We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay!”
Review of LHotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
LHotel
Ranked #19 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2007

We just arrived home from Hotel XIX and have already decided that when we return to Montreal we will stay there again. The Hotel is perfectly located between Old Montreal and downtown and when the weather is nice, you can walk everywhere. The staff was incredibly friendly, helpful and were a pleasure to deal with. Happy hour is from 5-8, at their quiet bar, and the "two for one" drinks were unbeatable. Our superior room was very large, nicely decorated and was immaculate.

We had the most amazing stay and are looking forward to our return.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,299)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,094 - 1,100 of 1,299 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2007

My spouse and I have stayed at Hotel Xixe Siecle three times in the past couple of years. Several things keep us coming back:
(1) Proximity to Old Montreal. It's in the heart of Old Montreal and just a couple of blocks from the Quay.
(2) Prices are some of the lowest in Old Montreal. If you look around (not only on their website!) you'll find prices far below the stated average. We paid $135 during the latter part of May, during the Cirque du Soleil run.
(3) Well-kept rooms and friendly, helpful staff. Arriving late in the afternoon the last time we stayed, the Front Desk staff called several different restaurants to get us a reservation for that evening. If you've ever been to Old Montreal, you'll know that it's sometimes impossible to get into some of the more 'popular' places....but not for us!
By the way, be sure to take their valet parking - finding a parking spot in Old Montreal at ANY time is difficult!

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nordi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2007

Another excellent hotel stay, thanks to the many TAers who reviews this hotel--thanks! Got a great deal at the AARP travel web site. Huge room. Excellent air conditioning during a very hot week in Montreal. Great location in Old Montreal. Very cordial, helpful staff. Excellent value, too. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank frank56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2007

A very nice stay. We knew what we were getting in a Boutique Hotel in a converted bank and we were pleased with what we got. The room was clean and nicely decorated. The staff were helpful and pleasant. The food served for breakfast was amazing (we ate there every day).

Yes there is no mini bar or fridge in the room. And no there is no restaurant open for lunch or dinner. If you are looking for these thing, look somewhere else. If you want an elegant hotel in a great location, stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank wtyoung16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2007

We really loved the rooms and the staff, who were friendly and helpful. Due to limited availability for the three days we stayed in Montreal, we stayed in two different rooms (one a suite #416, the other a more standard room #412).

Other reviews knocked the breakfast buffet, which was included in our room rate for the suite, but it was pretty good for being "free." On the day we did not eat the buffet, we tried Eggspectations, which is one block away and has great and extensive breakfast options. For those who love fruit in the morning, the $7.99 fruit plate was fantastic. It was the dead of winter but the plate included mango, papaya, blueberries, strawberries, apples, grapes, bananas and kiwi. The crepes and California eggs benedict were very tasty. Bonaparte, located about three blocks away, was excellent for dinner. Try the mushroom raviolis!!

The hotel location was great, within short walking distance to the metro, restaurants and Basilique Notre Dame. It also was within walking distance of the shops on rue St. Catherine.

This definitely is not a full service hotel--no restaurant for lunch or dinner, and not a lot of staff. For example, the bellboy is also the bartender. But he was a good bartender and was quick with our bags upon check-in and out. That's what you should expect at a boutique hotel. It's the charm, cozy setting and friendly feel that sells this hotel.

Stayed: February 2007
7  Thank brewgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2007

I travelled to Boston, New York, QC, Toronto, and this hotel in Montreal was my favourite. The people were helpful and friendly. There was a problem with my air con so straight away they moved me to a new room with no fuss.

Brilliant hotel and so happy I stayed here. The location is also perfect.

Thanks!!!!

p.s. breaky was the best

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Rebel_Explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2007

This is a nice hotel in the Old Port part of Montreal. Rooms are nice, everything is very clean, breakfast (included in some room rates) is rather good, valet parking is convenient (included in some room rates). Service is friendly (wiill help with restaurant bookings, etc).

Have stayed there several time and will happily stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#7 of 165 in Montreal
2,478 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#3 of 165 in Montreal
1,108 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#6 of 165 in Montreal
2,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 165 in Montreal
2,064 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#9 of 165 in Montreal
1,774 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#2 of 165 in Montreal
1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LHotel

Address: 262 St Jacques West, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1N1, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Montreal
#11 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#14 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#33 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: $146 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — LHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DARE TO BE ORIGINAL! More than just a hotel, this landmark historic renovated bank is now home to one of the most impressive private art collections in North America on permanent display both in the public spaces as well as our guest rooms and suites. Over 120 Contemporary and Pop artworks feature Litchenstein, Warhol, Miro, Chagall and Botero to name a few. Furthermore, this artful and creative experience extends well beyond the hotel thanks to our Cultural Curator. Elegant, spacious and eclectic, our 56 rooms and suites feature lofty ceilings with large windows, spacious work areas, and luxurious bathrooms and exquisite furnishings. Enjoy daily breakfast served in the privacy of your guestroom or in the Winter Garden Dining Room. Our Botero Wine Bar features private imports by the glass, specially chosen to provide unforgettable tasting experience. Sam Francis Gym, massage room, business center and conference rooms and complimentary WiFi will help make your business or leisure travels unique and memorable. Where else can you have breakfast with Warhol, drinks with Botero and sleep with Litchenstein? Yes, all of our suites and junior suites have original works by world renowned artists! The rooms are memorable but the experience is unforgettable! LHotel is located in the heart of Old Montreal, just steps from the Business District, the Montreal Convention Center, the Old Port and trendy McGill Street. Historic, Artful, Urban. We're more than just a hotel- we're LHotel Montreal...Dare to be original... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your LHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Hotel Montreal
Xixe Siecle Hotel
Xixe Siecle Montreal
Hotel Xix Siecle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing