We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel I have stayed in” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
Ranked #18 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Hotel I have stayed in”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I was very pleased to see a place that still offers exceptional service and a great room. The bar and restaurant are excellent as well(Pricey though). I will stay here every time I go th Montreal! it is on "The Golded MIle" and close to many restaurants and entertainment.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank buzz911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMontreal, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Bonjour buzz911,

Thank you very much for your kind compliments. I am so delighted that you have enjoyed your stays with us. We look forward to your next trip to Montreal.

Best regards.

Jean-Christophe Gras
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,053
    479
    117
    33
    25
See reviews for
298
653
120
408
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Florianopolis, SC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stayed 4 nights, last september. First time in Montreal.Great City!! Wonderful hotel. Maintaining the brand standards, what we found particularly great was its staff. Very nice and warm people, always with a smile and ready to help you. Very nice location, easy access to restaurants and shops.Room well maintained and very clean as usual in Sofitel hotels. Had breakfast one morning, and was really good: yoghurt and pastries , jelly and coffee...really fresh and tasty. Hotel very close to take the tours to other cities . Next time in Montreal, would definitely come back.

Room Tip: If possible try a room in a higher floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robteix2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMontreal, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Bonjour robteix2012,

Thank you very much for writing a review regarding your recent stay with us. I was so glad to read how much you enjoyed the service and the amenities we offer.

We hope to see you in the near future at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile.

Sincerely,

Jean-Christophe Gras
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Beautiful hotel, wonderful service and great location. Rooms are classy and beautifully laid out. the restaurant in the lobby is no everyday hotel restaurant.....Try the egg white omelette for breakfast.... A must!

Room Tip: Room sizes vary greatly..... So see if you can get a swap esp if you are there for a longer stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paulmac44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMontreal, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Bonjour paulmac44,

Thank you for reviewing your experience at the Sofitel Montreal. We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us and hope to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,

Jean-Christophe Gras
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the Sofitel with my family. The Sofitel is ideally located as it is next to McGill University, close to shops and restaurants and the Arts Museum. Rooms are quite large and some rooms could easily accommodate a family of 4. I appreciate the luxury of that hotel, the beds and the overall comfort. staff was usually very nice and helpful, except at the restaurant/bar where I found hat some of the waitresses were a bit rude and seemingly not very happy to be there.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank AFV66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMontreal, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Bonjour J V,

Thank you very much! We greatly appreciate your comments and hope to welcome you back to Montréal and Sofitel Golden Mile again soon.

Sincerely,

Jean-Christophe Gras
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
207 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

After having stayed at several Sofitel properties on a recent trip to Vietnam and Cambodia, our expectations were high. And we weren't disappointed.
The hotel is perfectly located between McGill and the Ritz and St Catherine St and the mountain. The building itself is beautifully designed. And with their Christmas decorations it was stunning.
The lobby is compact and inviting. A friend came to visit. We sat in the lobby. It felt like our own living room with the sun streaming in.
The rooms are modern and well appointed with an ample work space. The beds were very comfortable with a thick mattress top. The bathroom is compact but adequate. The vanity is a modern bowl sitting on the countertop. The only drawback is that this design reduces useable counter space. Their basic rooms come with a large shower stall with hand and overhead shower. We prefer a shower stall because we find it safer and less slippery. If you need a bathtub, reserve the room category above standard.
Breakfast in their amazing dining room, Renoir, was a treat. Service was excellent and the food - presentation and quality - was wonderful. My only complaint was that when breakfast is prepaid, there was confusion over exactly what this included. The dining room staff gave one story, the front desk another. Nowhere was it clearly explained - in writing.
Overall I would say this is one the finest hotels in Montreal. There is a level of service and standard of accommodation which are outstanding.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have interesting layout
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boundary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sofitel M, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Bonjour boundary,

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review. I was glad to read how much you enjoyed the service and the amenities we offer. We do hope to welcome you back in the near future at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile so that we may have the opportunity once again to provide you with the Magnifique experience enjoyed by the majority of our customers.

Sincerely,

Jean-Christophe Gras
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
#1 of 165 in Montreal
5.0 of 5 stars 709 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#4 of 165 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,096 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#2 of 165 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Crystal
Hotel Le Crystal
#13 of 165 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,055 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#26 of 165 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 2,147 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile

Property: Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
Address: 1155 Sherbrooke West, Montreal, Quebec H3A 2N3, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Montreal
#8 Business Hotel in Montreal
#10 Family Hotel in Montreal
#12 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#22 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile 5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile is conveniently located in the heart of the city ideal for business travelers and art lovers - at the foot of lush Mount Royal Park, next to the renowned McGill University and Montreal Museum of Fine Arts. Enjoy the masterful blend of minimalist design and warm sophistication at our luxury hotel embellished with Victorian accents from the estate of North American railroad pioneer William Cornelius Van Horne. Choose one of 241 elegant and stylish hotel rooms or 17 suites all featuring Sofitel's luxurious feathertop and duvet sleep system - SoBed. 258 rooms including 17 suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, ACCOR, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Montreal Hotel Montreal
Montreal Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing