We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A nice gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of LHotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
LHotel
Ranked #15 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Central California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A nice gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

I found this on tripadvisor and it lived up to my expectation. We like older hotel and we're not disappointed. 12 foot ceiling in our first floor room. Even though it's older, the amenities are modern; bathroom was very clean and updated. Room was completely quiet. Hotel staff was very helpful and we have many options to walk to dinner. We'd stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BVI_my_favorite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,059 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    660
    295
    79
    15
    10
See reviews for
177
532
51
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I stayed at LHotel for two nights, and I found the staff to be very helpful, friendly and courteous. I requested a feather-free room when I made my reservation, and Voila! it was waiting for me. I make this request of all hotels I visit, but most fail to pay attention to it, and I have to remind them when I arrive. It is pretty much a boutique hotel, six floors, and the staff seems to get to know their guests.

The reason I did not rate the LHotel five stars is because it does not have room service, nor vending machines, so if you get hungry late at night you have to venture outside and most nearby establishments close around 11 PM.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsBolero2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

This is a lovely hotel in the heart of Old Montreal. A personable and efficient staff although a more experienced bartender would be in order. The room was spacious and nicely decorated. Many restaurants within walking distance and Old Montreal is easy to explore from here. A very nice breakfast was included in the price. I definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kktraveler10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Going to Montreal? Stay here and use the money you save on nice dinners in Old Montreal! The art on every floor, in the lobby, and in front of the hotel is spectacular. The hotel is owned by the owner of Guess? jeans, which i thought was interesting. Seriously, this place is so beautiful, you would be nuts to spend more than double somewhere else. We are from NYC area so we have high expectations, and this place met them above and beyond, from the gorgeous room, high ceilings, posh toiletries, keurig and coffee maker, fridge, giant window with views of the amazing Notre Dame Basilica. The check in was friendly and smooth, even after getting in at midnight, and the car valet is $22 per 24 hrs (street parking in Old Montreal is like street parking in Manhattan on a workday, enough said, so this is a huge convenience, as you can have them get your car for use as much as you wish). We paid $390 for 3 nights and it was a steal for that price. However, we booked 7months ahead and booked the non refundable rate. So if we cancelled at any time after booking, or pulled a no show, we were responsible for the full $390. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: No one stays on the 5th floor so if you want to guarantee that no Bigfoot or kids with ADHD will be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hikingchickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This is a really great hotel in an excellent location, less than 5 mins walk from the Cathedral. The art around the hotel is worth a visit to all floors to have a look at. There are numerous good restaurants within easy reach.

The only downside were the reception staff who seemed very inexperienced ( I thought they might have known where the nearest Metro stop was !!)

That said, this hotel is a definite recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rourkemanchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, MD
Level Contributor
170 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I love this hotel. We stayed here again last month. We were traveling with my brother and sister-in-law, who are very artistic. They really enjoyed checking out each hall to see which artists works were on display. We had been upgraded, maybe because it's our second stay, not sure, but it was fantastic. The Jim Dine room was spectacular. A Fireplace in the bedroom, sitting room with an additional TV, desk, and sofa—what more could you wish for. The bed was big with really nice sheets and choice of pillows.

The staff is exceptional. Young and energetic. One young man retrieved my forgotten iPad from our car, which had just been parked. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay both times. For the price this is a great hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sisflynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new orleans
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We just returned from a two night stay in this lovely, artsy hotel. The lobby is filled with contemporary art, and the staff couldnt have been friendlier. As a matter of fact, I left something of value in our room, called the hotel the next day, and they kindly FedExed it to me in the states. We had a large, double room which was quite comfortable. The hotel is situated around the corner from Notre Dame, and is only blocks from the waterfront and the Grand Terrace. I loved the location! There is a large breakfast that is included in the room rate...wonderful croissants with marmalade...yum! I would definitely return

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shopelka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#2 of 165 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,120 reviews
Quartier International
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#6 of 165 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#11 of 165 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,700 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#8 of 165 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,802 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge Bonaparte
Auberge Bonaparte
#5 of 165 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LHotel

Property: LHotel
Address: 262 St Jacques West, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1N1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#11 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#13 Family Hotel in Montreal
#33 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — LHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DARE TO BE ORIGINAL! More than just a hotel, this landmark historic renovated bank is now home to one of the most impressive private art collections in North America on permanent display both in the public spaces as well as our guest rooms and suites. Over 120 Contemporary and Pop artworks feature Litchenstein, Warhol, Miro, Chagall and Botero to name a few. Furthermore, this artful and creative experience extends well beyond the hotel thanks to our Cultural Curator. Elegant, spacious and eclectic, our 56 rooms and suites feature lofty ceilings with large windows, spacious work areas, and luxurious bathrooms and exquisite furnishings. Enjoy daily breakfast served in the privacy of your guestroom or in the Winter Garden Dining Room. Our Botero Wine Bar features private imports by the glass, specially chosen to provide unforgettable tasting experience. Sam Francis Gym, massage room, business center and conference rooms and complimentary WiFi will help make your business or leisure travels unique and memorable. Where else can you have breakfast with Warhol, drinks with Botero and sleep with Litchenstein? Yes, all of our suites and junior suites have original works by world renowned artists! The rooms are memorable but the experience is unforgettable! LHotel is located in the heart of Old Montreal, just steps from the Business District, the Montreal Convention Center, the Old Port and trendy McGill Street. Historic, Artful, Urban. We're more than just a hotel- we're LHotel Montreal...Dare to be original... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelClick, Odigeo, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your LHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Hotel Montreal
Xixe Siecle Hotel
Xixe Siecle Montreal
Hotel Xix Siecle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing