We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we expected”
Review of LHotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
LHotel
Ranked #20 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Not what we expected”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

I had booked this hotel from overseas knowing my husband and I needed a place to stay while we visited family. I was looking for a decent hotel well priced in old Montreal, so on a whim I booked this place. We arrived late Friday and was taken immediately blown away by all the post war American art on display, inside and out. At first we thought they were replicas, so we asked the reception and they informed us that the hotel contains a vast amount of Devines, Warhols, Rauschenbergs etc... to name a few. The reception gave us the key to our room which was the Norman Rockwell suite, along with original pieces.
When we entered our room we were again taken aback, the suite was HUGE with a marvelous bed, and small bathroom - which had some interesting quirks, such as the shower not staying in place and the bathroom sink was useless. Other then that the room was lovely really, not well designed function wise, but lovely and immensely spacious.
Breakfast was not great by any means, actually a little disappointing, but the art was spectacular really outstanding. Interestingly most pieces of art were purchased in 2007, so being ever so curious I looked up who owned the hotel, which happens to be George Marciano from Guess jeans. He actually lives with his young companion in the penthouse on top, along with 7 Ferrari's, we saw one parked outside one morning, probably all purchased in 2007 ;). It's a must read the history of the hotel and the owner himself, right out of Hollywood.

Great hotel if you love art and spacious rooms, however it was not designed with function in mind, however we really enjoyed our stay!

Room Tip: Get a suite, really worth the extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eliane_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    749
    338
    96
    21
    9
See reviews for
206
603
60
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
montreal
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I loved how this hotel is dripping with art. I love how they placed it on the wall so that every inch has something to beautiful to look at.
The hallways are a museum, I spent 45 minutes just wandering my corridor.
It was my birthday weekend and the front desk upgraded me to the Robert Indiana Suite. fancy pants me. the room took my breath away. Art was the star of my room and I was sad to say goodbye the next morning. I had a gorgeous bathroom - a fireplace, a super comfortable bed and a sitting room. The bathroom had a separate shower and bathtub. I love that ! I had friends over for wine and the room was so large they never even saw my bed in the next room. The staff was amazing. If you appreciate art and are looking to treat yourself - this is the place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nycluvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed here recently for two nights. We had a mini suite which was quite spacious and beautifully appointed. Large windows let in lots of light. We had a bit of a nice view of the Cathedral of Notre Dame down the street. Wait staff was nice and helpful. Breakfast in the hotel was in a beautiful little dining room. Very charming. The food was typical breakfast buffet fare. Fabulous, interesting artwork everywhere...even in the stair well. The only problem we had was no hot water in our room the second day we were there. Made taking a shower a frigid affair!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JackieC655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willenhall, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stayed end of August. Nice hotel located in the old part of Montreal. Most of the sites within easy walking distance especially the bars and restaurants and the Notre Dame. Staff friendly and the rooms comfortable. Only gripe was not enough sachets left for the coffee making machine. Didn't book breakfasts as we wanted to try outside. Recommend eggspectation closely.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gsjones399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

LHotel is well situated in Montreal, in Vieux-Montreal, just a quick walk away from Ste Catherine Street. The high ceilings and amazing artwork really adds a good vibe. Hotel staff is friendly and very accommodating. I will be back.

Note: Rooms are not completely soundproof and you can easily hear closing doors from neighboring rooms.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sun774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed at the LHotel in August.
The location was fantastic; with Notre Dame just down the block and and the shopping, restaurants, and museum just a little further.
The hotel staff was attentive and helpful. They greeted us each time we passed in both English and French.
Our room was comfortable and luxurious with lovely amenities.
But best of all was the art. It was everywhere starting with the Botero statue in front. There was unbelievable sculptures and print art throughout the lobby, halls and in our room.

I would recommend LHotel to anyone staying in Montreal for a few days.

Room Tip: Our room was toward the back and on an upper floor. We never heard any one during our stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ann_sf_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had a great time with friends at this small hotel.. We had a lovely suite and had space of entertaining. The art work in the rooms and halls make you feel like you are in a home not a hotel. The staff was always available for questions and help. The breakfast was lovely..especially the warm out of the oven croissants..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gwynn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#9 of 164 in Montreal
2,113 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 164 in Montreal
1,960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 164 in Montreal
1,332 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#2 of 164 in Montreal
334 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#5 of 164 in Montreal
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LHotel

Property: LHotel
Address: 262 St Jacques West, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1N1, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#13 Family Hotel in Montreal
#15 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#33 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — LHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DARE TO BE ORIGINAL! More than just a hotel, this landmark historic renovated bank is now home to one of the most impressive private art collections in North America on permanent display both in the public spaces as well as our guest rooms and suites. Over 120 Contemporary and Pop artworks feature Litchenstein, Warhol, Miro, Chagall and Botero to name a few. Furthermore, this artful and creative experience extends well beyond the hotel thanks to our Cultural Curator. Elegant, spacious and eclectic, our 56 rooms and suites feature lofty ceilings with large windows, spacious work areas, and luxurious bathrooms and exquisite furnishings. Enjoy daily breakfast served in the privacy of your guestroom or in the Winter Garden Dining Room. Our Botero Wine Bar features private imports by the glass, specially chosen to provide unforgettable tasting experience. Sam Francis Gym, massage room, business center and conference rooms and complimentary WiFi will help make your business or leisure travels unique and memorable. Where else can you have breakfast with Warhol, drinks with Botero and sleep with Litchenstein? Yes, all of our suites and junior suites have original works by world renowned artists! The rooms are memorable but the experience is unforgettable! LHotel is located in the heart of Old Montreal, just steps from the Business District, the Montreal Convention Center, the Old Port and trendy McGill Street. Historic, Artful, Urban. We're more than just a hotel- we're LHotel Montreal...Dare to be original... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your LHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Hotel Montreal
Xixe Siecle Hotel
Xixe Siecle Montreal
Hotel Xix Siecle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing