We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service, superb room and location. Absolutely love this hotel.”
Review of LHotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
LHotel
Ranked #20 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent service, superb room and location. Absolutely love this hotel.”
Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

I travel to Montreal quite frequently and stayed at many hotels. This is my first time staying at LHotel and it will not be the last. Everything was exceptional starting from the staff to the rooms. Why stay anywhere else when you are treated so well at this establishment? 5 stars!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank costarosa2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    731
    328
    94
    21
    9
See reviews for
199
591
57
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montpelier, Vermont
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

I've stayed often in Montreal, a city full of great hotels, but L'Hotel is an exceptional experience. It's a smallish place, downtown but not in the middle of everything. The entire hotel is filled with great prints - Warhol, Rauschenberg, Miro, Jasper Johns, and other major artists. It feels like an art gallery which happens to have bedrooms. My wife and I purposefully got off the elevator on a different floor so we could roam the halls looking at the art. Sculpture, too, in the intimate lobby. There is art in the rooms as well, and the furniture is lovely, solid wood, antique - pieces I wish I had in my living room. We chatted with the desk staff, describing our day, and she offered great suggestions, right in line with our interests. Last, the price was very reasonable - surprising, even, given the quality of the accommodations - solid shower, comfy bed, fifteen-foot (I'm guessing) ceilings (making everything seem spacious and elegant). I tip my hat to the very professional staff who work hard at the other hotels - I've had great experiences - but when I go to Montreal in the future, there is no question that I'll stay at L'Hotel...it felt that different.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nemo51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
111 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for one night during the last day of my Canada trip. Everything seemd fine in the evening…The room was spacious, nicely decorated, the internet was working, the bathroom was ok. That’s about it though….
In the morning when I woke up there was no running water in the bathroom…it can happen after all. Howver that day there was a rude girl at the reception who was not helpful at all, I still though the problem would be fixed after an hour or two…well that was wrong. There was no water during the entire day at the hotel, so no water no bathroom, no shower, no toilet!!! The lady at the reception only concluded with “ well I am not God” when I asked if she could figure something out. So before my 15 hours long journey back home I couldn’t take a shower, I had to look for a toilet elsewhere. The lady at the reception offered us breakfast on the house and lets just say that was the weirdest breakfast ever! There was a buffet, on each plate (with cheese, with ham and so on) there were exactly 4 to 5 tiny little pieces of the respective food?!? Weird???!!!! Nothing hot to eat was served, it was a cold buffet only. We have stayed longer in the room hoping for the water to be back before our departure but no luck. During checkout there was another, MUCH friendlier lady at the reception who offered us a 50% discount on the room…still paying some 57 euros for a room without a bathroom seems like a little much, afterall we ended up having hostel standards (at least in a hostel you can share a bathroom…).
I know that it wasn’t the hotel’s fault but I don’t think that they have cared enough about their guests in such an emergency situation. They have offered no other solution, I would have appreciated if they had offered us another room in another hotel for a few hours so we could take a shower and use the toilet at least. No such thing has happened, we felt left alone without any help.
Also be careful if you use the elevator in the hotel, there is a notice saying that if you should experience problems with the elevator you should press the 2nd floor so the lift would restart?!? I thought is was the job of a 4* hotel to make sure that the lift was always working…
I will certainly not return to this hotel ever again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank papeetee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
m_taillon, General Manager at LHotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are extremely sorry for the discomfort you have experienced during your stay at our hotel on the day that a main water broke in Old Montreal due to extreme cold weather. There was not much we could do in term of facilities since all of Old Montreal was without water for the time you were with us.

However, we want to apologize for our employee's inappropriate behavior and want to assure you that proper measures were taken to insure that this situation will not occur in the future.

As for our elevator, we are in the process of getting it replaced. Being a hotel in a historical building, we have to conform to strict city codes and this slows down the process. In the mean time, in order to avoid panic and discomfort, we prefer to notify our clients that there is a solution should the elevator come to a complete stop.

Again, please accept our apologies and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you again.

The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

From someone who studied hospitality in Switzerland and has worked in the industry for years this hotel was one to rave about!!!! From the arrival to the departure everything was spot on! The hotel and staff have such warmth and genuine attributes that I cannot wait until my next trip to Montreal! Hopefully the receptionist Summer will be there for the next person who stays as she really played a key role in our visit. From writing down a list of places to go, to calling us daily to see our our stay was she really displayed 5* hospitality. Eric (the overnight receptionist) was also fantastic, after coming back to the hotel each night absolutely freezing he always made us feel like we were "back at home". Upon checkout the debit machine was down but instead of being bothered by it I felt the opposit as the Receptionist and the GM himself were there to offer coffee and apologies for the wait! I have lived in 8 countries, travelled all my life and this is one of the best hotels I've ever had the pleasure of staying at :). Thank you to the entire team at L'hotel for making my mini January vacation a memorable one!!

Stayed January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Jasmine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We spent a Saturday night at the LHotel and were warmly greeted and taken care of. We drove up from Massachusetts, took advantage of the 15-minute parking outside the hotel before they valeted our car away (it was cold and snowy, so this was great), and spent the night in a nice, spacious room with high ceilings. The art in this place was awesome--Warhols, Lichtensteins, really fun, interesting pop art. The receptionist (she was blond, but I don't remember her name) was amazing: she helped us out with a great restaurant recommendation and places to go that night. Before calling it a night, we had a drink in the hotel bar and felt like we were in a funky museum--very cool. All in all it was comfortable and the staff was great.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ludakristi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Four of us spent American Thanksgiving at L'Hotel and all agree it was a uniquely marvelous time. None of us are particularly hip or modern, nor do we have interest in art - but we still appreciated the atmosphere and everything L'Hotel had to offer. It was something different for us and we liked it. Daniel was extremely friendly and helpful from the moment we met, kicked off our vacation on such a happy note and gave us a significant first impression of Montreal. Even after the trip, when payments had been made and no reason to keep pampering us really, they were speedy and clear in their responses to my post-trip questions upon my return to the states.

The one criticism I have is that the elevator has some issues, and at one point we had to take the stairs. They are aware of this problem and may have fixed it by this point.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank y808y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I'm a little hesitant about writing this review because I really think this is the best kept secret in Montreal. This is fabulous hotel. The rooms are spacious, clean and extremely comfortable. The staff are helpful and polite. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Canadian_in_Galway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,906 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#4 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#8 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LHotel

Property: LHotel
Address: 262 St Jacques West, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1N1, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#13 Family Hotel in Montreal
#15 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#33 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — LHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DARE TO BE ORIGINAL! More than just a hotel, this landmark historic renovated bank is now home to one of the most impressive private art collections in North America on permanent display both in the public spaces as well as our guest rooms and suites. Over 120 Contemporary and Pop artworks feature Litchenstein, Warhol, Miro, Chagall and Botero to name a few. Furthermore, this artful and creative experience extends well beyond the hotel thanks to our Cultural Curator. Elegant, spacious and eclectic, our 56 rooms and suites feature lofty ceilings with large windows, spacious work areas, and luxurious bathrooms and exquisite furnishings. Enjoy daily breakfast served in the privacy of your guestroom or in the Winter Garden Dining Room. Our Botero Wine Bar features private imports by the glass, specially chosen to provide unforgettable tasting experience. Sam Francis Gym, massage room, business center and conference rooms and complimentary WiFi will help make your business or leisure travels unique and memorable. Where else can you have breakfast with Warhol, drinks with Botero and sleep with Litchenstein? Yes, all of our suites and junior suites have original works by world renowned artists! The rooms are memorable but the experience is unforgettable! LHotel is located in the heart of Old Montreal, just steps from the Business District, the Montreal Convention Center, the Old Port and trendy McGill Street. Historic, Artful, Urban. We're more than just a hotel- we're LHotel Montreal...Dare to be original... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your LHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Hotel Montreal
Xixe Siecle Hotel
Xixe Siecle Montreal
Hotel Xix Siecle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing