We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You will NOT be disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
Ranked #15 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 30, 2013

What I appreciate about this hotel: Beautifully appointed rooms with creature comforts like turndown service, excellent sound system, and conscientious courteous staff who behave as if we are guests in their own home. Room service and dining room food and service is impeccable. Location of this hotel is walking distance to Rue St. Catherine. Anytime I am in Montreal, this is my hotel of choice

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent. If you want a beautiful view of downtown Montreal, go high
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nadine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMontreal, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Bonjour Nadine G,

Thank you very much for the recommendation. I am pleased that you had a pleasurable experience with us and that the team was able to make your stay so comfortable. We look forward to welcoming you back.. See you again soon.

Sincerely,

Jean-Christophe Gras
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,155)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,115 - 1,121 of 2,155 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2013

This was my first stay at Sofitel, Montreal. I booked using Hotwire and paid $260. for the night. Can't imagine that it would have been much more if I had booked directly with the hotel. It was a standard room with two double beds. The location is excellent - just a couple of blocks north of rue St. Catherine. The check-in was very smooth. Even though we arrived before the check-in time they allowed us to have a room as soon as one was available. Also, the next day they gave us until 1:00 p.m. to check out even though the check-out is at 11:00 a.m. Staff was friendly and very helpful. The room was spacious, very clean, nicely decorated and the beds were very comfortable. Overall, it felt more like a 4 star than a 5 star to me. Didn't really see any difference compared to other 4 stars I have stayed in in Montreal. If given a choice and the price was the same I would probably choose the Sheraton.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suz36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMontreal, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Bonjour Suz36,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, we really appreciate all feedback. We are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion, and are looking into the issues you raised. We do hope to welcome you back in the near future so that we may have the opportunity to provide you with the Magnifique experience enjoyed by the majority of our customers.

Sincerely,

Jean-Christophe Gras
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Coming on a regular basis to Montreal, this is one of my favorite hotels. Clean and updated rooms, spacious, modern but classy - if you are not a fan of the dark boutique hotels, you also might appreciate this one. Sure, the food is somewhat pricey to eat in, but don't forget you are located in one of Montreal's prime location. Breakfast is huge, so come hungry. Service in the bar area has been impeccable. This is a hotel for the distinguished travel, not the bargain seeker. Enjoy!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank TravelandLearn_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMontreal, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Bonjour Travelandlearn_11,

Thank you very much for your kind compliments. I am so delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your next trip.

Sincerely,

Jean-Christophe Gras
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Fabulous hotel with a GREAT Staff. Could not ask for a better location if you want to be downtown Montréal. In & out in a flash, room bill posted to my gmail before I was in the Taxi for the airport. Attentive & knowledgeable crew. Could not ask for more. Did not try the local cuisine found a great Sushi place across the street.

Room Tip: Upper floors a quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AzimDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMontreal, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Bonjour AzimDallas,

Thank you for the kind words and compliments of our staff. We hope to see you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Jean-Christophe GRAS
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Federico S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SofitelMontreal, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

The worst hotel in my life , the managers of the hotel don't know how to treat people. Highly recommend not to stay at Sofitel Montreal ... The rooms were to old !!!! It was the most useless hotel ever been too. The service was very bad , rooms were stinking . It was a budget hotel !!!!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Kabir007_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMontreal, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Bonjour Kabir007_13,

We are extremely disappointed to hear that your recent stay did not live up to your expectations. We can assure you that while running our business efficiently is important, it is more important for us to meet the needs our guests. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you experienced with our Hotel and the service.

Sincerely,

Jean-christophe Gras
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We recently visited Montreal and loved staying at the Sofitel. Our room was very up to date and very large we had 2 big windows. The one negative was no complimentary coffee and tea service in the room. Otherwise we loved our stay. The concierge desk was very helpful. Also my husband loved the men's store in the lobby. Roger Chiha, the owner had a nice offering of beautiful clothes. He is extremely knowledgable of men's clothing.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dora F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMontreal, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Bonjour Dora F,

Thank you for reviewing your experience at the Sofitel Montreal. Your feedback is extremely important as it helps us to improve upon our service and provides a memorable experience to our valued guests.

We really feel like there is no true quality in-room coffee maker available on the market, and while we do not offer coffeemakers in our guest rooms, we do offer complimentary freshly brewed coffee in our Lobby.

We hope to welcome you back again soon at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile.

Sincerely,

Jean-Christophe Gras
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#23 of 165 in Montreal
2,679 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#7 of 165 in Montreal
1,469 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#8 of 165 in Montreal
2,414 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Crystal
Hotel Le Crystal
#13 of 165 in Montreal
1,676 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile

Address: 1155 Sherbrooke West, Montreal, Quebec H3A 2N3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Montreal
#8 Business Hotel in Montreal
#10 Family Hotel in Montreal
#12 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#22 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: $150 - $542 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile 5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile is conveniently located in the heart of the city ideal for business travelers and art lovers - at the foot of lush Mount Royal Park, next to the renowned McGill University and Montreal Museum of Fine Arts. Enjoy the masterful blend of minimalist design and warm sophistication at our luxury hotel embellished with Victorian accents from the estate of North American railroad pioneer William Cornelius Van Horne. Choose one of 241 elegant and stylish hotel rooms or 17 suites all featuring Sofitel's luxurious feathertop and duvet sleep system - SoBed. 258 rooms including 17 suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Montreal Hotel Montreal
Montreal Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing