We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Light and modern” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
Ranked #18 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Light and modern”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Very nice rooms with big windows. Lobby welcoming and nice to spend time. The restaurant is excellent, also in terms of service and atmosphere. The location is not so perfect if you want to visit the historical old town. You can walk there through comparatively nice and interesting shopping streets - but it will take you at least half an hour. On the other hand, the hotel is very close to the beautiful Mount Royal park. So you can have the best walks or jogging one can imagine.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMontreal, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Bonjour Jeh W,

Thank you for reviewing your experience at the Sofitel Montreal. We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us and hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,

Stephanie Segoura
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,032
    466
    116
    33
    25
See reviews for
288
639
118
401
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

This hotel is very central for the universities. The room was comfortable and quiet and the staff accommodating. The restaurant food was artistically prepared, but a bit on the expensive side. I really enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank 365konasmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMontreal, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Bonjour 365konasmom,

Thank you for reviewing your experience. Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We will look forward to welcoming you again to Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile.

Sincerely,

Stephanie Segoura
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This is just what I expect from a 5 star hotel. Staff were very polite and hotel and rooms were very clean. I would stay again when in Montreal. Only downside was no pool or rooftop seating. A bit expensive in bar , but you could alway have a few drinks out and about.

Room Tip: A pity they have no pool or rooftop seating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edd1462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMontreal, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Bonjour Edd1462,

Thank you for reviewing your experience at the Sofitel Montreal. We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us and hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Stephanie Segoura
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This is a stylish and chic hotel, very close to great restaurants on Stanley, Drummond, and Peel streets, and to McGill University for parents getting their offspring settled into residence and university life. Rooms are tastefully furnished in a modern, minimalist style with pod-style coffee maker and Bose Wave Radio; the king size bed in our room was very comfortable and restful; the bathroom has European fittings and Lanvin cosmetic necessities, and also a candle with wooden matches. We couldn't figure out if this was to lend a romantic setting to the bath (with hand-held shower nozzle) and separate glass-walled shower stall, or for more practical purposes! Staff could not have been more helpful and friendly: reception, bellhops (doubling as garage valets), concierge, and servers in the in-house restaurant, Renoir. The only drawback was our room's Bose Radio was on the same switch as the lamps on either side of the bed with no obvious alternative for the plug. This meant that once the lamps were switched off, so was the Bose (and any wake-up alarm). Nonetheless, a very pleasant stay in luxurious surroundings.

Room Tip: Rooms on west side have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZedZed2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMontreal, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Bonjour ZedZed2013,

We appreciate the time you took to post your recent comments from your stay at our hotel.
Thank you for the kind words and compliments of our staff. We hope to see you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Stephanie Segoura
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Sofitel for a long weekend in August. The hotel staff were incredibly helpful from checking in at arrival to holding our bags all day after check-out due to an evening flight. Our standard King bedroom was incredibly large with ample closet space, a safe, and all of the amenities you would expect from a 4-5 star hotel. The bed was one of the most comfortable that I've ever slept in. Towels could use upgrading as they were somewhat scratchy, but that hardly had any effect on my stay. Concierge gave great recommendations. Location was perfect. We took the subway all over the city and walked to old city a couple times from the hotel. Even though we ended up spending a lot of time in the old city, I'm glad that we were staying where we were. It was a great way to see more of the city and it was very quiet.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KingTraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMontreal, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Bonjour KingTraveler1,

We love to hear that you enjoyed the property and were well taken care of by our staff. On behalf of all of our Ambassadors, thank you for taking the time to review your experience and we will all look forward to having you back again soon.

Best regards,

Stephanie Segoura
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I stayed, with my girlfriend, twice in mid-August, the first two nights in a Superior room, the second two nights in a DeLuxe room. The Superior room was tiny. The closet was tinier. The bed was comfortable. There was nowhere to store a suitcase. I would only recommend this room to a single traveler for no more than one night. It was simply too small for more than one person.

My second stay was completely different. The room was spacious with adequate storage in the closet and desk/chest. There was room for an easy chair. An altogether pleasant stay.

On both stays, the staff was terrific. The door person was helpful as were the bellmen. The concierges went out of their ways to assist. The general manager, Stephanie, was a delight to talk with and made my group of four feel like regulars. The price, compared to the NY Sofitel, was a bargain. I'll be back.

Room Tip: Unless you're by yourself, do not take room 601.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jagman8f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMontreal, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Bonjour jagman8f,

It is great to hear that you enjoyed such a special time with us. Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay, we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Stephanie Segoura
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#6 of 165 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,058 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
#1 of 165 in Montreal
5.0 of 5 stars 683 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#2 of 165 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#24 of 165 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 2,110 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Crystal
Hotel Le Crystal
#12 of 165 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,036 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile

Property: Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
Address: 1155 Sherbrooke West, Montreal, Quebec H3A 2N3, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Montreal
#8 Business Hotel in Montreal
#10 Family Hotel in Montreal
#13 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#22 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile 5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile is conveniently located in the heart of the city ideal for business travelers and art lovers - at the foot of lush Mount Royal Park, next to the renowned McGill University and Montreal Museum of Fine Arts. Enjoy the masterful blend of minimalist design and warm sophistication at our luxury hotel embellished with Victorian accents from the estate of North American railroad pioneer William Cornelius Van Horne. Choose one of 241 elegant and stylish hotel rooms or 17 suites all featuring Sofitel's luxurious feathertop and duvet sleep system - SoBed. 258 rooms including 17 suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Montreal Hotel Montreal
Montreal Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing