We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't understand how Holiday Inn put their name on this hotel...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Faubourg Montreal
Ranked #70 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Shippagan
1 review
“Don't understand how Holiday Inn put their name on this hotel...”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Chipped countertop was the first thing I saw, but hey, it happens... then the 'den' area carpet was dirty, had not been vacuumed, had piesces of stuff on it. Office chair arms foam was all 'eaten' up. And to finish, the tv would not come up.
That was it, no more. We wend to the front desk and asked to cancel the reservation. Called another hotel and moved out right away.
Would definitely not recommend to anyone!

Room Tip: Get a room somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KwazyFwog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Faubourg Montreal, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear KwazyFwog,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn Express around. It sounds like we fell below your expectations on cleanliness and the furniture. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    308
    233
    87
    51
See reviews for
202
226
73
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Got a good price on a suite at Travelocity. Plenty of room to relax.

Kitchenette is a money saver with a well-stocked IGA food store 4 blocks away, especially as nearby restaurants ask premium prices for average food and service.

Hot breakfast included, very satisfactory.

Easy walk to Old Town, 4 blocks to Metro. Parking garage in the building is handy, but $18/day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wahoovian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Hope, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Good hotel for a budget line, the rooms were huge for the price and I can see how it would appeal to someone travelling with a family. Location was fantastic and the staff was really friendly. To improve I think they could do a bit better job on the more deep cleaning items, the beds and bathrooms were cleaned daily but the carpets were stained and the walls had marks on them. Just a few minor details that could easily be fixed

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ian422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Location is awesome, 10 min walk to old city, 10 min walk to down town. Do not take St Kathryn street to get in to down town at night, not so family friendly at night on this street. other wise area is great.

Hotel staff knows some english, but they are very helpful. bath tun on our first room had some rus spots and they changed our room immediately no questions asked.

Breakfast was good quality and quantity we enjoyed it
Parking is safe and secure
Room was great, full refrigerator and dishwasher, with sink and utensils awesome, my kids love their home made stuff and we carry their rations.

Over all excellent stay, will visit them again

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ahmer Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
121 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

The rooms are big and this is just ok no luxury at all just ok to stay in Downtown Montreal you are cloose to everything in walking distances Old port ,gai town,china town and all the festival area .Super markets and shooping also cloose ..
Staff helpfull .Breakfast is verry crowded .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GIPSY201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevis, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Conveniently located on Rene Levesque Boulevard. Close to Old Montreal, Les Beaux Arts, 2 Metro Lines and the airport shuttle. Desk staff were great and gave accurate information. The hotel seems to be suffering a bit from a lack of maintenance.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

This is a hotel that grows on you. We had a 1 bedroom suite. King in the bedroom and a pullout in the living room. I went with my wife and two kids (8 and 5).

When we got there, I was really annoyed that there was an air conditioner in the living area but not in the bedroom. It was very warm in the bedroom. When I complained, they indicated that they did not have any fans, this was the way the hotel was, and they could give compensation back but not that day because they were fully booked.It took about 6 - 8 hours for the entire suite to finally cool down. Once it was cool the temperature was fine.

The room itself is fairly run down. Bedding was okay, but everything else was generally run down.

The surrounding areas of the hotel are fairly seedy. I did not feel safe walking at night with my family. During the day, however, it is fine. It is in a great location! It was about 4 - 5 blocks walking distance to Old Montreal. First day we were there we walked everywhere - Old Montreal, Notre Dame, The Pier, St. Catherines, etc. Hotel was convenient to everything.

The complimentary breakfast was very good. Very large selection of hot and cold foods everyday.

Would I stay again? Not sure. I kept looking for a better hotel but all were either booked or more money. I finally gave up and decided to enjoy the hotel. Never really enjoyed it, but at the end didn't feel it was "all that bad".

Room Tip: Not sure. Sorry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NJeMktingGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Faubourg Montreal, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear NJeMktingGuy,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn Express around. We appreciate your nice comment regarding breakfast and the bedding.

However, It sounds like we fell below your expectations especially on the lack of air conditioning in the room and some dated amenities. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Travelodge Montreal Centre
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Zero 1
Hotel Zero 1
#54 of 164 in Montreal
1,158 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Candlewood Suites Montreal Centre-Ville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
#76 of 164 in Montreal
566 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel St-Denis
Hotel St-Denis
#44 of 164 in Montreal
666 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
#53 of 164 in Montreal
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Faubourg Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Faubourg Montreal

Property: Hotel Faubourg Montreal
Address: 155 Rene Levesque Boulevard East, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3Z8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Faubourg Montreal 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Faubourg Montreal offers comfort & convenience. Whether you're visiting for business or leisure at the Hotel Faubourg Montreal in Montreal Centre-Ville, you're sure to enjoy your stay, as our lodging offers the comfort of a daily hot breakfast bar and the convenience of a location near numerous corporations and attractions in Montreal. Every guest room whether a Studio or a two room suite offers the convenience of a full size fridge and microwave. Perfect for those staying on business, our hotel in Montreal offers a well-equipped business centre, high-speed Internet and close proximity to Montreal Convention Center, Bombardier, CBC, Deloitte and Touche, Hydro Quebec, KPMG, SNC Lavalin, Complexe Desjardins and Guy Favreau, Place des Arts, UQAM & McGill University. Because we have a better location than most hotels, our Montreal, Canada lodging is the perfect place for families to stay during their vacation. We're situated near historic Old Montreal, Chinatown, Six Flags A La Ronde amusement park, Bell Centre, Grand Prix Du Canada, the Casino and many of Montreal's finest restaurants, museums and shopping. If you're looking for quality Montreal hotels & convenient services, then look no further. We are the perfectplace to stay no matter the reason that brings you to Montreal! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Faubourg Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Montreal Centre-Ville Hotel Montreal
Holiday Inn Montreal
Montreal Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing