We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not as charming as I expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of LHotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
LHotel
Ranked #19 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Not as charming as I expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2005

This hotel is in the beautiful old part of Montreal. The room was large and clean however I felt as did another reviewer that the hotel lacked atmosphere. Also there was no free wi fi in the rooms as in most other hotels in canada or free local calls for that matter, no mini bar, no tea and coffee making factlities although the concierge did bring us complimentary coffee when I asked about this. We found the room very noisey and would recommend you do not overlook the street although interior banging doors are also real problem. The hotel was well priced but i do not think I would return, I think we had been spoiled by paying less for a lot more in Toronto.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tixilix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    730
    326
    93
    20
    9
See reviews for
197
588
57
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2005

This hotel was just about perfect. The room was decorated in an attractive manner, the bathroom was large and modern, the climate control worked great, and most important, the bed was very comfortable and the hotel was very quiet. Additionally, the rooms were huge, and the staff excellent. The rates were quite reasonable in comparison to other 4* properties in Montreal. The only thing I could quibble about was that there was not really a good reading light in the room near the bed (only a lamp on a bedsize table which really didn't focus very well), but a lot of hotels have that problem and don't think hotel guests ever want to read in bed. There wasn't a minibar in the room, either, which sort of surprised me given the level of hotel and the fact that there was more than enough room for one. I wasn't staying there long enough that I cared that much, but I might have liked to put a few cold drinks in one if I were staying longer. This is a good location for the Old Quarter, and there are plenty of restaurants within walking distance for a few days, but after a while, it could be more convenient to be closer to a metro station, also. Someone else said Place Victoria was closest and only a couple blocks, but my impression was that place d'Armes was the closest and much farther than that (and down a hill). It's fine if you only want to come/go once a day or so from other areas by metro.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ChristinaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2005

I chose this hotel on the strength of the other reviews I found on tripadvisor. Hotel has a good location, but I found our room to be fairly basic. It was very spacious though. Staff were friendly and helpful. I don't know what it was... I just felt it lacked atmosphere??

Overall, good but not outstanding

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KR2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2005

The hotel had huge rooms that were very clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful and their breakfasts were wonderful!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamieTpants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2005

I stayed for 6 nights in July. The service was very efficient, friendly and helpful. The room was a delight. Nicely decorated and very spacious. The fixtures and fittings alll were of high quality and new.

The bar area was quite pleasant, and staff made every effort to make it more so, by providing snacks and lighting candles. However, it was not the sort of bar you would want to stay in for long, and indeed most people left after a brief while - no doubt to explore retaurants and bars in the Downtown and Vieux Montreal areas.

Breakfast was lovely; generous and very tasty. The various fruits in particular were excellent.

I would stay here again. The subway was nearby and allowed easy access to anywere you wanted to go. Alternatively, there were some very good restaurants and bars within short walking distance, in an interesting part of the city too. There was also the main tourist attraction of the beautiful cathedral just a minute away.

  • Stayed July 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmira, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2005

We stayed here for our Anniversary week end. The property was well decorated in a quassai 20's style.

The Room;
Very clean, good sized room with a very comfortable bed.
Tall ceilings with windows to match.
Bath was new and the toiletries great. My only complaint is the hand held showerhead. These things are truly hand-held. There is no option of mounting it so you can wash your hair. I hate these things. After several weeks of this kind of showerhead in South East Asia and Europe, I hoped I would never see one again. Alas, the hotel Siecle had them. Aside from this little thing, I had no other complaints about the bathroom. The towels were exceptionally large and fluffy. The room was very clean and comfortable. For those who smoke, the 3rd floor of the hotel Siecle is their smoking floor. Much to our delight there was no odor. This is the only hotel in Old Montreal that allows smoking.

Staff:
The staff was always courteous even when they were very busy. We felt pampered and well taken care of for the 3 days we were there. Directions were always given with a smile, a highlighted map, and in perfect English.

Parking:
Valet parking is about $20 (Canadian) per day and well worth it. Those who travel know that paying extra for parking in any downtown metropolitan area is to be expected. The valet was always prompt and courteous. The car was never left unattended in front of the hotel with the keys in it. If for some reason cars were double parked, he would stand street-side and direct traffic.

Location:
Great location a couple of blocks from Rue St Paul where most of the "action" is. Close enough to walk, yet far enough for a good night's quiet sleep while still being in Old Montreal.

Warning on driving to the hotel. This has nothing to do with Hotel Siecle, and everything to do with Old Montreal:
Old Montreal is full of one-way streets. They do not alternate direction. This is not laid out with a semblance of logic like Manhattan or Philly. Rue St. Jacques (the street the hotel is located on) is a one way heading toward the hotel from RT 20. Suddenly the street becomes a one way going in the opposite direction. Turn left!!! If you turn right you will end up on another highway going gawd knows where. This is only your first obstacle.

Between the one ways that don't alternate direction, horrid street signs and road construction, it took us a min of 1-1/2 hours to find the hotel in a 6 block radius every time we tried to get back to it. Many of the street signs are posted on buildings (not on a corner like in the US) and nearly impossible to see at night. Rue St. Jacques had no sign anywhere (that we could find) on the corner we need to turn on to find the hotel. All the street signs in Old Montreal are in small decorative French script that adds to the frustration. Some traffic lights were really odd. For example; the red light is lit solid, while the green light flashes. No arrows. I have no clue what this signifies. Bottom line; get a really good detailed map and several sets of directions before you go. With a good detailed map, navigating old Montreal would have much easier for us.

Summary:
If you can find it, Hotel Siecle is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank PrivyChamber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#13 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,879 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#7 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#8 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LHotel

Property: LHotel
Address: 262 St Jacques West, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1N1, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#13 Family Hotel in Montreal
#14 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#33 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — LHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DARE TO BE ORIGINAL! More than just a hotel, this landmark historic renovated bank is now home to one of the most impressive private art collections in North America on permanent display both in the public spaces as well as our guest rooms and suites. Over 120 Contemporary and Pop artworks feature Litchenstein, Warhol, Miro, Chagall and Botero to name a few. Furthermore, this artful and creative experience extends well beyond the hotel thanks to our Cultural Curator. Elegant, spacious and eclectic, our 56 rooms and suites feature lofty ceilings with large windows, spacious work areas, and luxurious bathrooms and exquisite furnishings. Enjoy daily breakfast served in the privacy of your guestroom or in the Winter Garden Dining Room. Our Botero Wine Bar features private imports by the glass, specially chosen to provide unforgettable tasting experience. Sam Francis Gym, massage room, business center and conference rooms and complimentary WiFi will help make your business or leisure travels unique and memorable. Where else can you have breakfast with Warhol, drinks with Botero and sleep with Litchenstein? Yes, all of our suites and junior suites have original works by world renowned artists! The rooms are memorable but the experience is unforgettable! LHotel is located in the heart of Old Montreal, just steps from the Business District, the Montreal Convention Center, the Old Port and trendy McGill Street. Historic, Artful, Urban. We're more than just a hotel- we're LHotel Montreal...Dare to be original... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TravelClick, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your LHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Hotel Montreal
Xixe Siecle Hotel
Xixe Siecle Montreal
Hotel Xix Siecle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing