We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sofitel Hotel Montreal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
Ranked #16 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Sofitel Hotel Montreal”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

To Whom It May Concern:

My husband I and visit Montreal quite frequently. This time, we came down during the weekend of Friday, August 2nd and stayed until Monday, August 5th.

We normally try out different hotels in Montreal however, this time we tried Sofitel. We were very pleased with the whole experience. All the staff were extremely gracious, courteous, professional and were always very helpful. They even remembered our names every time we entered or left the Hotel, very impressive indeed.

Melissa and Marco from the Renoir also took really good care of us as well.

The whole experience was very memorable and our future visits to Montreal, we will be staying at the Sofitel. Thank you for a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TobyandCoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMontreal, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Bonjour TobyandCoco,

Love to hear that we have a new Sofitel fan - so glad that you enjoyed your experiences in Montréal. We hope to have the chance to welcome you again on your next visit to the area.

Sincerely,

Stephanie Segoura
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,999 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,251
    550
    136
    36
    26
See reviews for
350
763
137
501
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite and OMG it was fantastic. There were 3 rooms, living room, bedroom and bathroom and all 3 were about the same in size. They were huge. The bathroom not only had a rain shower, but also a huge bath. Everything was very clean and fresh.

The staff were all very friendly and extremely helpful. The location, although not near the Old Port (although you can walk there) it is very close to lots of restaurants and shops and Mt Royal is a stones throw away - up a very steep hill i may add.

The only disappointment was breakfast. It was very costly (what one would expect when eating in a hotel) and the quality and quantity was very poor. However the restaurant itself was very nice.

We were in Montreal for 6 nights and only booked in to stay here for 3, because we moved to a hotel nearer the wedding reception. Once we realized the reception was closer than we thought, we really wanted to stay but unfortunately. It was fully booked.

We have stayed in a number of Sofitel hotels around the world and this one is close, if not on the top of, the list.

Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Try and face Mt Royal. Splurge and get a 1 bedroom suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMontreal, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Bonjour Penny B,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, we really appreciate all feedback. We are very sorry that the food at the restaurant did not meet your expectations on this occasion, and are looking into the issues you raised. We do hope to welcome you back in the near future so that we may have the opportunity to provide you with the Magnifique experience enjoyed by the majority of our customers.

Sincerely,

Stephanie Segoura
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Very nice rooms with big windows. Lobby welcoming and nice to spend time. The restaurant is excellent, also in terms of service and atmosphere. The location is not so perfect if you want to visit the historical old town. You can walk there through comparatively nice and interesting shopping streets - but it will take you at least half an hour. On the other hand, the hotel is very close to the beautiful Mount Royal park. So you can have the best walks or jogging one can imagine.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMontreal, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Bonjour Jeh W,

Thank you for reviewing your experience at the Sofitel Montreal. We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us and hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,

Stephanie Segoura
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 30, 2013

This hotel is very central for the universities. The room was comfortable and quiet and the staff accommodating. The restaurant food was artistically prepared, but a bit on the expensive side. I really enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank 365konasmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMontreal, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Bonjour 365konasmom,

Thank you for reviewing your experience. Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We will look forward to welcoming you again to Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile.

Sincerely,

Stephanie Segoura
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This is just what I expect from a 5 star hotel. Staff were very polite and hotel and rooms were very clean. I would stay again when in Montreal. Only downside was no pool or rooftop seating. A bit expensive in bar , but you could alway have a few drinks out and about.

Room Tip: A pity they have no pool or rooftop seating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edd1462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMontreal, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Bonjour Edd1462,

Thank you for reviewing your experience at the Sofitel Montreal. We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us and hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Stephanie Segoura
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#23 of 164 in Montreal
2,500 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#7 of 164 in Montreal
1,358 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
#1 of 164 in Montreal
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile

Property: Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
Address: 1155 Sherbrooke West, Montreal, Quebec H3A 2N3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Montreal
#8 Business Hotel in Montreal
#10 Family Hotel in Montreal
#12 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#22 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile 5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile is conveniently located in the heart of the city ideal for business travelers and art lovers - at the foot of lush Mount Royal Park, next to the renowned McGill University and Montreal Museum of Fine Arts. Enjoy the masterful blend of minimalist design and warm sophistication at our luxury hotel embellished with Victorian accents from the estate of North American railroad pioneer William Cornelius Van Horne. Choose one of 241 elegant and stylish hotel rooms or 17 suites all featuring Sofitel's luxurious feathertop and duvet sleep system - SoBed. 258 rooms including 17 suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Montreal Hotel Montreal
Montreal Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing