We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
Ranked #16 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

Great hotel! Spacious room, including the bathroom. Comfy beds and great staff. The restaurant terrance is great too.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank off2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarimIkrimah, Director of Revenue Management at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this review, July 30, 2011
Bonjour Off2,

Thank you for the kind words and compliments of our staff, beds and the terrace.

We hope to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,898 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,183
    524
    131
    34
    26
See reviews for
336
731
130
458
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

We flew up on Friday morning and stayed until Sunday. The room was as expected: clean, modern and convenient. We upgraded to a mini suite, which was a no brainer for the incremental cost. The staff are very friendly but professional. The hotel is within walking distance of the shopping and restaurant areas. We didnt have a bad meal in this town. At the suggestion of the concierge, we went to a great breakfast place in the olde part of the town. The weather was beautiful. The people in the town were friendly and young. Great town.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank notfrequentflier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarimIkrimah, Director of Revenue Management at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this review, July 30, 2011
Bonjour Notfrequentflier,

We appreciate the time you took to post your recent comments from your stay at our hotel.

Best Regards

Karim ikrimah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

I am diamond and platinum in Marriott and Hilton and have only stayed at Sofitel a handful of times. This hotel surpasses any of the other hotel chains and I don't hold any elite status at this chain. The staff is extremely friendly and treat everyone as important as a top tier guest.

My room was a corner room and had a very nice shower and a Bose wave radio system. Internet was $15 per 24 hrs and room service was efficient. The hotel gym was very nice and updated and it is centrally located to St Catherine, Peel, and anywhere else you'd like to be in Montreal.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have a little more space
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pikapp8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarimIkrimah, Director Of Revenue Management at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this review, July 30, 2011
Bonjour Pikapp8,

Thank you very much for the kind words and compliments of our staff. Sofitel have a loyalty program name 'A-Club', please feel free to contact us if you want to be part of.

We hope to see you in the near future.

Best regards

Karim ikrimah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

Our family of four stayed in two rooms (next door but not connected) on a family discount date. Attractive hotel with very comfortable, attractive rooms, but no pool and mediocre exercise room. When we checked in, the person at the front desk failed to review the rate or remind me that it included free breakfast for the children. After breakfast cost well over $100 for 4 the first day, the second day, we went somewhere else, and only after re-checking my hotel confirmation the second night, we returned to the restaurant for our final breakfast-interstingly, only after my husband asked about children, we got a 50% discount on their meals (something we were not offered the first day-inconsistent service). We also had trouble with the key cards-they only worked intermittently, and when they stopped working after we returned exhausted from a long walk in nearby Parc du Mont Royal, the woman at the front desk was not apologetic-in fact she blamed me, saying it was from having the key card near my cell phone and credit cards (which were in the hotel safe. . . nowhere near the key card). That evening, we had difficulty watching an On Demand movie-we experienced about an hour of a comedy of errors-someone came to fix the movie but it still didn't work, and when we switched to our other room, the tv didn't work. Finally, we got the movie working and the manager sent free popcorn and drinks-a nice gesture, but I can't believe we were charged for the movie! One last issue was that the concierge had agreed to arrange to have our car washed (for $50), but when we checked out, the car was still filthy. I complained to the manager at check out, and she was sweet and apologetic but did not adjust the bill. In the end, the free popcorn and drinks were all we got for a lot of service issues. They also did remove the charges for the kids' breakfasts at check out. The rooms were very comfortable, and we liked the location, but Montreal has a lot of nice hotels, and unless they offer us a free night or comparable perk on our next stay, we'll go somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelerdocmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarimIkrimah, Director Of Revenue Management at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this review, July 30, 2011
Bonjour Travelerdocmom,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, we really appreciate all feedback.

We are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion, and are looking into the issues you raised.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future so that we may have the opportunity to provide you with the Magnifique experience enjoyed by the majority of our customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

Hotel very nice; fantastic dessert at restaruant. Rooms are not that big but bed was comfortable. Decor was nice. Great location to Montreal downtown; central. Easy to arrive at hotel using public transportation from the airport. Conceirge helpful. Close to sites. Bixies available across the way. Hotel close to museum, close to Mont Royal, close to shopping and close to the metro. Some nice dining areas near hotel.

Room Tip: City view was nice but the building across can see into your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank agrrdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarimIkrimah, Director Of Revenue Management at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this review, July 30, 2011
Bonjour Agrrdr,

We appreciate the time you took to post your recent comments from your stay at our hotel.

Thank you for choosing Sofitel.

Best Regards

Karim Ikrimah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, CT
Level Contributor
160 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

My husband and I took a last minute trip to Montreal last weekend and stayed at the Sofitel on Sherbrooke Street, which is situated in the middle of the so-called Golden Mile of Montreal. The area is a mix of nice hotels, office towers, good restaurants, and shopping. Of all the places we visited in Montreal we liked our location the best.

Our room was a superior, which is an upgrade from their standard room. The upgrade was worth the extra few dollars to have the extra space and a higher floor. We had the Picnic package that included--guess what--a picnic? We took ours to go, but if you want to have a picnic during your stay the hotel supplies a picnic basket and suggested picnic locations. We had a choice of salads, sandwiches, and a bottle of red or white wine. Cookies, apples, and granola bars rounded out our feast.

The lobby and guest rooms are super chic without being bare or stark. The staff was very pleasant and helpful and they switch from French to English depending on their guests first language.

Our only suggestion is that the Sofitel give guests access to free WiFi in their rooms. It always amuses us to see that Red Roof Inns have free WiFi and breakfasts and five-star hotels don't. What is the story here? Why?

Nevertheless, we would definitely stay here again. The hotel is located just a block away from good restaurants, McGill University, and two top museums. Young people can walk the few blocks to Crescent Street to find all kinds of "happening" bars and night spots.

Tips:
Visit the old town of Montreal, but don't sleep there--it is not the real Montreal.

Consider taking the 3-hour Greyhound bus tour of Montreal to get an overview of the city and then revisit the areas that are of interest to you.

Sorry Montreal--we went our of our way to try Fairmont Bagel, but we still prefer NYC bagels.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RebeccaRyanOrange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarimIkrimah, Director Of Revenue Management at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this review, July 30, 2011
Bonjour RebeccaRyanOrange,

Thank you very much for the recommendation.

I am pleased that you had a pleasurable experience with us and that the team was able to make your stay so comfortable.

We look forward to welcoming you back so you can check out the other spots in the city.

See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wooster, Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2011

My spouse and I stayed here for the weekend of the U2 concert, and we were very pleased. Location is excellent, and we walked everywhere. Enjoyed shopping and excellent cuisine close by. Walked to McGill as well. Used taxi for Old Montreal, purchased last minute tickets to Cirque de Soleil with assistance of concierge.

Room nicely appointed, pet friendly, and quiet. Love L'occitane products. Staff were very friendly and helpful, especially ?Elgin. Room was very clean and bed extremely comfortable. Would definitely visit again in beautiful July weather.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jillboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarimIkrimah, Director Of Revenu Management at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this review, July 22, 2011
Bonjour Jillboo,

It is great to hear that you enjoyed such a special time with us and we have passed on your feedback to Elgin.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay, we hope to see you again soon.

Karim Ikrimah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#5 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
#1 of 164 in Montreal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Crystal
Hotel Le Crystal
#14 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,352 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile

Property: Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
Address: 1155 Sherbrooke West, Montreal, Quebec H3A 2N3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Montreal
#8 Business Hotel in Montreal
#10 Family Hotel in Montreal
#13 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#22 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile 5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile is conveniently located in the heart of the city ideal for business travelers and art lovers - at the foot of lush Mount Royal Park, next to the renowned McGill University and Montreal Museum of Fine Arts. Enjoy the masterful blend of minimalist design and warm sophistication at our luxury hotel embellished with Victorian accents from the estate of North American railroad pioneer William Cornelius Van Horne. Choose one of 241 elegant and stylish hotel rooms or 17 suites all featuring Sofitel's luxurious feathertop and duvet sleep system - SoBed. 258 rooms including 17 suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Montreal Hotel Montreal
Montreal Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing