We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Look no further” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of LHotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
LHotel
Ranked #18 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Look no further”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

This is a fabulous boutique hotel near Place D'Armes, well located for all sights. We had a premier room which was very spacious. The bed was extremely comfortable and, best of all, the room was incredibly quiet. It seemed well insulated from both internal and external noise.

The rooms come with a fabulous little coffee maker and a small fridge. Air conditioning rattled at times but overall was very efficient.

Breakfast was included in the price. This was a continental buffet which didn't really change from day to day but offered a decent range of food. Best croissants outside of Paris!

Desk staff were friendly and helpful.

Highly recommended.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Alfi_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro G, General Manager at LHotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Dear Alfi_NZ,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write great thoughts on your recent stay.

We allow ourselves to put amenities in your rooms to make your stay even more enjoyable. The room should be a place to rest and the lack of noise is very important. We are glad you shared with us the air conditioning disturbance because, although maybe minimal, we want to look into the problem and fix it as soon as possible.

We appreciate when our guest indulge in our daily fresh Continental Buffet Breakfast. Since we use fresh and local products of the season, it might sometimes be very similar on a day to day basis.

We hope you can come back to enjoy more of freshly baked croissants!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    727
    320
    91
    19
    9
See reviews for
193
586
57
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Park, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights for our anniversary trip. It was a great location and the room was lovely! The staff was so helpful and friendly, and in my opinion went above and beyond to help us with all of our crazy questions. The area feels very safe and walking around at night is easy! Montreal was a great place to be and LHotel made it special for sure! Thanks to all of the staff.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tnkendrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro G, General Manager at LHotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Dear tnkendrick,

Thank you so much for your kind words and again, congratulations on your anniversary!
We know how special these occasions are and we do everything we can to fulfill your needs during your stay with us. If there’s anything we can do within or outside the walls of our hotel, be sure we will make it happen.

The city of Montreal is a very touristic area and we have many travelers during the year which makes it enjoyable to walk around at any time of the day.

On behalf of the Lhotel staff, we are pleased to have made your stay one of a kind, and hope to see you again soon!

Thank you for the 2 posted pictures! Really nice ones!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

This hotel is my new "Go-to" hotel in Montreal. I thought for sure that it was going to be a dive because of the low price: boy, was I wrong! Our room was spacious and GORGEOUS: nice, big bathroom, heavenly-comfortable bed, super quiet A/C. Staff very friendly. I will not hesitate to go back and will recommend this hotel to family and friends.

Room Tip: Room 202 was wonderful. Loved the decor. Nice and quiet, super comfy bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yowza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro G, General Manager at LHotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Dear Yowza,

Thank you very much for your words of appreciation!

We are delighted to know that we’ve earned your trust and you will be coming back in the future. We are glad the staff was able to answer all your needs during you recent stay. The team is also part of what makes your stay more pleasant. Be reassured that we will be consistent in our services. We hope you were able to enjoy the comfort of your room before heading out into the city.

We look forward to hosting you during your next leisure or business trip!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
131 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

This is a great hotel located in the middle of Old Montreal.
I highly recommend this hotel for business and family trips.

PROS:
-Great location, two blocks from Notre Dame Cathedral and close to Rue St. Paul
-Excellent service - very helpful and kind staff
-Great decor in lobby and rooms
-Nice bar in the lobby
-Large, very well furnished rooms with high ceilings
-Great breakfast in the morning (surcharge)
-Great bakery next door
-Luxury bathroom with shower and tub
-Very comfortable bed and luxury linens
-Valet parking only (surcharge)
-WiFi - excellent signal strength and included in room fee

CONS:
-none

I highly recommend this hotel. I will definitely return during my next visit to Montreal.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite for a grand experience of luxury
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveller187B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro G, General Manager at LHotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Dear traveler187B,

Thank you so much for your review on your last stay with us!

The list you made of pros and cons reflects exactly what we aim for. Being close to many of Montreal’s attractions, you can easily walk anywhere you desire making it a ‘’car-free’’ stay.

The amenities are in place to make your stay more pleasant as well as the owner’s amazing art collection displayed in the hotel. Maybe during your next stay you may also visit the ‘’new’’ part of Montreal, which includes the downtown district at a 15 minutes’ walk.

We hope to see you soon!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

Pros: very nice lobby with art everywhere. Excellent location on the outskirts of the old town, close but still peaceful. Really liked the breakfast, even if no hot items were included. Big room. Free wifi. Helpful staff.

Cons: decor in room and bathroom needs update. Wifi was slow.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 150annat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro G, General Manager at LHotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Anna T,

Thank you for this insightful review! You pros and cons breakdown is greatly appreciated.
We are glad you benefitted from our convenient location. The old district of our city certainly has an unforgettable charm. As an old building ourselves, we agree that we could benefit from a little updating. Thank you for drawing our attention to this matter.

We apologize for the wifi delays you experienced. We have recently increased the speed and megabits of our wifi, which we hope you will get to experience during your next stay with us.

Thank you for having chosen LHotel Montreal, we look forward to welcoming you back for another visit!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslett, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

The room was excellent, bed quite comfortable, full bathroom amenities down to the robe. The staff was helpful and pleasant (even when sam wasn't because of some timing issues). The location is unparalleled. Wish we would have stayed longer than a couple of nights; will do so next time.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank isdoja3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro G, General Manager at LHotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear isdoja3,

We would like to thank you for this well-said review! We are so glad you enjoyed what LHotel has to offer.

We most certainly agree that the location is ‘unparalleled’! It’s definitely worth that longer visit, where we will be sure to help occupy your days from morning till night.

We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, Michigan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

I booked this room because of the good reviews as well as the proximity to the Palais De Congres and Vieux Montreal. The room itself was very nice, with seemingly 20 Foot ceilings, comfortable bed and decent bathroom. (And for those that are gluten free there is a gluten free bakery next door that also makes gluten free grilled cheese panini)

The reason I do not give this a five is because when we arrived, we were told checkin was at 3. Okay, so we go to get something for lunch and it gets to 3pm, and our room is still not ready. The front desk doesn't actually seem to be doing anything to ensure the room is ready any time soon, and I had been up since 4am. Around 3:30pm the person that I assume is the manager gets involved. Ultimately, they gave us a different room. They were initially going to give us a room on the first floor, which I'm not a fan of having a room on the first floor, but gave us a room on the second. I find it strange that they seem rather set on giving someone a set room when they have other rooms to choose from. THEN, when we were leaving, we had them schedule transportation to the airport. The person at the desk when we asked to schedule it, said that we would be helped with our luggage down the stairs from the lobby, but no one helped. The staff there are flaky and inconsistent.

Room Tip: The wifi is painfully slow, do not stay here with the plan to be able to check the internet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EvilIncarnate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro G, General Manager at LHotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Evillncarnate,

I would firstly like to thank you for taking the time to recount your experience at LHotel. Though the disappointing reviews can be difficult to receive, we strive to see the beneficial value that they ultimately hold.

The frustrations you have experienced pose a serious concern for us. Despite our entire team’s efforts to provide quality and efficient service, we understand that, at times, it may fail to meet our guests’ full expectations. This is not something that we take lightly here at LHotel Montreal. Rest assured that the appropriate measures have already been instilled to ensure that the room assignment delays and lack of attentive service do not inconvenience our guests in the future. As our valued guests, we believe that you deserve a relaxing and accommodating stay while at LHotel. We sincerely thank you for providing us with the opportunity to improve and allowing us to reach our exceptional standards.

We hope to see you again soon, should you be willing to offer our team a chance to redeem themselves. You are sure to notice a difference!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#13 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,855 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#7 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
Quartier International
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#9 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LHotel

Property: LHotel
Address: 262 St Jacques West, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1N1, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#13 Family Hotel in Montreal
#15 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#33 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — LHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DARE TO BE ORIGINAL! More than just a hotel, this landmark historic renovated bank is now home to one of the most impressive private art collections in North America on permanent display both in the public spaces as well as our guest rooms and suites. Over 120 Contemporary and Pop artworks feature Litchenstein, Warhol, Miro, Chagall and Botero to name a few. Furthermore, this artful and creative experience extends well beyond the hotel thanks to our Cultural Curator. Elegant, spacious and eclectic, our 56 rooms and suites feature lofty ceilings with large windows, spacious work areas, and luxurious bathrooms and exquisite furnishings. Enjoy daily breakfast served in the privacy of your guestroom or in the Winter Garden Dining Room. Our Botero Wine Bar features private imports by the glass, specially chosen to provide unforgettable tasting experience. Sam Francis Gym, massage room, business center and conference rooms and complimentary WiFi will help make your business or leisure travels unique and memorable. Where else can you have breakfast with Warhol, drinks with Botero and sleep with Litchenstein? Yes, all of our suites and junior suites have original works by world renowned artists! The rooms are memorable but the experience is unforgettable! LHotel is located in the heart of Old Montreal, just steps from the Business District, the Montreal Convention Center, the Old Port and trendy McGill Street. Historic, Artful, Urban. We're more than just a hotel- we're LHotel Montreal...Dare to be original... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your LHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Hotel Montreal
Xixe Siecle Hotel
Xixe Siecle Montreal
Hotel Xix Siecle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing