We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
Ranked #17 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

The hotel's service was excellent and the rooms modern and clean. The restaurant at the hotel had an excellent menu. The food was superb, but bit pricey, but you do get a lot of food. The location was sort of central.

Room Tip: Any room will do
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BartZa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMontreal, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Bonjour BartZa,

Thank you very much for writing a review regarding your recent stay with us. I was so glad to read how much you enjoyed the service and the amenities we offer. We will look forward to welcoming you again at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile.

Sincerely,

Jean-Christophe Gras
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,207
    532
    133
    34
    26
See reviews for
342
740
132
474
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

I recently stayed at the Sofitel for a 2-day business trip. I had a wonderful experience during my whole stay and would definitely stay here again.

The service of the staff was friendly and timely, and they were able to speak both English and French very well. The concierge provided us with wonderful dinner and cocktail restaurants and was knowledgable about the different types of cuisine each restaurant offered.

My room was very clean and the bed was one of the best hotel beds I've slept in. I was a little surprised with the size of the room, as it felt a little small. The gym facility was fantastic - new machines, fresh water, fruit and towels and a TV to watch while working out.

My only suggestion would be to lower the prices of the drinks in the hotel bar - $18 for a martini and $14 for a beer is quite steep. Otherwise, wonderful hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrienne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMontreal, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Bonjour Adrienne L,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back soon again soon in a near future.

Sincerely,

Jean-Christophe Gras
Général Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, USA
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

This is a smart, attractive hotel in a great location in Montreal. The rooms are generously-sized and modern; the bathrooms are beautiful. Front desk staff is professional and helpful. Excellent value. The not-so-good: the room doors tend to slam shut, which makes for a racket in the morning as people leave their rooms.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Sard0nicus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMontreal, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Bonjour,

It is great to hear that you enjoyed such a special time with us and we have passed on your feedback concerning the room doors. Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay, we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Jean-Christophe Gras
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
130 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Spent a few nights here back in August 2011 and had such a lovely time. We had a great luxury room, which was so big and roomy. The staff were very helpful and always available. One of the best features of this hotel is its location and close proximity to great shopping and restaurants. No complains and slept very well.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sylvrgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMontreal, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Bonjour sylvrgirl,

Thank you for reviewing your experience at the Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back again very soon.

Sincerely,

Jean-Christophe Gras
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

I visit Montreal regularly but had not stayed here before. Lovely hotel, much nicer inside where it seems smaller than the tall apartment-style building you see from the outside. Room was very nice, small but super comfortable king-sized bed, corner room had windows on two walls, lovely bathroom, good quality towels, etc. but no tub which some people might want. Service twice a day. Bottle of water put by the bed at night plus classical music put on the radio for your return! No coffee machine which seems to be common in Sofitel hotels and has put me off staying in this chain previously. There is coffee in the lobby which I was concerned about due to a previous review saying the it was not good, so was expecting a pot to be sitting there with stale coffee. This coffee was excellent, individually made from an Italian machine, but not a horrible pod-type machine. So, if you like coffee in the morning, you have to go downstairs to get it. Staff all very nice and friendly, but valet parking, which is expensive, was slow, so allow time if you need your car in a hurry. There are outdoor parking lots a few blocks away, and free parking further west. .

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank travelmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMontreal, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Bonjour travelmum,

Thank you for reviewing your experience at the Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile. We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us and hope to welcome you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Jean-Christophe Gras
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, FL
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

This is a modern, clean hotel conveniently located for touring downtown Montreal. It was very cold when we were there so did not venture far from the hotel. Concierge directed us to a restaurant we were looking for and provided us with a complimentary dessert.

Room Tip: We had a corner room on the 10th floor and could see a lot of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMontreal, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Bonjour karen f,

We love to hear that you enjoyed the property and were well taken care of by our staff and Concierges. On behalf of all of our Ambassadors, thank you for taking the time to review your experience and we will all look forward to having you back again soon at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile.

Sincerely,

Jean-Christophe Gras
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collingwood, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

The hotel is right downtown in Montreal only a few blocks from the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts. It is a modern hotel with all the amenities to be expected in a 4-5 star hotel. The service from the welcome and valet parking to the front desk and bellmen was excellent. We were attending a function with 160 people and the hors d'oeuvres and buffet dinner were excellent. Overall, a great experience and I would recommend this hotel to all.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petercmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMontreal, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Bonjour petercmr,

Thank you very much for your kind compliments. I am so delighted that you have enjoyed your stays with us. We look forward to your next trip to Montréal.

Best regards.

Jean-Christophe Gras
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#5 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
#1 of 163 in Montreal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#21 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Crystal
Hotel Le Crystal
#14 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile

Property: Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
Address: 1155 Sherbrooke West, Montreal, Quebec H3A 2N3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Montreal
#8 Business Hotel in Montreal
#10 Family Hotel in Montreal
#13 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#22 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile 5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile is conveniently located in the heart of the city ideal for business travelers and art lovers - at the foot of lush Mount Royal Park, next to the renowned McGill University and Montreal Museum of Fine Arts. Enjoy the masterful blend of minimalist design and warm sophistication at our luxury hotel embellished with Victorian accents from the estate of North American railroad pioneer William Cornelius Van Horne. Choose one of 241 elegant and stylish hotel rooms or 17 suites all featuring Sofitel's luxurious feathertop and duvet sleep system - SoBed. 258 rooms including 17 suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Montreal Hotel Montreal
Montreal Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing