We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Surprise”
Review of LHotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
LHotel
Ranked #19 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We arrived quite late and were a bit nervous because of good rate we had managed with Booking.com so assumed the room would be quite small. What a lovely surprise. Very large room with lovely decore and big bathroom. The staff was extrememly helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Very nice breakfast which was extra naturally. Hotel in great position in old town of Montreal within walking distance to restaurants and great shops and galleries in Rue St. Paul. We stayed 2 nights and would definitely not consider staying anywhere else when we hopefully return one day.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Robbie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,261)
There are newer reviews for LHotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

743 - 749 of 1,261 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2012

We arrived at 1 am to be greeted by two staff who met our taxi before we had emerged from it, took our bags up several steps, delivered them to our room, served us a necessary wine and were so welcoming. When we needed a taxi on departure, a staff member ran down the street to commandeer a taxi for us.
The room could have had more space for large suitcases - many international travellers have large bags. But the location, the friendliness and great amenities made up for that.
Our fellow accommodation guests were sometimes a little noisy, especially at 2am, and the noise came into our room.

Room Tip: ask for one at the back of the hotel. Then you won't have noisy guests chatting outside your do...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Finona68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

When we travelled to Montreal we first chose this hotel before our trip to Quebec city. We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. The room had a very high ceiling and was cold and the heating system did not work as efficiently. The mattress were not that comfortable. We did not like the bathroom. It was very small and old styled and did not have a place to place your toiletries. The service was not bad and the hotel is situated in the old town walking distance to all sightseeing places in old Montreal.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Life_is_beautiful19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed one night at LHotel in Montreal. It is in an excellent location in Old Montreal, just park in front and valet will take the car. The staff was EXTREMELY helpful and pleasant. We wanted tea in the late evening and the staff went out of the way to send it up to our room with no extra charge. The valet/assistant was very personable and apologized for keeping us waiting an extra minute. We did not opt to have breakfast (it was not an option when we booked) but free coffee was available in the lobby area which was very attractive. We would definitely stay again and stay longer next time.

Room Tip: We were on the fourth floor--very quite.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Wonderful boutique hotel in heart of old Montreal. Owned by a gentleman who is generous enough to share his unbelievable contemporary and pop art collection with us. The room we stayed in was large and beautiful. The staff is young and helpful. We were more than pleased with everything and the price was extremely reasonable for what we got. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debbiehill73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

What sets this hotel apart is the huge collection of modern art adorning the lobby, hallways and hotel rooms.

My room was just a single room, not a suite but it was spacious and beautifully decorated - very warm and inviting.

The location in the old Montreal neighborhood was great. Many restaurants nearby, a short walk from the waterfront.

I thought the room rate was a great value; $16 for the breakfast buffet was a bit steep but I have to admit I still did that rather than venturing out to find breakfast somewhere else. The croissants were yummy :)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bikerider57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

What does one expect in a city hotel? Large room? Perfect location? Cheerful and extremely helpful staff? Beauty and comfort of lobby? Great value for a big city hotel? Well, if this is what you want, you will find it here at LHotel! We were there on a Sunday and Monday nights. We did not have breakfast in the hotel because we thought $15 each was a bit steep, and our rate did not include it. (Just around the corner is a little restaurant, Notre Dame Restaurant, with delicious breakfast at a great price!) LHotel is just a couple of blocks from Notre Dame Cathedral, four or five blocks from the cruise port, four blocks from Rue St. paul, heart of restaurants and galleries and shops. This is your place to stay in Montreal!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#7 of 165 in Montreal
2,384 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#6 of 165 in Montreal
2,174 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 165 in Montreal
2,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#2 of 165 in Montreal
1,355 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#3 of 165 in Montreal
1,070 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#8 of 165 in Montreal
1,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LHotel

Address: 262 St Jacques West, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1N1, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#13 Family Hotel in Montreal
#14 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#33 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: $172 - $421 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — LHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DARE TO BE ORIGINAL! More than just a hotel, this landmark historic renovated bank is now home to one of the most impressive private art collections in North America on permanent display both in the public spaces as well as our guest rooms and suites. Over 120 Contemporary and Pop artworks feature Litchenstein, Warhol, Miro, Chagall and Botero to name a few. Furthermore, this artful and creative experience extends well beyond the hotel thanks to our Cultural Curator. Elegant, spacious and eclectic, our 56 rooms and suites feature lofty ceilings with large windows, spacious work areas, and luxurious bathrooms and exquisite furnishings. Enjoy daily breakfast served in the privacy of your guestroom or in the Winter Garden Dining Room. Our Botero Wine Bar features private imports by the glass, specially chosen to provide unforgettable tasting experience. Sam Francis Gym, massage room, business center and conference rooms and complimentary WiFi will help make your business or leisure travels unique and memorable. Where else can you have breakfast with Warhol, drinks with Botero and sleep with Litchenstein? Yes, all of our suites and junior suites have original works by world renowned artists! The rooms are memorable but the experience is unforgettable! LHotel is located in the heart of Old Montreal, just steps from the Business District, the Montreal Convention Center, the Old Port and trendy McGill Street. Historic, Artful, Urban. We're more than just a hotel- we're LHotel Montreal...Dare to be original... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your LHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Hotel Montreal
Xixe Siecle Hotel
Xixe Siecle Montreal
Hotel Xix Siecle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing