We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Believe the reviews!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of LHotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
LHotel
Ranked #16 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
new jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Believe the reviews!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Never having been to Montreal we had no idea where to stay. Natrually we turned to Tripadvisor for some feedback.
We knew we wanted to stay in Old Montreal so after reading all the reviews we settled on the Lhotel . The reviews were all excellent and since we have written for tripadvisor in the past I trusted the reviews.
We had requested a early checkin since our plan had a very early arrival. This hotel is highly booked and as I expected when we got to the hotel our room was not available. They were very apologetic and took and stored our luggage and off we went to explore Old Montreal.
We returned about 2 pm for our checkin and our room was ready and checkin was uneventful.
We booked an Executive suite and when we arrived to the room we were pleasantly surprised how large and well appointed the room was. It was a corner room and the light was amazing with four huge windows. My wife is a cleaning nut and her first comment after inspecting the room and very spacious bathroom was how clean it was in fact she went as far as to say it might be the cleanest room we have every had and we have had many! Housekeeping mantained the room in prestine condition all 3 nights we were there. The staff was always present and helpful to answer any questions.
Sometimes hotels get a little lazy when they rest on the laurels of good reviews but not this hotel their standards are very high. We are convinced that well run boutique hotels are far more service oriented than the large chain hotels which are much more hit or miss.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dentrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,061 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    661
    296
    79
    15
    10
See reviews for
177
534
51
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Katonah, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

My family ( husband & 2 boys-11 & 14) drove to Quebec for a family vacation- to explore & do something new- We started in Montreal. Thanks to Tripadvisor I found this incredible hotel-it was conveniently located. Within walking distance to everything we wanted to do.The staff could not have been any nicer-they were so friendly & very helpful. When it comes to the art collection that adorns every single wall---UNBELIEVEABLE...There was no need to go the Museum of Contemporary Art-that is for sure. Would love to go back again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LisaBKatonah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I booked a room at this hotel for a weekend in August. The hotel is located in a quiet section of Old Montreal. It is located a block away from the Notre Dame cathedral and a short walk away from the Jacques-Cartier pedestrian mall where there are lots of shops and restaurants. It is a short walk from the closest metro station (Station Place-d'Armes) as well as the 747 express bus to/from the airport (Jeanne-Mance stop). So, I didn't have to take a cab during my entire stay at this hotel.

My room was on the second floor. The room was very big with really high ceilings. The internet was free and worked well. The room and bathroom were all really clean as well. There was also a big, flat screen TV although I didn't really use it very much. My only complaint about the room was that you can hear everything going on in the hallway. This was annoying for a light sleeper like me who likes to sleep in.

The hotel staff were all really friendly in my limited interactions with them. As mentioned in other reviews, the halls in the hotel doubled as an art gallery. I didn't get a chance to take a look though because of the shortness of my stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kevin Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corner Brook, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

My friend and I, both originally from Montreal, met in the city to celebrate our 50th birthdays and decided to splurge on a boutique hotel in Old Montreal. We loved the experience. L'Hotel is most unique with its amazing pop art gallery in the halls, lobby and guest rooms. We stayed in the Sam Francis Suite. The room itself is beautiful, with a comfy bed, 20 foot ceilings and a lounging area to have our friends over. And of course the room is filled with art by Sam Francis. The staff were wonderful - warm and welcoming and eager to make our stay perfect. The location was awesome. Walking distance to all the attractions in Old Montreal and only a few blocks from the Metro. There is a continental breakfast served daily from 7am - 11am. I most the enjoyed the lovely fresh fruit, melt in your mouth croissants and of course the cretons (like a pate). You can also get Montreal style bagels, pastries and yogurt and granola. Just note, that breakfast in not included. I very much recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: There are suites dedicated to select artists.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Salem, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Wonderful old building filled with the owner's collection of amazing contemporary art. Rooms are spacious and well apppointed. The staff was soooo helpful. Suggested great restaurants and some terrific exhibits that we would never have found on our own.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EbieW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
77 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Great and original hotel with lot of pop art.
Entrance: outstanding, however stair are a handicap when carrying heavy luggage.
Lobby and bar: great
Our room: we were goven 115, very spacious, two very comfortable beds, very high roof, bathtube with water-streams.
Breakfast: lower than average compared eith european chains, the ones i know the most, but better than american ones. Very good pastry, specially croissants.
Service: very good and attentive.
Price: expensive, 230 dollars night, but you are not paying just a hotel.

Helpful?
1 Thank MaDiGi
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Scottsville, New York, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Found this fabulous hotel on hotels.com. Every floor is an art gallery with original pieces. The lobby is very pretty, the staff are courteous and helpful and the location is perfect for sites in Old Montreal. The room was large, comfortable, no outside noises. I would go back here again and again. Loved the entire experience. Amazing, exquisite, terrific, wonderful, superfragilisticexpialidocious!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ethel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#2 of 165 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,122 reviews
Quartier International
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#5 of 165 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#11 of 165 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,706 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#8 of 165 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,811 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge Bonaparte
Auberge Bonaparte
#3 of 165 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LHotel

Property: LHotel
Address: 262 St Jacques West, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1N1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#12 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#13 Family Hotel in Montreal
#33 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — LHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DARE TO BE ORIGINAL! More than just a hotel, this landmark historic renovated bank is now home to one of the most impressive private art collections in North America on permanent display both in the public spaces as well as our guest rooms and suites. Over 120 Contemporary and Pop artworks feature Litchenstein, Warhol, Miro, Chagall and Botero to name a few. Furthermore, this artful and creative experience extends well beyond the hotel thanks to our Cultural Curator. Elegant, spacious and eclectic, our 56 rooms and suites feature lofty ceilings with large windows, spacious work areas, and luxurious bathrooms and exquisite furnishings. Enjoy daily breakfast served in the privacy of your guestroom or in the Winter Garden Dining Room. Our Botero Wine Bar features private imports by the glass, specially chosen to provide unforgettable tasting experience. Sam Francis Gym, massage room, business center and conference rooms and complimentary WiFi will help make your business or leisure travels unique and memorable. Where else can you have breakfast with Warhol, drinks with Botero and sleep with Litchenstein? Yes, all of our suites and junior suites have original works by world renowned artists! The rooms are memorable but the experience is unforgettable! LHotel is located in the heart of Old Montreal, just steps from the Business District, the Montreal Convention Center, the Old Port and trendy McGill Street. Historic, Artful, Urban. We're more than just a hotel- we're LHotel Montreal...Dare to be original... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your LHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Hotel Montreal
Xixe Siecle Hotel
Xixe Siecle Montreal
Hotel Xix Siecle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing