We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey hotel but fantastic stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
Ranked #15 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Located on Sherbrooke just west of Peel. A bit away from the downtown highlights but quieter as a consequence. Nice lobby with a fantastic reading area. Checkin in French was a breeze. Smallish elevators. Impeccable room with very comfortable king sized bed. Nice work area. Huge TV. Beautiful bathroom in classic Sofitel style. Average but not great service, would agree with stuffy as a descriptor. Only complaint would be the price which was a bit higher than I expected for Montreal in February.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SugarSammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sofitel M, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Bonjour SugarSammy,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, we really appreciate all feedback.We do hope to welcome you back in the near future so that we may have the opportunity to provide you with the Magnifique experience enjoyed by the majority of our customers.

Sincerely,

Jean-Christophe Gras
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,256)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,326 - 1,332 of 2,256 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2012

We spent 3 nights at the Montreal Sofitel. Nice room with great beds, good breakfast, very friendly and helpfull staff, perfect location to visit all the citie's highlights. We can only recommand this hotel.

Room Tip: Take a room from the 7th floor up ( less noise)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francois B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sofitel M, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Bonjour Francois B,

Thank you for reviewing your experience! Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We will look forward to welcoming you again!

Sincerely,

Jean-Christophe Gras
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Stayed here for two night in October. This area is my favourite in Montreal. Got a premium room with king bed. Room was on a low floor facing the mountain - but couldn't see the mountain - no view !! Room was nice although a bit small. Washroom was very functional (shower and no bath was ok). No tea or coffee in the room so had to order from room service. If you stay here I suggest asking for a higher floor that will be brighter and will have a view (views of Mount Royal can be spectacular).

Service was excellent. However at $500 for two nights, about $75 for parking and a very expensive Sunday brunch, the alternatives across the street and both east and west along Sherbrooke offer better value. I'm told I should have gone for a larger room on a higher floor - and may give it one more try next time I'm in Montreal. However there are lots of nice hotels in Montreal - there is no reason to overpay.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor with a view of Mount Royal. Beware of expensive parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FCMR99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sofitel M, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Bonjour FCMR99,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at Sofitel Montreal.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future so that we may have another opportunity to provide you with the Magnifique experience enjoyed by the majority of our customers.

Sincerely,

Jean-Christophe Gras
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights & whilst the hotel was adequate that's all I can really say about it. Usual stay in 5 star hotels so used to good service & slightly inflated prices but this was ridiculous. Plus no tea & coffee facilities in room which we thought was unacceptable. The staff were the high light of our stay, helpful & efficient. Wouldn't book another Sofitel again in a hurry.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HonestReview86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sofitel M, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Bonjour HonestReview86,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, we really appreciate all feedback. We are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion, and are looking into the issues you raised. We do hope to welcome you back in the near future so that we may have the opportunity to provide you with the Magnifique experience enjoyed by the majority of our customers.

Sincerely,

Jean-Christopge Gras
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

First time here and was so impressed with guest room which is spacious, quiet and well designed.

Fitness center is on the small side so while they have "one of everything", you might find the equipment you seek to be in use.

Bar was lively with nice wine selection.

Walking distance to great choices in both fine and casual dining.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have more natural light .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tsgbhalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sofitel M, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Bonjour tsgbhalf,

Thank you very much for your kind compliments. I am so delighted that you have enjoyed your stays with us. We look forward to your next trip!

Best regards.

Jean-Christophe Gras
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We recently stayed at the Sofitel Montreal for 2 days for our anniversary. We had never stayed at a Sofitel before but liked the location, the photos and the reviews so we decided to give it a try. Well, let me tell you, this hotel knows how to do customer service right! From the moment we pulled up, we were greeted by the valet, who helped us bring our bags in from the rain, we were greeted by Martine, who had already read the room requests we put in upon booking the week before. She explained that we indeed had a room on a higher floor (but unfortunately no corner rooms were available) and said we would still have a wonderful view of both the city and the mountain. We had also mentioned it was our anniversary and the Hotel Manager had left us a wonderful small sweet treat prepared by the Head Chef, along with a congratulatory note. It was a wonderful touch which immediately demonstrated that this hotel actually reads the comments/requests people put into their reservations. Everytime we entered or exited the hotel, we were greeted with a hello or have a great afternoon, one valet would even press the elevator button for us upon entering the lobby - this may seem like small things, but they are the small touches that make a quality hotel. We opted for the larger room (35 sq ft) and it was beautiful, clean and spacious with the softest bed covers I have ever slept on. Bathroom is stunning, with lovely products and toiletries all presented in silver boxes as well as bathrobes and slippers for two! Location is fantastic, just steps away from Catherine Street, the museum and stores. We ordered coffee one morning and it was brought up promptly with complimentary samples of juice and fresh flowers for display. From top to bottom, this hotel is worth every penny and simply manifique! I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: High or low floor, let's face it- you're in the city- there is going to be traffic noise fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sofitel M, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Bonjour Nicole H,

Thank you very much for writing a review regarding your recent stay with us. I was so glad to read how much you enjoyed the service and the amenities we offer.

We are delighted that you had a very pleasant experiences at Sofitel Montréal! We hope to have the chance to welcome you again on your next visit to the area! 

Sincerely,

Jean-Christophe Gras
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We were very disappointed when we stayed here in 2010, and stayed in other hotels, but now we highly recommend this hotel for both courteous and efficient service, and a very comfortable and lovely quiet room as requested. It very well situated and convenient in the center of the Golden Mile. A thoroughly enjoyable stay in an excellent hotel.

Room Tip: request a quiet room, the traffic noise from Sherbrooke is disturbing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sofitel M, Social Media Coordinator at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Bonjour Pancho8,

Thank you very much for your kind compliments. I am so delighted that you have chosen to stay with us once again and I was so glad to read how much you enjoyed the service and the amenities this time. We look forward to your next visit to Sofitel Montreal!

Best regards.

François Marceau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#8 of 165 in Montreal
1,541 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#20 of 165 in Montreal
2,774 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Crystal
Hotel Le Crystal
#12 of 165 in Montreal
1,797 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#3 of 165 in Montreal
1,119 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#7 of 165 in Montreal
2,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile

Address: 1155 Sherbrooke West, Montreal, Quebec H3A 2N3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Montreal
#8 Business Hotel in Montreal
#8 Family Hotel in Montreal
#12 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#22 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: $166 - $403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile 5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile is conveniently located in the heart of the city ideal for business travelers and art lovers - at the foot of lush Mount Royal Park, next to the renowned McGill University and Montreal Museum of Fine Arts. Enjoy the masterful blend of minimalist design and warm sophistication at our luxury hotel embellished with Victorian accents from the estate of North American railroad pioneer William Cornelius Van Horne. Choose one of 241 elegant and stylish hotel rooms or 17 suites all featuring Sofitel's luxurious feathertop and duvet sleep system - SoBed. 258 rooms including 17 suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Montreal Hotel Montreal
Montreal Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing