The location can't be beat, walking distance to anything downtown. The only reason I'm giving it a 4 star instead of a 5 star is because I feel a hotel of this calibre should have a better gym (it's very small), and have a pool (it has no pool). Otherwise highly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OttawaTraveller014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMontreal, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear OttawaTraveller014,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; your feedback is very important to us. We have taken note of your comments.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Stephanie SEGOURA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,953 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,222
    537
    133
    35
    26
See reviews for
345
745
134
483
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

We chose this hotel based on location and the overwhelmingly positive reviews. We stayed here 4 nights. The first two were met by extremely helpful and courteous staff. The following two nights were met with loud and obnoxious guests. Hours of shouting (what I assumed to be a lover's spat) and the next night it continued from 9 p.m until 4 a.m. We called the hotel staff to express our concern, but that only inflamed the situation. They progressed from shouting to slamming doors to pounding on our door. We were delighted to leave as they were not able to control the situation.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Lori A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMontreal, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Lori A,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; your feedback is very important to us. We have taken note of your comments.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Stephanie SEGOURA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Stayed at this hotel when on a business trip to Montreal. Perfectly located in the heart of Montreal Downtown, this hotel was a great luxury experience. The parking was valet parking for which I was charged. Nothing was complementary for my booking. Had to pay for Wi-Fi and breakfast as well but I guess this is something one must expect from a high end hotel in the downtown area of a big city.

The hotel decor was modern and elegant. The reception area and all common areas were all clean and really well maintained. My room was spacious and awesome. Had an LCD/LED TV (do not remember the size) with standard channels and premium channels such as HBO. All other amenities in the room were pretty much the same as one would find in most of the hotel rooms (alarm clock with radio and iPod hook-up, coffee maker, iron and ironing board etc.). The bathroom was also great. As mentioned earlier, the design was all modern. Sliding doors, beautiful spacious glass shower with a rain-shower head etc.

I had breakfast in the hotel restaurant. The staff was professional and friendly. I can’t say the food was great but it was good. It was definitely expensive but in sync with the price of everything else in the hotel. The best part about the hotel was its location. One could walk almost everywhere in the downtown area. One side of the hotel building is Mont-Royal and the city on the other three sides. McGill university is located just a few blocks away.

Overall, I would recommend Sofitel to someone who doesn’t mind spending some money for luxury and convenience of walking to different places rather than driving.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bhaskar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Kristof D, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Bonjour Bhaskar A,

We thank you for taking the time to write your review on our property. We sincerely appreciate reading that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our hotel met your criteria for a great hotel stay.

We greatly appreciate your comments and hope to welcome you back to Montreal and Sofitel Golden Mile soon.

Best regards,
Stephanie SEGOURA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ugar
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2014

I spent 5 nights in the Sofitel. it is my favorit hotel in Montreal.

Large rooms, great hospitality, service is indeed very friendly, great breakfast, and very kind people serving in all areas.

it is just behind Mont-Royal so you can walk/run outside in the summer. nearby all restuarants, museums and other places.

my first choice in Montreal.

Room Tip: Ask for City View
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joe2469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Kristof D, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Bonjour Joe2469,

We thank you for taking the time to write your review on our property. We sincerely appreciate reading that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our hotel met your criteria for a great hotel stay.

We greatly appreciate your comments and hope to welcome you back to Montreal and Sofitel Golden Mile soon.

Best regards,
Stephanie SEGOURA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loudon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

My husband and brother-in-law and I come to Montreal often and this was our first experience at the Sofitel. The hotel was highly rated and received great reviews but we were very disappointed. The hotel lobby was to flashy and the lobby restroom was not as clean as it should be. We were on the 17th floor and both of our rooms had problems with the air conditioning not working properly. We called the front desk on numerous occasions and technicians would come but the problem was not resolved. The temp was 80 degrees and I asked to speak to the hotel manager on three occasions and the operator kept sending me to the front desk or reception. The rooms were so warm we had a hard time sleeping. We have three children under 4 and really look forward to these getaways. This one was disappointing as far as the hotel goes. We love Montreal but will not be staying at the Sofitel. The front desk supervisor listened to my complaints and offered free parking and a drink in the restaurant but seemed a bit patronizing. I know this hotel has great reviews but take it from frequent travelers this is a 3 star at best!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Kelyandcraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Kristof D, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Bonjour Kelyandcraig,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; your feedback is very important to us. Rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns and are looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Stephanie SEGOURA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

very much fulfilling expectations set by chic Sofitel properties in the USA and France, the Montreal Sofitel conveys additional warmth by its welcoming staff who are clearly proud of their well-run downtown destination. Attention to detail makes this impeccable hotel stand out and leave you planning your return.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aquatik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMontreal, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Bonjour Aquatik,

We thank you for taking the time to write your review on our property. We sincerely appreciate reading that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our hotel met your criteria for a great hotel stay.

We greatly appreciate your comments and hope to welcome you back to Montreal and Sofitel Golden Mile soon.

Best regards,
Stephanie SEGOURA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#6 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
#1 of 163 in Montreal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#22 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Crystal
Hotel Le Crystal
#13 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile

Property: Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
Address: 1155 Sherbrooke West, Montreal, Quebec H3A 2N3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Montreal
#8 Business Hotel in Montreal
#10 Family Hotel in Montreal
#12 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#22 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile 5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile is conveniently located in the heart of the city ideal for business travelers and art lovers - at the foot of lush Mount Royal Park, next to the renowned McGill University and Montreal Museum of Fine Arts. Enjoy the masterful blend of minimalist design and warm sophistication at our luxury hotel embellished with Victorian accents from the estate of North American railroad pioneer William Cornelius Van Horne. Choose one of 241 elegant and stylish hotel rooms or 17 suites all featuring Sofitel's luxurious feathertop and duvet sleep system - SoBed. 258 rooms including 17 suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Montreal Hotel Montreal
Montreal Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing