We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Hotel”
Review of LHotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
LHotel
Ranked #20 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Unique Hotel”
Reviewed October 23, 2010

What a surprise we had when we arrived at L'Hotel! The reception area which incorporates a lovely little bar is truly amazing. The Hotel is full of unusual modern art pieces and the overall effect is unique and interesting. Our room was large with two double beds and plenty of room to move around, however the bathroom was tiny . The staff were unfailingly polite and helpful and the buffet breakfast was lovely. The location is great, close to Old Montreal and walking distance to the Notre Dame Basilica and the Old Port area. The only drawback for us, was that the location of our room was on ground level near the street and we did get some noise from passersby - but that was not excessive, just noticeable. We would stay at L'Hotel again in a heartbeat and would recommend it to anyone visiting Montreal.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cazbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
r_champoux, Receptionist at LHotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2010
We thank you so much for you comments and opinions. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    749
    338
    96
    21
    9
See reviews for
206
603
60
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 18, 2010

my husband and i spent 3 nights here during our recent honeymoon in canada. I chose the hotel some months ago before i realised that it had undergone the modern changes. I think i would have preferred it without all the modern art but that is because i like the classic style. The rooms were very clean and attractive and the staff were extremely helpful and polite. I did feel that perhaps there wasn't a great soul to the hotel but i suppose it is early days for it in it's new form. The location was great, our room rate didn't include breakfast, in retrospect i regret not going for the B&B rate. I did enjoy our stay but it did come at a price! (another tip for tourists in montreal - don't go to the sound and light show at the basilica it is dire!!)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tlivo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 12, 2010

I moved to L'Hotel for one night after five nights at Le St. Sulpice ( which was full on the Saturday night). I loved the art collection at this hotel. Damien Hirst, Jim Dine, Rosenquist, Sam Francis, Rauschenberg - a truly great representation of some of my favorite American and British artists - and the art adds a whimsical touch to the hotel that I enjoyed. I didn't check out the other floors, but I'll come back to do that on our next trip. Our room was pretty small, but very comfortable and pretty. My favorite thing about the hotel was the breakfast room - a beautifully appointed and elegant room with a great breakfast complete with Montreal bagels (yum!), croissants, fresh fruit, some amazing almond cookies, yogurt etc. The staff working the breakfast worked incredibly hard and were very warm and helpful. The front staff team were great too - not as professional or as experienced as the staff at my first hotel, but they certainly were friendly. The one comment I would make is that our room had a bit of a musty smell - but I was told that they may be renovating the rooms in the near future (and they did have candles for sale in the lobby). I would certainly go back, but would probably splurge for a suite or a larger room. It would be great if the hotel had a restaurant that served lunch and or dinner in addition to breakfast (and my husband is a divine chef who'd love to take on the task!). Definitely a hotel I'd recommend as it's in a great location, has a fun vibe, and is very comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leeleefille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2010

Stayed 2 nights here and loved it. It's a unique hotel with great artwork, rooms were very spacious, helpful and friendly staff and great location. Just a stone's throw from Old Montreal and a short cab ride from everything else.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonRomey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2010

Newly renovated hotel. Staff were excellent, rooms comfortable. Breakfast in the dining room was also excellent. Loction was perfect, could walk into old Montreal as well as walk up into the fashion district. A short stroll to wonderful Montreal restraunts. Would highly recommend this hotel for a quiet and romantic getaway. One of the staff even went to a restraunt himself to change our reservations- what service !!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BryonJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.E. Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2010

We ended up here on a Frommer's Guide recommendation and could not have been happier. This hotel have everything we could have wanted; large, comfortable rooms with outrageously high ceilings; an elegant lobby; very helpful staff; and a great location, close to the Old City, many historic sites and two metro stops. It also had something I've never seen in any other hotel--a collection of museum-quality contemporary art. As a former art museum curator and art lover, I was amazed to find the lobby and halls filled with major works by artists such as Andy Warhol, Jasper Johns and Roy Lichtenstein. I was told that this is the hotel owner's own collection. This may not be as thrilling to everyone as it was to me, but I've never found anything else like it outside of a museum.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wenken61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2010

We stayed here recently for our first trip to Montreal. From reading guidebooks about the city, we decided we wanted to stay in Old Montreal or Plateau section of town. We picked this hotel because of its kitchsy vibe and location, as well as reasonable rates for a four star hotel.

First of all, the basics. The hotel and rooms are extremely clean and well kept. Our room was a bit dark, but that didn't bother us much. Also, the lobby and halls are lined with valubale and interesting works of modern art. This may not appeal to everybody, but for us it was really cool to sleep with an original Roy Lichtenstien and Andy Warhol right outside your door. Furthermore, for a walking city, its in the perfect location. 5 minute walk to old montreal, 15 minutes to St. Catherine (main shopping district), and 25 min to Plateau. We were able to hit all the high points of the city, and amazing restaurants, without taking the car (except for a visit to Mount Royal, which definately requires a car).

Some negative points. Parking is ridiculous in that area of town, and the hotel charges $25 per day to use their valet. All they do is park the car in a garage down the street for you. The staff is polite, but not really super friendly or helpful. We learned to ignore their restaurant suggestions after a couple of days. Its better to ask a friendly local for recommendations, as the staff tends to send you to more touristy places. There is also a bar in the lobby, but after a week, my partner and I had no idea when it was open or how to order drinks. And finally, for the price we were charged, we weren't really impressed with the accomodations.

One note, there is a tobacco/convenience store half a block from the hotel, run by a Lebanese gentleman named Ibrahim. Super friendly and helpful, knowd exactly where to send your for a more local scene.

One word of advice. If you got to a bar or restaurant, avoid the mixed drinks. They are extremely overpriced and watered-down.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RIMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#9 of 164 in Montreal
2,113 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 164 in Montreal
1,960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 164 in Montreal
1,332 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#2 of 164 in Montreal
334 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#5 of 164 in Montreal
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LHotel

Property: LHotel
Address: 262 St Jacques West, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1N1, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#13 Family Hotel in Montreal
#15 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#33 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — LHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DARE TO BE ORIGINAL! More than just a hotel, this landmark historic renovated bank is now home to one of the most impressive private art collections in North America on permanent display both in the public spaces as well as our guest rooms and suites. Over 120 Contemporary and Pop artworks feature Litchenstein, Warhol, Miro, Chagall and Botero to name a few. Furthermore, this artful and creative experience extends well beyond the hotel thanks to our Cultural Curator. Elegant, spacious and eclectic, our 56 rooms and suites feature lofty ceilings with large windows, spacious work areas, and luxurious bathrooms and exquisite furnishings. Enjoy daily breakfast served in the privacy of your guestroom or in the Winter Garden Dining Room. Our Botero Wine Bar features private imports by the glass, specially chosen to provide unforgettable tasting experience. Sam Francis Gym, massage room, business center and conference rooms and complimentary WiFi will help make your business or leisure travels unique and memorable. Where else can you have breakfast with Warhol, drinks with Botero and sleep with Litchenstein? Yes, all of our suites and junior suites have original works by world renowned artists! The rooms are memorable but the experience is unforgettable! LHotel is located in the heart of Old Montreal, just steps from the Business District, the Montreal Convention Center, the Old Port and trendy McGill Street. Historic, Artful, Urban. We're more than just a hotel- we're LHotel Montreal...Dare to be original... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your LHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Hotel Montreal
Xixe Siecle Hotel
Xixe Siecle Montreal
Hotel Xix Siecle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing