We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Art attack”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of LHotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
LHotel
Ranked #19 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Art attack”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

This hotel has an amazing collection of art; foyer, bar, hallways and the room covered in art of all forms.

good hotel, valet parking, easy to find.

Breakfast could do with updating very basic continental....

Room Tip: Executive suite, king size bed...super bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathanearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    730
    326
    93
    20
    9
See reviews for
197
588
57
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Short weekend trip from NY to Montreal turned out to be fantastic. Lhotel was classy and accommodating. We had a thermostat issue and were upgraded to a suite, and it was fabulous especially since it was our 1 year anniversary and I'm sure the hotel had no idea. Many reviews complain about the elevator being out of service, yet after a day of indulging the small climb to your room was needed. The front desk crew were very sweet and helpful. Zachary from the bar was awesome! We would absolutely stay at Lhotel again, The location and proximity to attractions was perfect. Thank you for a great trip!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traci p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

One of the best hotels I've ever stayed in. Affordable original and perfect Location. We stayed two nights with a two year old and they were more than willing to accommodate. The free breakfast was also great.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poddoc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

The hotel is very beautiful, clean, good breakfast, but when we arrived at the hotel we discovered that the only elevator was broken!!! My husband had a surgery in his feet when we can't use the stairs, but even talking with the front desk employee about the situation they couldn't change our room for a lower floor. We stayed in last floor (3) and took the stairs every single day. They said that there is no expectation for the elevator be fixed. Bad experience. Another complain is that I called the hotel and they put on hold 5 times and couldn't help me to find a Zip code of an attraction.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tatibe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
m_taillon, General Manager at LHotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
We are sorry for the inconveniences you suffered during your recent stay with us.

We are very diligent when taking reservations (as we did when we took your reservation) and make sure our clients understand that there is no functioning elevator and that they will have to use the stairs to get to their room. And we make sure that this is understood before we get to the end of the reservation process.

We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again.

The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

A recent visit proved to be outstanding. Great setting in Old Town. Well located, near several restaurants, parking and fabulous breakfast Buffett. Went with teen girls who loved this funky hotel full of art. Hotel staff was polite and accommodating. Easy to reach when you enter the city. I will return on my next trip. A real find. I guarantee you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calvin1435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Great location in Old Montreal, close to many excellent restaurants.About 10-15 minute walk to the shopping district.The hotel is full of interesting art- mainly Pop Art.The staff is comprised of young and helpful individuals. No elevator, but we knew this was going to be case- just some extra exercise. The rooms are well appointed, but our two rooms lacked an ironing board/iron. Airy rooms with 20 foot ceilings. The windows cannot be opened, so you have to rely on the air conditioning to make you comfortable.I found the breakfast buffet adequate and the service prompt.All in all a great place to stay and a welcome departure from the sterile standard hotels.

Room Tip: Some construction noise ( 6 AM) in room 304, but 314 was quiet.Pack lightly, as you have to carry ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

If you are looking for a shiny, sterile 'could be anywhere' hotel, then L'Hotel probably is not for you. Cosy, comfy and lived in, L'Hotel is an amazing place to rest your weary feet after a day on the go in Montreal. We spent 5 nights here and loved the feel of staying in a modern art gallery and the 'bonjour' from the Reception staff every time we passed by.

The hotel is so convieniently located for access to Old Montreal and Downtown; we found almost everywhere to be walkable from here. The beds were extremely comfortable and our room was enormous, the largest I have stayed in. A complimentary breakfast was offered (possibly due to the length of our stay) and contained a buffet style selection of pastries, cold cuts, bagels, cereals and fruit which we enjoyed.

Only one little 'but'; the lift was out of service for the duration of our stay but luckily we were on the first floor so this didn't inconvenience us too much. Would not hesitate to book this hotel for a future stay in Montreal - great price, great location, happy guests!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reachforthesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#13 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,885 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#7 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#8 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LHotel

Property: LHotel
Address: 262 St Jacques West, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1N1, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#13 Family Hotel in Montreal
#14 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#33 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — LHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DARE TO BE ORIGINAL! More than just a hotel, this landmark historic renovated bank is now home to one of the most impressive private art collections in North America on permanent display both in the public spaces as well as our guest rooms and suites. Over 120 Contemporary and Pop artworks feature Litchenstein, Warhol, Miro, Chagall and Botero to name a few. Furthermore, this artful and creative experience extends well beyond the hotel thanks to our Cultural Curator. Elegant, spacious and eclectic, our 56 rooms and suites feature lofty ceilings with large windows, spacious work areas, and luxurious bathrooms and exquisite furnishings. Enjoy daily breakfast served in the privacy of your guestroom or in the Winter Garden Dining Room. Our Botero Wine Bar features private imports by the glass, specially chosen to provide unforgettable tasting experience. Sam Francis Gym, massage room, business center and conference rooms and complimentary WiFi will help make your business or leisure travels unique and memorable. Where else can you have breakfast with Warhol, drinks with Botero and sleep with Litchenstein? Yes, all of our suites and junior suites have original works by world renowned artists! The rooms are memorable but the experience is unforgettable! LHotel is located in the heart of Old Montreal, just steps from the Business District, the Montreal Convention Center, the Old Port and trendy McGill Street. Historic, Artful, Urban. We're more than just a hotel- we're LHotel Montreal...Dare to be original... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TravelClick, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your LHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Hotel Montreal
Xixe Siecle Hotel
Xixe Siecle Montreal
Hotel Xix Siecle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing