We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'd definitely go back!”
Review of LHotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
LHotel
Ranked #19 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2007

This was an extremely well-located hotel. We were there during the Montreal Jazz Festival and could walk to it as well as to everywhere in the entire Old Town and it's also close to the subway. The staff was friendly, rooms very nice, and breakfast very good. There really wasn't anything to complain about.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank Acemom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,261)
There are newer reviews for LHotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,055 - 1,061 of 1,261 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2007

Stayed at the Hotel Xixe Siecle on our honeymoon trip through
Canada. We arrived on a weekend. I booked the trip through
Expedia.com. On arrival, it took about 2 hours to check-in because
our room wasn't ready and there was a big line because there
were a lot of guests checking in for a wedding party.
After our long wait, they put us in what seemed like a 10 foot by
10 foot box of a room that was extremely small. Additionally,
in the room next door, there was a baby crying which we could
hear very easily through the paper thin walls. When I called the
front desk to ask if we could change rooms, they informed us that
all the rooms had been booked for the wedding party.
The paint was chipping in the room. The LCD flat screen tv
was probably a 17 inch tv.
The front desk was snooty and not friendly. Out of 6 hotels with only 3 star ratings, and this being rated 4 starts, this is the worst of the Montreal hotels that I have been to. The others being Sheraton, Wyndam, Renaissance, Hilton, etc all much nicer.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank emailbox02116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2007

This is a good hotel, in a beautiful building. The first thing to note is that there are quite a few stairs to get into the lobby, but there are members of staff waiting to help when you arrive.

The receptionist were all very helpful, especially the lady who helped us book tickets to an exhibition using her personal email account.

The rooms are very nice, clean and spacious. The breakfast is very good, with lovely fresh breads, fruit and cheeses. The hotel is well located between the old town and major shopping areas.

The only criticism I have is the laundry - they dry clean everything even if you only want it laundered and then charge you for it. I got caught out badly here and the management were not willing to make any reduction to the charges even though I had clearly written on the laundry sheet that I did not want dry cleaning, as instructed to do by the reception staff.

Montreal is generally overpriced compared to other cities in Canada and this experienced just added to our feeling of being ripped off once again.

Overall a good hotel in a nice location.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank LondonTravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2007

My wife and I just stayed at this hotel for our 25'th Wedding Anniversary. The lobby was gorgeous, the staff could not have been nicer, the continental breakfast was great (especially the croissants and the fresh fruit cup) and the location was in the middle of everything in Old Montreal. The room and the bathroom are on the small side, but the bed was extremely comfortable. There is so much to do in Montreal we were hardly in our room at all anyway. We would stay there again anytime.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank voyagerfromPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2007

We just arrived home from Hotel XIX and have already decided that when we return to Montreal we will stay there again. The Hotel is perfectly located between Old Montreal and downtown and when the weather is nice, you can walk everywhere. The staff was incredibly friendly, helpful and were a pleasure to deal with. Happy hour is from 5-8, at their quiet bar, and the "two for one" drinks were unbeatable. Our superior room was very large, nicely decorated and was immaculate.

We had the most amazing stay and are looking forward to our return.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2007

My spouse and I have stayed at Hotel Xixe Siecle three times in the past couple of years. Several things keep us coming back:
(1) Proximity to Old Montreal. It's in the heart of Old Montreal and just a couple of blocks from the Quay.
(2) Prices are some of the lowest in Old Montreal. If you look around (not only on their website!) you'll find prices far below the stated average. We paid $135 during the latter part of May, during the Cirque du Soleil run.
(3) Well-kept rooms and friendly, helpful staff. Arriving late in the afternoon the last time we stayed, the Front Desk staff called several different restaurants to get us a reservation for that evening. If you've ever been to Old Montreal, you'll know that it's sometimes impossible to get into some of the more 'popular' places....but not for us!
By the way, be sure to take their valet parking - finding a parking spot in Old Montreal at ANY time is difficult!

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nordi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2007

Another excellent hotel stay, thanks to the many TAers who reviews this hotel--thanks! Got a great deal at the AARP travel web site. Huge room. Excellent air conditioning during a very hot week in Montreal. Great location in Old Montreal. Very cordial, helpful staff. Excellent value, too. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank frank56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#7 of 165 in Montreal
2,385 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#6 of 165 in Montreal
2,178 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 165 in Montreal
2,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#2 of 165 in Montreal
1,356 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#3 of 165 in Montreal
1,072 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#8 of 165 in Montreal
1,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LHotel

Address: 262 St Jacques West, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1N1, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#13 Family Hotel in Montreal
#14 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#33 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: $166 - $419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — LHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DARE TO BE ORIGINAL! More than just a hotel, this landmark historic renovated bank is now home to one of the most impressive private art collections in North America on permanent display both in the public spaces as well as our guest rooms and suites. Over 120 Contemporary and Pop artworks feature Litchenstein, Warhol, Miro, Chagall and Botero to name a few. Furthermore, this artful and creative experience extends well beyond the hotel thanks to our Cultural Curator. Elegant, spacious and eclectic, our 56 rooms and suites feature lofty ceilings with large windows, spacious work areas, and luxurious bathrooms and exquisite furnishings. Enjoy daily breakfast served in the privacy of your guestroom or in the Winter Garden Dining Room. Our Botero Wine Bar features private imports by the glass, specially chosen to provide unforgettable tasting experience. Sam Francis Gym, massage room, business center and conference rooms and complimentary WiFi will help make your business or leisure travels unique and memorable. Where else can you have breakfast with Warhol, drinks with Botero and sleep with Litchenstein? Yes, all of our suites and junior suites have original works by world renowned artists! The rooms are memorable but the experience is unforgettable! LHotel is located in the heart of Old Montreal, just steps from the Business District, the Montreal Convention Center, the Old Port and trendy McGill Street. Historic, Artful, Urban. We're more than just a hotel- we're LHotel Montreal...Dare to be original... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your LHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Hotel Montreal
Xixe Siecle Hotel
Xixe Siecle Montreal
Hotel Xix Siecle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing