We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disposables at breakfast; flimsy start to the day”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Faubourg Montreal
Ranked #69 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
London
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Disposables at breakfast; flimsy start to the day”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Reception staff were quick to re-room me away from a gaggle of exuberant young women. Found myself in a large room with a kitchenette - and no sound of neighbours. Bathroom cleaned professionally but fittings are dated and showing their age. That said, everything worked; including the location. Great to have free papers at breakfast and their cinnamon buns do have a certain local charm. Great care is taken to keep everything topped up and there's clearly a lot of turnover here. This is, presumably, why they use plastic cutlery and paper plates but it just feels so insubstantial - and surely it can't be environmentally sound?

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlbertHerring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM_HIE_Montreal, Front Office Manager at Hotel Faubourg Montreal, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Bonjour AlberHerring!

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your stay with us! We are very happy to see that you appreciated all the combined efforts of our staff, from the front desk to the Housekeeping departments! We all work very hard to offer the best possible service!

We are glad to see that you were charmed by our delicious Cinnamon buns, they are indeed part of the charm of our breakfast! On the other hand, plastic cutlery is part of the IHG standards for the Holiday Inn Express brands, but rest assured that your comments will be passed along!

Again, thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, we look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind Regards,
Adeline Le Cornec,
Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    321
    240
    90
    51
See reviews for
215
237
73
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Pros:
- decent price
- free standard breakfast (yogurt, cinnabuns, styrofoam omelettes, crispy bacon, sausage patties, bananas, concentrated OJ)
- free nespaper incl. La Presse in french
- downtown but in the east side rather than more central
- got upgraded to a suite with kitchenette
- good hotel in general

Cons:
- side street beside the hotel (de Buillion I think) has all kind of strange people hanging around there, and it connects to a depleated part of Ste-Catherine, so just be aware
- lots of construction in the area, although was not loud

Room Tip: not facing Rene-Levesque as it may be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnnycalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM_HIE_Montreal, Front Office Supervisor at Hotel Faubourg Montreal, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Bonjour johnnycalgary!

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your stay with us!
Rest assured that all constructive comments will be passed along to all the concerned head of departments. We take your comments very seriously as they help us improve the quality of service we offer.
Our neighborhood is indeed centrally located and lively, but well supervised by the local representative of the law who are there to ensure everyone's safety!

Looking forward to welcoming you back!

Alexandre Fromager
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I stayed here this past weekend for my bachelor party. We had a group of 15 of us and the rooms were more than adequate. If you're looking for 4-5 star service and amenities, you will not find them here so taper your expectations. The rooms are a bit dated but kept very clean, in good shape, with considerable space. I had a two bedroom suite and there was more than enough room for all of us to hang out before heading out to the city. The location is also convenient...about a 15-20 min walk from the heart of downtown.

I would certainly come back in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mroth14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM_HIE_Montreal, Front Office Supervisor at Hotel Faubourg Montreal, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Bonjour mroth14!

Thank you for reviewing your stay at our property, we are happy that you were satisfied with the size of our location!
Rest assured that your comments are taken very seriously and will help us improve the level of service we offer. Both our Maintenance and Housekeeping departments are working very hard to improve and maintain the quality of the accommodations we offer.

Looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kind Regards,

Alexandre Fromager
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westford, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

This hotel needs some big updates. It is not worth the $140 plus we pay. The only good is the location and the staff. We had two big issues and one minor issue. Nothing seems to work until you call for help.The two big issues, hot water and AC. The AC they got it working within a few minutes. Think they want you to actually complain to turn the AC on ( they call it saving energy :-) ). The hot water , I am still waiting for close to 20 plus minutes for somebody to come so that the four of us can have a bath and venture out into the city. They did come while I was writing this review, the shower control was broken and will work only in one specific position. With kids this was a problem. We had to test our motor skills with the shower controls. This is a aging hotel with some key required upgrades. The breakfast was average.Good staff let down by the owners. 2 stars for the hotel and 5 stars for the staff. Will I come back ? NO.

Room Tip: Pay $20 more and find a 4 star hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pkalathur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM_HIE_Montreal, Front Office Supervisor at Hotel Faubourg Montreal, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Bonjour pkalathur!

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your stay with us!
We are sorry to see we did not meet your expectations! Rest assured that all our departments are working very hard to improve and maintain the quality of the accommodation and service we offer. All constructive comments will be passed along to the concerned departments!

We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back again, and make sure that everything is perfect with your stay!

Kind Regards,
Alexandre Fromager
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

First the Good:
It is in a good location as it is only a 20 minute walk to the Bell Centre and very close to St. Catherines Street. The room was relatively large with a bedroom, living room as well as a kitchen area. The room had two windows that opened, which was nice as it allowed for some fresh air to enter. We stayed for two nights over the long weekend and were never disturbed by any noise. The breakfast was very good, it had a good selection of healthy items.
Now the Bad:
The A/C system did not work in our room. When we first entered the room it was extremely warm and we thought it was due to the A/C being motion activated. But after being in the room for a while, we realized that it was broken. We were glad to find the windows opened as we were very tired and couldn't wait for the repairman. I found a number of little black ants crawling on the bathroom floor on several occasions. Upon returning to our room on one day, we went to put our shoes back on and found a swarm of ants surrounding our shoes. Turns out there was a little piece of food on the bottom of one of our shoes that attracted hundreds of these little black ants.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovethebeach M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM_HIE_Montreal, Front Office Manager at Hotel Faubourg Montreal, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Bonjour Lovethebeach M!

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Montreal! We do appreciate your feedback, as it helps us improve the quality of service we offer.

Please accept our most sincere apologies for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay, this unusual experience with ants does not reflect the quality of cleanliness our housekeeping department is proud of! Rest assured that all constructive comment has been passed along to all concerned departments.

We are very happy to see that you enjoyed our location along with our breakfast that helped you start your day!

Next time you plan to visit Montreal, please contact us directly, we would be happy to assist you making your reservation and ensure that everything is perfect with your stay!

Looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kind Regards,
Adeline Le Cornec
Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Montreal hotels

Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

i have never been in such terrible hotel.
the room was big, but poor appearance, catastrophic maintenance and staff not professionals. try to stay somewhere else.
also no recognition to elite members.


Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Meir M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM_HIE_Montreal, Front Office Manager at Hotel Faubourg Montreal, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Bonjour Meir M!

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your stay with us! We are terribly sorry to see that we did not meet your expectations!

Both our Maintenance and Housekeeping departments take pride in the investment they have in improving the standards of the accommodation we offer, and all constructive comments will be passed along, as we always seek improvement. All of our staff works very hard to ensure our guests satisfaction, and we are very sorry to see that your stay was not satisfactory.

In order for you to help us improve, would it be possible for you to get in touch with us directly?

Next time you plan a future visit in Montréal, please contact me directly, I will ensure that everyone goes the extra mile to ensure that everything is perfect with your stay!

Kind Regards,
Adeline Le Cornec
Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, On
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

This is by far the smallest "suite" I've ever stayed in. Our room had two double beds, that were satisfactory in comfort. The kitchen would have been great except there was absolutely no cutlery, utensils, etc. The bathroom, like the rest of the room, was clean although showing its age. The saving grace of this hotel was the staff. We arrived from out of town very late and the girl at the front desk was very helpful, as were all the other front desk attendants throughout the stay.

The breakfast on Friday was really good, there were hot eggs, sausage, and pancakes as well as a variety of breads, fruits and yogurt. On Saturday the breakfast area was so packed there was nowhere to sit and the hot food was gone almost immediately after being brought out. Perhaps some better organization/planning could improve this but overall the food was pretty good so I would say it was worth the hassle.

Room Tip: If you have a lot of luggage ask for a room close to the elevator Go down for breakfast early on we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM_HIE_Montreal, Front Office Manager at Hotel Faubourg Montreal, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Bonjour Sheena B!

Thank you very much for taking the time to rate your stay with us!

Both our housekeeping and maintenance department work very hard to offer the best suitable accommodation, improve and maintain its quality, they will definitely hear (and appreciate !) your comments.

It is true that we do not put cutlery in our rooms, but it is available anytime upon request to the front desk, and can be brought up to your room in a timely manner. When the hotel gets very occupied, we do have a very busy breakfast. During summer time especially, the early hours of breakfast service are usually quieter indeed, your suggestions will definitely be passed along to the rest of the Management !

Again, Sheena B, we are very happy to see that our team made you fell welcome and at home. When planning your next visit to our wonderful city, please let us know, we would be happy to assist you making your reservation and ensure that everything is perfect with your stay!

Warm Regards,
Adeline Le Cornec
Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier des Spectacles
Candlewood Suites Montreal Centre-Ville
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Zero 1
Hotel Zero 1
#54 of 165 in Montreal
1,190 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Travelodge Montreal Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier des Spectacles
Best Western Plus Hotel Montreal
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
#80 of 165 in Montreal
570 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Roberval
Le Roberval
#79 of 165 in Montreal
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Faubourg Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Faubourg Montreal

Property: Hotel Faubourg Montreal
Address: 155 Rene Levesque Boulevard East, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3Z8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Faubourg Montreal 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Faubourg Montreal offers comfort & convenience. Whether you're visiting for business or leisure at the Hotel Faubourg Montreal in Montreal Centre-Ville, you're sure to enjoy your stay, as our lodging offers the comfort of a daily hot breakfast bar and the convenience of a location near numerous corporations and attractions in Montreal. Every guest room whether a Studio or a two room suite offers the convenience of a full size fridge and microwave. Perfect for those staying on business, our hotel in Montreal offers a well-equipped business centre, high-speed Internet and close proximity to Montreal Convention Center, Bombardier, CBC, Deloitte and Touche, Hydro Quebec, KPMG, SNC Lavalin, Complexe Desjardins and Guy Favreau, Place des Arts, UQAM & McGill University. Because we have a better location than most hotels, our Montreal, Canada lodging is the perfect place for families to stay during their vacation. We're situated near historic Old Montreal, Chinatown, Six Flags A La Ronde amusement park, Bell Centre, Grand Prix Du Canada, the Casino and many of Montreal's finest restaurants, museums and shopping. If you're looking for quality Montreal hotels & convenient services, then look no further. We are the perfectplace to stay no matter the reason that brings you to Montreal! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Faubourg Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Montreal Centre-Ville Hotel Montreal
Holiday Inn Montreal
Montreal Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing