We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free Breakfast, large rooms& great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Faubourg Montreal
Ranked #70 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Free Breakfast, large rooms& great location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

The single reason i choose this place was that the breakfast was free in comparison with all others at $100 to 125 band. The Breakfast did not disappoint but could have had more variety. The lobby is Ok with a small but clean and functional restaurant, it has an ATM too. The room is clean but decor is ordinary. The kitchenette is good, but you need to ask for plates & utensils, which i thought was dumb. The location though is outstanding. It is at a walk able distance from some metro stations, Notre-Dame Basilica, Ste-Catherine Street, Old Montreal, Gay village,St.Dennis street. Service is decent and the front desk guides really well.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floor facing the road is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sridhar72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha L, Front Office Manager at Hotel Faubourg Montreal, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write and post a review following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites.
Thank you so much for your great comments! We were very excited to read that you have enjoyed your recent stay with us! It is most encouraging to know and it makes us strive to always do better.
Please know that these positive comments you provided will be shared with the hotel personnel.

Thank you very much for your support. We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    298
    231
    85
    51
See reviews for
197
219
73
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were in town for the Canadian Sprint Canoe & Kayak Nationals and this is the hotel that our club's athletes stayed in. First of all I want to say that for the price we paid we were treated very well. The location was outstanding as we were only blocks away from a grocery store, China Town, Vieux-Montréal, Rue Ste. Catherine (known for it's many shopping and restaurant venues) and a Metro station (but you need to be mobile). When I arrived in our room I determined that the queen bed in the bedroom was against the elevator shaft. I immediately went down to reception where we were quickly relocated to another room. The new room, 822, was a corner room and had much more space in the living room area, had a separate bedroom, but had no dish washer (not really a problem as we were prepared thanks to Trip Advisor). The AC was not working in the bedroom and I went down to reception to speak with them about it. It was working within 20 minutes. I know that some other guests complained that there was no cutlery or dishes but there is a notice advising guests that these are available upon request. We asked at reception and they were provided right away. We also got some tips on places to eat at reception as well. All of this courtesy of Vinay at the front desk. His assistance moved our rating from average to very good. Thanks Vinay! Now, the parking was extra and did not accommodate our Thule box (fortunately that fits inside the vehicle), but it was underground and secure. The room itself was showing age and there were scuffs on the walls and some of the furniture was a little worn, but everything was clean! The shower was also really great! Some of the key card access terminals in common areas were missing or damaged and so security was not as tight as it could/should have been but there were no issues while we were there. The breakfast was included and was fine (I know that some reviewers either had a bad experience or were expecting something spectacular). There was fresh fruit, yogurt, Danish, coffee, tea, juices, bagels, English muffins, bread, a pancake maker, and some hot dishes (either an omelette or scrambled eggs and sausages or ham while we were there). For the price we paid you really couldn't ask for more. Thanks Holiday Inn Express!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murray M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha L, Front Office Manager at Hotel Faubourg Montreal, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write and post a review following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites.
Thank you so much for your great comments! We were very excited to read that you have enjoyed your recent stay with us! It is most encouraging to know and it makes us strive to always do better.
Please know that these positive comments you provided will be shared with the hotel personnel.
Thank you very much for your support. We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Higganum, Connecticut
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed here for a long weekend with my elderly in-laws. We had asked for their room to be close to the elevator as my Father in-law cannot walk long distances (side note we booked this trip back in April and requested this then as well. When we arrived his room was all the way at the end of the hallway...definitely not the closest. My brother in laws room had the ceiling fall down in the bathroom from water damage..When they asked to change rooms there were no vacancies. When they checked out they again mentioned the inconvenience and were only offered 15% of their parking which is $20 per night BTW. Not really great customer service. I just think this Hotel is poorly managed. On a good note...The rooms were clean and it was well located. The complimentary breakfast was great for us and My in-laws.

Room Tip: The rooms on the street side have alot of Traffic noise as this hotel is on a Major route of travel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mollyj8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha L, Front Office Manager at Hotel Faubourg Montreal, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and providing a review of your recent visit. We try to read all of our guest reviews and look forward to your feedback, whether positive or constructive.

I am sorry that you did not have a pleasant stay, and that our accommodations were not satisfactory. I assure you that the room you occupied was not the 'norm' of our hotel and that with our upcoming renovations we will address the issues you have mentioned. I can only hope you will return one day to enjoy a more positive experience.

Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
74 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

The hotel is located very close to the old city. You can walk to the heart of the entertainment in a few minutes. The room was good, nice decorated, clean and silent. However, I had several difficulties when arrived to hotel. The carparking is not free for hotel visitors. They forgot to prepare an extra bed in the room. The TV remote control, phone and some bulbs were not working in the room. I informed the hotel personnel immediately but nobody tried to fix them during my visit. The restaurant for breakfast is too small and very poor open buffet.

Room Tip: Confirm your booking on the phone before arriving to the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Birgi U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha L, Front Office Manager at Hotel Faubourg Montreal, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write and post a review following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites.
I am sorry that we did not seem to have satisfied your needs during your visit. I apologise if the room had some technical difficulties and that we didn't offer you any help, it is not up to our regular high standards.
Again, I am sorry that your stay was not satisfactory and can only hope you will eventually return to see us again the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stay here only one night. The staff was on strike and they fail to inform us.

The room has a terrible smell when we arrived on spite of being cleaned moments before (we checked in around 6 pm).

Being IHG member I was able to play for miles or discounts upon arrival, I got a 5 $ discount but they did not reduced from the bill anyway.

Breakfast was very standard to a motel stile, poor of choices and all with paper cups.

The room was decent and good size but the bathroom was terribly noisy and small.

The location was good if you want to be near the old town (we walked about 5 min) and also for the business district where I had a meeting in the morning where I also walked (about 15 min).

In the same building there is another hotel owned by the same company, same staff (on strike) and a bit cheaper.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aguerrero66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha L, Front Office Manager at Hotel Faubourg Montreal, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write and post a review following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites.
I sincerely apologize about the strike happening during your recent stay, but unfortunately management is never informed in advance, so we cannot advise guests either, especially when it lasts only a few hours like it did.
I am sorry that we did not seem to have satisfied your needs during your visit. I apologise if the room was not cleaned up to our usually high standards and assure you that we normally obtain compliments regarding our cleanliness.
Again, I am sorry that your stay was not satisfactory and can only hope you will eventually return to see us again the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights (family of four) in a suite which was large and included a kitchen area with fridge freezer and microwave. Large supermarket 5 mins walk from hotel. The hotel is very well located, with the old town and waterfront just ten minutes walk from the front of the hotel and St Catherine's St. just 2 minutes behind the hotel with hundreds of shops/ restaurants. Although the room was clean, we felt that the hotel was in need of a re-vamp/ decoration. Half way through our month's trip around Canada we were glad to be able to make use of the self serve guest laundry (washing machines and dryers)! Friendly and helpful staff.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank judeandmickh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha L, Front Office Manager at Hotel Faubourg Montreal, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear guest, Thanks a lot for sharing with us your comments following your recent stay with us. We are really thrilled to read our services and location met all of your needs.
Thank you very much for your support. We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

My girlfriend and I were in Montreal for the Reggae Festival for a 3 night stay and upon our arrival we were treated as though we were unwelcome to stay at this hotel. My girlfriend was asked to provide ID in the hallway because the staff did not believe she was a quest at this hotel.Also, we had issues with getting correct information as we were time sensitive to get to our terminal for our return trip home.

This was the most embarrassing experience I have ever experienced in a Holiday Inn. This was our first experience in Montreal and if this hotel treats people the way we were treated it leaves a bad reputation for a return visit to this city.

Never, ever ever, ever, ever will I stay at this location again. The front desk staff were not respectable, Our next visit to Montreal will be reflective of this situation and will be happy to stay at another hotel, shame shame shame.

Room Tip: Go to another chain
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norm J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha L, Front Office Manager at Hotel Faubourg Montreal, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write and post a review following your recent stay. We enjoy hearing from our guests and obtaining their opinions and perspectives.

I am sorry that you feel we did not deliver the quality or service you had expected. I am sorry you disliked that we asked ID to your girlfriend, but we always ask ID to guests if they need a new key or if they need their door opened, its for the security of every guest. I wish we could have a little more detail, however, we obviously respect your opinion and can only hope you will return one day to enjoy a more positive experience.

We are commited to serving our guests to the best of our abilities.

Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Montreal hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
#72 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Zero 1
Hotel Zero 1
#52 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,129 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel St-Denis
Hotel St-Denis
#48 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
#54 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Travelodge Montreal Centre
Quartier des Spectacles
Candlewood Suites Montreal Centre-Ville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Faubourg Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Faubourg Montreal

Property: Hotel Faubourg Montreal
Address: 155 Rene Levesque Boulevard East, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3Z8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Faubourg Montreal 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Faubourg Montreal offers comfort & convenience. Whether you're visiting for business or leisure at the Hotel Faubourg Montreal in Montreal Centre-Ville, you're sure to enjoy your stay, as our lodging offers the comfort of a daily hot breakfast bar and the convenience of a location near numerous corporations and attractions in Montreal. Every guest room whether a Studio or a two room suite offers the convenience of a full size fridge and microwave. Perfect for those staying on business, our hotel in Montreal offers a well-equipped business centre, high-speed Internet and close proximity to Montreal Convention Center, Bombardier, CBC, Deloitte and Touche, Hydro Quebec, KPMG, SNC Lavalin, Complexe Desjardins and Guy Favreau, Place des Arts, UQAM & McGill University. Because we have a better location than most hotels, our Montreal, Canada lodging is the perfect place for families to stay during their vacation. We're situated near historic Old Montreal, Chinatown, Six Flags A La Ronde amusement park, Bell Centre, Grand Prix Du Canada, the Casino and many of Montreal's finest restaurants, museums and shopping. If you're looking for quality Montreal hotels & convenient services, then look no further. We are the perfectplace to stay no matter the reason that brings you to Montreal! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Faubourg Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Montreal Centre-Ville Hotel Montreal
Holiday Inn Montreal
Montreal Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing