We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
Ranked #16 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Washington DC, District of Columbia, USA
1 review
“Excellent location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

This hotel has a wonderful, helpful, and attentive staff with an excellent location I did not try the restaurant or any of the other hotel services as I only slept here, but would definitely recommend to anyone coming to Montreal.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank giggity_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMontreal, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Bonjour giggity_13,

We love to hear that you enjoyed the property and were well taken care of by our staff! On behalf of all of our Ambassadors, thank you for taking the time to review your experience and we will all look forward to having you back again soon!

Sincerely,

Jean-Christophe Gras
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,145
    506
    130
    34
    25
See reviews for
325
714
125
438
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in June and while we had no major issues with it we were glad that we had managed to get the room at a reduced corporate rate as we wouldn't have wanted to pay more than we did.

Main issue was that we were on 12th floor but the noise from the main road is very loud given you are that high up. Perhaps. Room on the side or back would be better as on the front there is no real view anyway.

The room was fine but bathroom a little small.
Like most sofitels there was no tea or coffee making facilities

If I stay in Montreal again I would choose a more boutique hotel as this was fine but just a big chain hotel with no real character

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fooster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMontreal, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Bonjour fooster1,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile.  I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations.
 
At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; your feedback is very important to us. We have taken note of your comments in regards of the noise from the street side.
 
We sincerely hope that you give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations on the next visit to Montreal. We value your business and appreciate your comments as it is the best way for us to address any issues, and continue to provide impeccable service.
 
We appreciate your sharing your concerns and are looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
 
Sincerely,
 
Jean-Christophe Gras
General Manager
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwest Territories, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We were in Montreal to celebrate an occasion and brought family to stay from all across the country. My daughter's dream was to stay at the Sofitel (having been a poor student living in Montreal for 4 years and walking by) so we treated and booked.

The service, the rooms the little extras. Everything added up to make the most wonderful vacation for all of us. Each night we'd congregate in the outdoor lounge which has been strategically placed to funnel breezes through a shady spot that could be tropical. Service by each and every employee from housekeepers to waitstaff was impeccable.

Even without these wonderful extras that were clear in everything - nothing could top the extreme comfort of the beds. Actually looked forward to going to bed at night which I can tell you NEVER happens when staying in a hotel.

If you want everything within walking or metro distrance, fine service, excellent food and the ultimate bed to come back to each evening, do not hesitate for one moment to choose the Sofitel.

The only thing that would have been the ultimate perfection would to have been able to have a coffee in my room in the morning without calling for room service. Perhaps time to bite the bullet management - I know it will never be the quality of the french press you get in the restaurent, but hey - consider putting a brewer in the rooms.

Room Tip: For us, it's a necessity to have a bathtub (wouldn't be a luxery without it) but you have to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glowach_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMontreal, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Bonjour Glowach_Family,

We thank you for taking the time to write your review on our property. We sincerely appreciate reading that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our hotel met your criteria for a great hotel stay. We have taken note of your comments in regards of the coffee machine in the room but just to mention for a future stay, we have coffee machines in all of our suites.

We hope to welcome you back soon in a near future to Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile.

Sincerely,

Jean-Christophe Gras
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

The best part of my hotel stay was the staff. It seems that the management has empowered their front-line staff/housekeepers to make decisions without having to check and get back to you, and to do the "extras" that make one's stay memorable. The room I had was very clean, modern and comfortable. The bathroom had a large tub, and a separate large glass shower that I thought was particularly nice. The location is ideal--walking distance to a variety of restaurants, an art museum, some galleries, and great shops.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudia7531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMontreal, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Bonjour Claudia7531,

We love to hear that you enjoyed the property and were well taken care of by our staff! On behalf of all of our Ambassadors, thank you for taking the time to review your experience and we will all look forward to having you back again soon at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile.

Sincerely,

Jean-Christophe Gras
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#5 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
#1 of 163 in Montreal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Crystal
Hotel Le Crystal
#15 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile

Property: Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
Address: 1155 Sherbrooke West, Montreal, Quebec H3A 2N3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Montreal
#8 Business Hotel in Montreal
#10 Family Hotel in Montreal
#13 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#22 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile 5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile is conveniently located in the heart of the city ideal for business travelers and art lovers - at the foot of lush Mount Royal Park, next to the renowned McGill University and Montreal Museum of Fine Arts. Enjoy the masterful blend of minimalist design and warm sophistication at our luxury hotel embellished with Victorian accents from the estate of North American railroad pioneer William Cornelius Van Horne. Choose one of 241 elegant and stylish hotel rooms or 17 suites all featuring Sofitel's luxurious feathertop and duvet sleep system - SoBed. 258 rooms including 17 suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Montreal Hotel Montreal
Montreal Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing