We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing hotel, the most enjoyable stay :-)!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
Ranked #16 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel, the most enjoyable stay :-)!!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Sofitel Montreal is firstly located on amazing location- just app 8 minutes of walk from St Catherine's street and all other streets with amazing restaurants.
Staff is so professional and polite, they were always so responsive. Food is restaurant is tasty, the only thing is that is big more expensive than in other places downtown.

And rooms...with beautiful view and THE MOST COMFORTABLE BEDS EVER. Simply love it.All my stars go to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MA2402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sofitel M, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Bonjour MA2402,

We love to hear that you enjoyed the property and were well taken care of by our staff! On behalf of all of our Ambassadors, thank you for taking the time to review your experience and we will all look forward to having you back again soon at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile!

Sincerely,

Jean-Christophe Gras
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,953 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,222
    537
    133
    35
    26
See reviews for
345
745
134
483
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Haywards Heath
Level Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

Great location, with everything in walking distance. The service was excellent. We found the cost of the breakfast pretty steep, but was nice quality. The bar was great for pre dinner drinks and a friendly ambience .

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sofitel M, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Bonjour Heather E,

Thank you for reviewing your experience at the Sofitel Montreal. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,

Jean-Christophe Gras
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
246 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Located on Sherbrooke just west of Peel. A bit away from the downtown highlights but quieter as a consequence. Nice lobby with a fantastic reading area. Checkin in French was a breeze. Smallish elevators. Impeccable room with very comfortable king sized bed. Nice work area. Huge TV. Beautiful bathroom in classic Sofitel style. Average but not great service, would agree with stuffy as a descriptor. Only complaint would be the price which was a bit higher than I expected for Montreal in February.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SugarSammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sofitel M, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Bonjour SugarSammy,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, we really appreciate all feedback.We do hope to welcome you back in the near future so that we may have the opportunity to provide you with the Magnifique experience enjoyed by the majority of our customers.

Sincerely,

Jean-Christophe Gras
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We spent 3 nights at the Montreal Sofitel. Nice room with great beds, good breakfast, very friendly and helpfull staff, perfect location to visit all the citie's highlights. We can only recommand this hotel.

Room Tip: Take a room from the 7th floor up ( less noise)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francois B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sofitel M, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Bonjour Francois B,

Thank you for reviewing your experience! Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We will look forward to welcoming you again!

Sincerely,

Jean-Christophe Gras
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Stayed here for two night in October. This area is my favourite in Montreal. Got a premium room with king bed. Room was on a low floor facing the mountain - but couldn't see the mountain - no view !! Room was nice although a bit small. Washroom was very functional (shower and no bath was ok). No tea or coffee in the room so had to order from room service. If you stay here I suggest asking for a higher floor that will be brighter and will have a view (views of Mount Royal can be spectacular).

Service was excellent. However at $500 for two nights, about $75 for parking and a very expensive Sunday brunch, the alternatives across the street and both east and west along Sherbrooke offer better value. I'm told I should have gone for a larger room on a higher floor - and may give it one more try next time I'm in Montreal. However there are lots of nice hotels in Montreal - there is no reason to overpay.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor with a view of Mount Royal. Beware of expensive parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FCMR99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sofitel M, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Bonjour FCMR99,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at Sofitel Montreal.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future so that we may have another opportunity to provide you with the Magnifique experience enjoyed by the majority of our customers.

Sincerely,

Jean-Christophe Gras
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights & whilst the hotel was adequate that's all I can really say about it. Usual stay in 5 star hotels so used to good service & slightly inflated prices but this was ridiculous. Plus no tea & coffee facilities in room which we thought was unacceptable. The staff were the high light of our stay, helpful & efficient. Wouldn't book another Sofitel again in a hurry.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HonestReview86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sofitel M, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Bonjour HonestReview86,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, we really appreciate all feedback. We are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion, and are looking into the issues you raised. We do hope to welcome you back in the near future so that we may have the opportunity to provide you with the Magnifique experience enjoyed by the majority of our customers.

Sincerely,

Jean-Christopge Gras
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tsgbhalf
Level Contributor
123 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

First time here and was so impressed with guest room which is spacious, quiet and well designed.

Fitness center is on the small side so while they have "one of everything", you might find the equipment you seek to be in use.

Bar was lively with nice wine selection.

Walking distance to great choices in both fine and casual dining.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have more natural light .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tsgbhalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sofitel M, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Bonjour tsgbhalf,

Thank you very much for your kind compliments. I am so delighted that you have enjoyed your stays with us. We look forward to your next trip!

Best regards.

Jean-Christophe Gras
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#6 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
#1 of 163 in Montreal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#22 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Crystal
Hotel Le Crystal
#13 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile

Property: Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
Address: 1155 Sherbrooke West, Montreal, Quebec H3A 2N3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Montreal
#8 Business Hotel in Montreal
#10 Family Hotel in Montreal
#12 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#22 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile 5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile is conveniently located in the heart of the city ideal for business travelers and art lovers - at the foot of lush Mount Royal Park, next to the renowned McGill University and Montreal Museum of Fine Arts. Enjoy the masterful blend of minimalist design and warm sophistication at our luxury hotel embellished with Victorian accents from the estate of North American railroad pioneer William Cornelius Van Horne. Choose one of 241 elegant and stylish hotel rooms or 17 suites all featuring Sofitel's luxurious feathertop and duvet sleep system - SoBed. 258 rooms including 17 suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Montreal Hotel Montreal
Montreal Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing