We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel I have stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
Ranked #15 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I was very pleased to see a place that still offers exceptional service and a great room. The bar and restaurant are excellent as well(Pricey though). I will stay here every time I go th Montreal! it is on "The Golded MIle" and close to many restaurants and entertainment.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buzz911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMontreal, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Bonjour buzz911,

Thank you very much for your kind compliments. I am so delighted that you have enjoyed your stays with us. We look forward to your next trip to Montreal.

Best regards.

Jean-Christophe Gras
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,203)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,263 - 1,269 of 2,203 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greenmachine27
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SofitelMontreal, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stayed 4 nights, last september. First time in Montreal.Great City!! Wonderful hotel. Maintaining the brand standards, what we found particularly great was its staff. Very nice and warm people, always with a smile and ready to help you. Very nice location, easy access to restaurants and shops.Room well maintained and very clean as usual in Sofitel hotels. Had breakfast one morning, and was really good: yoghurt and pastries , jelly and coffee...really fresh and tasty. Hotel very close to take the tours to other cities . Next time in Montreal, would definitely come back.

Room Tip: If possible try a room in a higher floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robteix2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMontreal, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Bonjour robteix2012,

Thank you very much for writing a review regarding your recent stay with us. I was so glad to read how much you enjoyed the service and the amenities we offer.

We hope to see you in the near future at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile.

Sincerely,

Jean-Christophe Gras
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Beautiful hotel, wonderful service and great location. Rooms are classy and beautifully laid out. the restaurant in the lobby is no everyday hotel restaurant.....Try the egg white omelette for breakfast.... A must!

Room Tip: Room sizes vary greatly..... So see if you can get a swap esp if you are there for a longer stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulmac44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMontreal, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Bonjour paulmac44,

Thank you for reviewing your experience at the Sofitel Montreal. We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us and hope to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,

Jean-Christophe Gras
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

I stayed at the Sofitel with my family. The Sofitel is ideally located as it is next to McGill University, close to shops and restaurants and the Arts Museum. Rooms are quite large and some rooms could easily accommodate a family of 4. I appreciate the luxury of that hotel, the beds and the overall comfort. staff was usually very nice and helpful, except at the restaurant/bar where I found hat some of the waitresses were a bit rude and seemingly not very happy to be there.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
Thank AFV66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMontreal, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Bonjour J V,

Thank you very much! We greatly appreciate your comments and hope to welcome you back to Montréal and Sofitel Golden Mile again soon.

Sincerely,

Jean-Christophe Gras
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheldon a
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
sofitel M, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

After having stayed at several Sofitel properties on a recent trip to Vietnam and Cambodia, our expectations were high. And we weren't disappointed.
The hotel is perfectly located between McGill and the Ritz and St Catherine St and the mountain. The building itself is beautifully designed. And with their Christmas decorations it was stunning.
The lobby is compact and inviting. A friend came to visit. We sat in the lobby. It felt like our own living room with the sun streaming in.
The rooms are modern and well appointed with an ample work space. The beds were very comfortable with a thick mattress top. The bathroom is compact but adequate. The vanity is a modern bowl sitting on the countertop. The only drawback is that this design reduces useable counter space. Their basic rooms come with a large shower stall with hand and overhead shower. We prefer a shower stall because we find it safer and less slippery. If you need a bathtub, reserve the room category above standard.
Breakfast in their amazing dining room, Renoir, was a treat. Service was excellent and the food - presentation and quality - was wonderful. My only complaint was that when breakfast is prepaid, there was confusion over exactly what this included. The dining room staff gave one story, the front desk another. Nowhere was it clearly explained - in writing.
Overall I would say this is one the finest hotels in Montreal. There is a level of service and standard of accommodation which are outstanding.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have interesting layout
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boundary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sofitel M, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Bonjour boundary,

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review. I was glad to read how much you enjoyed the service and the amenities we offer. We do hope to welcome you back in the near future at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile so that we may have the opportunity once again to provide you with the Magnifique experience enjoyed by the majority of our customers.

Sincerely,

Jean-Christophe Gras
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#23 of 165 in Montreal
2,724 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#8 of 165 in Montreal
1,502 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#7 of 165 in Montreal
2,460 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#2 of 165 in Montreal
1,097 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Crystal
Hotel Le Crystal
#12 of 165 in Montreal
1,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile

Address: 1155 Sherbrooke West, Montreal, Quebec H3A 2N3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Montreal
#8 Business Hotel in Montreal
#10 Family Hotel in Montreal
#12 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#22 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: $147 - $352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile 5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile is conveniently located in the heart of the city ideal for business travelers and art lovers - at the foot of lush Mount Royal Park, next to the renowned McGill University and Montreal Museum of Fine Arts. Enjoy the masterful blend of minimalist design and warm sophistication at our luxury hotel embellished with Victorian accents from the estate of North American railroad pioneer William Cornelius Van Horne. Choose one of 241 elegant and stylish hotel rooms or 17 suites all featuring Sofitel's luxurious feathertop and duvet sleep system - SoBed. 258 rooms including 17 suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Montreal Hotel Montreal
Montreal Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing