We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Class Hotel, Great All-Around”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
Ranked #15 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Staff was extremely helpful and appeared to have a passion for the work that they do. Checking in and out was easy. Rooms [including bathrooms] are clean and beds are comfortable. Location provides easy access to downtown and a great starting off point for travel to any part of the city.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mslade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMontreal, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Bonjour MSLADE,

Thank you very much for the recommendation. I am pleased that you had a pleasurable experience with us and that the team was able to make your stay so comfortable. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Jean-Christophe Gras
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,215)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,167 - 1,173 of 2,215 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2013

The Sofitel is well located on Montreal's Golden Mile. The hotel is modern, has fabulous beds, toiletries and service. Wd had a late departure and the front desk allowed us a delayed check out time. The Renoir Restaurant in the hotel has the best breakfast ever!
The hotel is within walking distance of the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts where I saw a spectacular Chihuly exhibit.

Room Tip: There is a workout room but I never saw a pool. We had a lovely room on the 15th floor on the corner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3Kaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMontreal, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Bonjour 3KAKI,

Thank you very much for writing a review regarding your recent stay with us. I was so glad to read how much you enjoyed the service and our Breakfast.

We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Jean-Christophe Gras
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

For a worldwide chain, the Sofitel Montreal feels far from impersonal. Spotless clean, modern and very comfortable, situated just 1 block from the Metro and along a major bus line. Close to major shopping streets in downtown Montreal and many good restaurants. Friendly and curteous staff at check in. Responsive to requests for turn-down, extra towels, etc...Excellent gym, spotless clean and all equipment looked and felt new. Spent 3 nights here for a mini vacation and loved everything about it. The room was comfortable, well decorated, quiet, and great and spacious bathrooms. I stayed at the Ritz Carlton on my last visit to Montreal and would not hesitate to pick the Sofitel over the Ritz any time.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank STYLEONTHEGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMontreal, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Bonjour STYLEONTHEGO,

We love to hear that you enjoyed the property and were well taken care of by our staff! On behalf of all of our Ambassadors, thank you for taking the time to review your experience and we will all look forward to having you back again soon!

Sincerely,

Jean-christophe Gras
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This was my first stay at Sofitel, Montreal. I booked using Hotwire and paid $260. for the night. Can't imagine that it would have been much more if I had booked directly with the hotel. It was a standard room with two double beds. The location is excellent - just a couple of blocks north of rue St. Catherine. The check-in was very smooth. Even though we arrived before the check-in time they allowed us to have a room as soon as one was available. Also, the next day they gave us until 1:00 p.m. to check out even though the check-out is at 11:00 a.m. Staff was friendly and very helpful. The room was spacious, very clean, nicely decorated and the beds were very comfortable. Overall, it felt more like a 4 star than a 5 star to me. Didn't really see any difference compared to other 4 stars I have stayed in in Montreal. If given a choice and the price was the same I would probably choose the Sheraton.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suz36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMontreal, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Bonjour Suz36,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, we really appreciate all feedback. We are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion, and are looking into the issues you raised. We do hope to welcome you back in the near future so that we may have the opportunity to provide you with the Magnifique experience enjoyed by the majority of our customers.

Sincerely,

Jean-Christophe Gras
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Coming on a regular basis to Montreal, this is one of my favorite hotels. Clean and updated rooms, spacious, modern but classy - if you are not a fan of the dark boutique hotels, you also might appreciate this one. Sure, the food is somewhat pricey to eat in, but don't forget you are located in one of Montreal's prime location. Breakfast is huge, so come hungry. Service in the bar area has been impeccable. This is a hotel for the distinguished travel, not the bargain seeker. Enjoy!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank TravelandLearn_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMontreal, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Bonjour Travelandlearn_11,

Thank you very much for your kind compliments. I am so delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your next trip.

Sincerely,

Jean-Christophe Gras
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Fabulous hotel with a GREAT Staff. Could not ask for a better location if you want to be downtown Montréal. In & out in a flash, room bill posted to my gmail before I was in the Taxi for the airport. Attentive & knowledgeable crew. Could not ask for more. Did not try the local cuisine found a great Sushi place across the street.

Room Tip: Upper floors a quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AzimDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMontreal, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Bonjour AzimDallas,

Thank you for the kind words and compliments of our staff. We hope to see you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Jean-Christophe GRAS
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Federico S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SofitelMontreal, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#20 of 165 in Montreal
2,757 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#8 of 165 in Montreal
1,526 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#3 of 165 in Montreal
1,109 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#6 of 165 in Montreal
2,479 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Crystal
Hotel Le Crystal
#12 of 165 in Montreal
1,762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile

Address: 1155 Sherbrooke West, Montreal, Quebec H3A 2N3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Montreal
#8 Family Hotel in Montreal
#8 Business Hotel in Montreal
#12 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#22 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: $157 - $383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile 5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile is conveniently located in the heart of the city ideal for business travelers and art lovers - at the foot of lush Mount Royal Park, next to the renowned McGill University and Montreal Museum of Fine Arts. Enjoy the masterful blend of minimalist design and warm sophistication at our luxury hotel embellished with Victorian accents from the estate of North American railroad pioneer William Cornelius Van Horne. Choose one of 241 elegant and stylish hotel rooms or 17 suites all featuring Sofitel's luxurious feathertop and duvet sleep system - SoBed. 258 rooms including 17 suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Montreal Hotel Montreal
Montreal Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing