We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good location , clean, but run down rooms.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Faubourg Montreal
Ranked #69 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Pretty good location , clean, but run down rooms.”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

The location of this hotel is quite good, right by China Town, and a short walk from Old Town of Montreal.
A combination of high prices in Montreal and the exchange rate meant we were looking for the budget end hotels. And Basically you get what you pay for.
The room we were given was quite large with huge closet and almost full size kitchen with large fridge and microwave. All perfectly clean but dated and run down.
We stayed 2 nights had a good time but the hotel needs a bit of a shake up. If you put a welcome carpet at the front entrance , for example, it would help if it was kept clean and free of cigarette butts at least. A scruffy front entrance doesn't make a very good impression.
The breakfast is the usual HIE affair, not a huge fan of paper plates, and hugely un ecofriendly.
Again perfectly ok for the price.
They do provide customer laundry facilities and parking is underground , which is a bit tight when busy.
It is a easy walk to old town and we found Plenty of places to eat and generally had a good time

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesleydcarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha L, Front Office Manager at Hotel Faubourg Montreal, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear guest, Thanks a lot for sharing with us your comments following your recent stay with us. We are really thrilled to read our services and location met all of your needs.

I agree that there are some rooms in need of attention and we have begun conducting preventative maintenance and will be going through renovations in the near future.

Thank you for staying with us, we hope you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    323
    240
    90
    51
See reviews for
217
237
73
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Came to Montreal for the night with my wife after a 5hr drive:

1. Arrived at 3.25pm (checkin starts at 3), told my room was not yet ready. Had to speak to a manager in order get a room.

2. Had to kill 3 spiders in the room

3. The phone in the bedroom did not work

4. The Wifi stopped working overnight, and in the morning despite 3 calls to reception, and being told it was working, it still did not work.

5. Don't get tricked by the free breakfast - not impressed at all

I would like to know why the receptionist asked me 'How was my stay?', as after I complained he said 'ok' and gave me my receipt.

Location is fine if you enjoy walking.

I would look elsewhere for my next trip to Montreal

Room Tip: Not Room 319 - spiders!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deethedee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha L, Front Office Manager at Hotel Faubourg Montreal, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write and post a review following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites.

I am sorry that we did not seem to have satisfied your needs during your visit. I apologise if the room was not cleaned up to our usually high standards and assure you that we normally obtain compliments regarding our cleanliness.

I sincerely apologize for the non reaction of the employee at your check-out, we definitely should of addressed your complaints further.

Again, I am sorry that your stay was not satisfactory and can only hope you will eventually return to see us again the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Montreal hotels

Richmond Hill, Ontario, Canada
1 review
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We have stayed here literally dozens of times when visiting Montreal. The location is OK (not paying for prime location!). The rooms are clean and comfortable. The staff is friendly and very accommodating. It is close to loads of things and you can drive the short distance, walk or take the public transport for the rest. I think that this is GREAT value for what you are getting. You want truly five star accommodation? Be prepared to pay through the nose in Montreal. Really. You want comfy, clean and accommodating at a reasonable price? THIS is the place for you. WE LOVE IT.

Room Tip: The rooms are all fine. We look for a good night of sleep and we have ALWAYS received exactly that a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murray L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha L, Front Office Manager at Hotel Faubourg Montreal, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write and post a review following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites.
Thank you so much for your great comments! We were very excited to read that you have enjoyed your recent stay with us! It is most encouraging to know and it makes us strive to always do better.
Please know that these positive comments you provided will be shared with the hotel personnel.
Thank you very much for your support. We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel dozens of times, and it's been on a slow decline. Our most recent stay was in a 2BR suite, largely because I had a gift certificate from them for a mixed up reservation the last time we stayed there, which made one night free.

The location is fine. It's a short walk to St. Catherine's really close to the Vieux Port, and between Rue St. Denis and St. Laurent.

It could be a great hotel -- the rooms are spacious (the building was originally designed as a condo), there is parking, and as I mentioned above, the location is fine. What's problematic are many of things that differentiate a good hotel from a mediocre hotel, and sadly the mediocrity of it is dragging down the entire guest experience.

The parking is difficult. Montreal has tight parking -- that's clear, but the hotel could make an effort to keep the drive aisles free so people can exit. People park in what is not clearly marked as a drive aisle, and I had to wiggle my way out of the garage.

The rooms are not well maintained. The bathroom in our suite smelled mouldy and funky. There wasn't a bath mat for the room the first night. One of the armchairs was, frankly, disgusting -- so much so, no one sat in it, the seat being stained in the most....well, I won't continue.

Because the hotel is relatively affordable, with large rooms it attracts the party crowd, looking for cheap per person accommodation, so there is the endless banging and slamming of doors sometime after the bar crowd heads back. A few times ago, the parties continued on in an adjacent room, with not a lot of interest in management to quell the problem.

Then there's staffing -- inexperienced for the most part, very nice, but not very effective. We were well before checkout time, and housekeeping staff knocked on our door, wondering when we were planning to vacate the room, so they could clean it. The hotel could be far better managed.

Then there are the breakfasts. Seriously something to skip.

These are all small things -- on the plus side, as I said -- it's inexpensive for the space you get, it's reasonably well located (other reviewers should note that every part of Montreal has a few dodgy buildings -- it's frankly part of the charm of the place), and the rooms are big.

If you're not expecting much, it's fine.

I, for one, probably won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephenM465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha L, Front Office Manager at Hotel Faubourg Montreal, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and providing a review of your recent visit. We try to read all of our guest reviews and look forward to your feedback, whether positive or constructive.

I am sorry that we did not seem to have satisfied your needs during your visit. I apologise if the room was not cleaned up to our usually high standards and assure you that we normally obtain compliments regarding our cleanliness.

I agree that there are some rooms in need of attention and we have begun conducting preventative maintenance and renovations are in our near future plans.

Again, I am sorry that your stay was not satisfactory and can only hope you will eventually return to see us again the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Had a seminar for 2 days in this hotel and decided to stay in the same location since I am from out of town.
Was surprised to hear they are pet friendly so brought my lab with me which was very enjoyable. The room was really big (was like a suite with a separate living room and a small kitchenet with full size fridge) . Would have stayed for a week no problem in this hotel.
Staff was really helpful and friendly.
Location could be better. Walking distance from China town and old Montréal so this is very enjoyable but also, walking distance (in back of hôtel) to all sex shops and strip clubs.
Basically , only chose which way to walk at night ! I am a single lady and did not feel threatened or scared. Just not the best neighborhood in Montréal

Room Tip: No restaurant on site (only do breakfast)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha L, Front Office Manager at Hotel Faubourg Montreal, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write and post a review following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites.

I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I agree with you that the street can be cleaned up more , I believe the city of Montreal is in the process of doing so.

Thank you for staying with us.

Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Habra
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

This HIExpress is not located in the best part of town; there were several sex shops n tattoo parlors close by n we had to walk past them to get closer to updown. Our room smelled like uriine and we asked that it be recleaned. There were no linens for the pull out couch. The breakfast room is quite small and we ended up going back up to our room to eat. We won't Be returning or recommending this hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DADouty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha L, Front Office Manager at Hotel Faubourg Montreal, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for providing us with a review following your recent stay. We welcome all of our guests to give us their impressions whether they are positive or constructive. These reviews are routinely shared with both our management and staff.
I am sorry that our services and location was not up to our normal standards.
I can only hope you will eventually return in order to have a more pleasurable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

This hotel was marvellous. Everyone should consider staying here for the Montreal Jazz Festival. It is within 5 minutes walking distance. We especially like the valet parking - we never had to use our car the entire time we were there - we just walked everywhere. Montreal is such a beautiful city.

The rooms were quiet and clean. Our requests for items were met very quickly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Curlygal2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha L, Front Office Manager at Hotel Faubourg Montreal, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write and post a review following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites.
Thank you so much for your great comments! We were very excited to read that you have enjoyed your recent stay with us! It is most encouraging to know and it makes us strive to always do better.
Please know that these positive comments you provided will be shared with the hotel personnel.
Thank you very much for your support. We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier des Spectacles
Candlewood Suites Montreal Centre-Ville
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Zero 1
Hotel Zero 1
#55 of 165 in Montreal
1,192 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Travelodge Montreal Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier des Spectacles
Best Western Plus Hotel Montreal
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Roberval
Le Roberval
#79 of 165 in Montreal
519 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
#81 of 165 in Montreal
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Faubourg Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Faubourg Montreal

Property: Hotel Faubourg Montreal
Address: 155 Rene Levesque Boulevard East, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3Z8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Faubourg Montreal 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Faubourg Montreal offers comfort & convenience. Whether you're visiting for business or leisure at the Hotel Faubourg Montreal in Montreal Centre-Ville, you're sure to enjoy your stay, as our lodging offers the comfort of a daily hot breakfast bar and the convenience of a location near numerous corporations and attractions in Montreal. Every guest room whether a Studio or a two room suite offers the convenience of a full size fridge and microwave. Perfect for those staying on business, our hotel in Montreal offers a well-equipped business centre, high-speed Internet and close proximity to Montreal Convention Center, Bombardier, CBC, Deloitte and Touche, Hydro Quebec, KPMG, SNC Lavalin, Complexe Desjardins and Guy Favreau, Place des Arts, UQAM & McGill University. Because we have a better location than most hotels, our Montreal, Canada lodging is the perfect place for families to stay during their vacation. We're situated near historic Old Montreal, Chinatown, Six Flags A La Ronde amusement park, Bell Centre, Grand Prix Du Canada, the Casino and many of Montreal's finest restaurants, museums and shopping. If you're looking for quality Montreal hotels & convenient services, then look no further. We are the perfectplace to stay no matter the reason that brings you to Montreal! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Faubourg Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Montreal Centre-Ville Hotel Montreal
Holiday Inn Montreal
Montreal Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing