We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”
Review of LHotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
LHotel
Ranked #19 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

The L was very beautiful ! The hotel was in walking distance of everything in the Old City!
The staff was very helpful in everyway! Very romantic ! A must !! We spent 2 notes and the staff suggested 2 of the best restaurants! The food was amazing! The Spa they suggested was great!
We didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank harry n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,299)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

799 - 805 of 1,299 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2012

This is a small hotel in Montreal and we found it on Tripadvisor. We were not dissapointed with it, as for the price our expectations were not very high. The hotel is very well situated in a part of the old town. The room was upgraded free of charge to a suite, which was big and comfortable. The only complaint we could have was that the lighting in the room was poor. But the friendliness of the staff made up for it. Can be recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank L0veCr0atia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed in the LHotel for 2 nights in September 2012 and we did have a lovely time. As many others have said, the location is really great. It is very close to the Notre Dame Bascilla and to lots of nice restaurants.

Our room was really charming and was huge. The king sized bed was lovely to sleep in and the bathroom was very clean and had everything we needed. I would agree with a previous review about the lighting not being great, however I think this is kind of in keeping with the type of traditional room we had.

The staff were very friendly and helpful.

The art on the walls was impressive but neither me or my husband are particularly knowledgeable about art so some of this was lost on us. We felt a little bit like this was a trendy hotel rather than a charming hotel. However, it provided us with a good base to explore Montreal.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TracyandMark1508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We spent three nights here in August 2012. The hotel staff was incredibly helpful with suggestions for dining and attractions. They were particularly helpful with suggesting little things to do along the way. The hotel is very interesting and its a nice break from traditional hotels (even boutique hotels); nice sketches and prints all over, we saw some lovely more obscure works by Warhol, Lichtenstein. It was a pleasure to walk the hallways of the floors. Very attentive service at the front desk, concierge and bar, and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NYCmom50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Having stayed at the Zero One and at L'Hotel, I am struggling to see what justifies the difference in price. Like many hotels in Montreal, L'Hotel doesn't offer a dining room to have evening meals, which I found disappointing. The breakfasts are very basic, but cost 15 dollars a person. No cooked food on offer, no ham and eggs, just croissants, bagels, bread, cereal, cheese, yogurt, fruit. That breakfast would suit many people, but the price is a bit high when restaurants such as Eggspectation give you a far nicer breakfast. So what does L'Hotel have to offer? A posh room with imitation antique furniture and big arty pictures on the walls. Lots of genuine art on the walls of the corridors and common parts. A few sculptures here and there, too. But no residents lounge (there is an area near the reception desk, rather limited in size, where you can sit and have drinks and wait for your taxi but not a nice place to sit of an evening) and no room service menu in the rooms, no welcome pack, no list of attractions other than adverts for the priciest designer shops nearby. There is a small room where you can use one (just one!) computer and a printer where in theory you can print out your boarding pass. When I tried to use it the printer had disappeared and the staff said "unfortunately we have a business conference taking place in the hotel and they asked to borrow the printer so you can't use it - but ask the staff at the desk if they can help you print your boarding cards". That's inconsiderate towards the hotel's guests and how much would it cost anyway to provide more than one computer and printer? There is free internet, which is excellent but quite common in Montreal hotels, and the signal in my room was rather weak so my iPad couldn't connect. Staff are friendly and helpful. Location very good. However there was nothing to make me feel I'd want to come back. A rather soul-less hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jon_1556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Pros:
- Perfect location – everything in Old Montreal is within easy walking distance, and there is a metro station a few blocks away. There are also plenty of great restaurants nearby (though be prepared for almost every meal in Old Montreal to be fairly expensive).
- The staff was very friendly and helpful. There was always someone to greet us at the door and front desk with a cheerful “Bonjour!”
- Free wifi, which is always a plus.
- Very impressive original art collection throughout the hotel (including Warhol, Lichtenstein, Chagall, and Rauschenberg, to name a few). It almost felt like we were staying in a modern art museum.

Cons:
I was disappointed with the quality of our room (superior queen), especially considering what we paid. The lighting was very poor (don’t bother trying to put makeup on using the mirror in the bedroom – you won’t be able to see anything), the bed was uncomfortable, the walls were paper thin (we could hear entire conversations happening in the hall and rooms next door), and the carpet looked like it had seen better days. For this to be the #3 rated hotel in Montreal, I expected something much nicer.

Conclusion:
You can’t beat the location, and if modern art is your thing then that likely justifies the price. But if you are just looking for a nice, relaxing hotel room, this may not be the best choice.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank larchie214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

First, let me recommend taking the bus from the airport to the hotel. It cost only $8 each versus $40+ tip in a taxi. You buy your ticket, which you could still use on the Metro or bus, in the terminal. It won't give you door to door service,it drops you about 3-4 blocks from the hotel. This wasn't a problem for my wife or me.
Now for the hotel. We found the staff VERY friendly and helpful. The room and bath were immaculate. Our room had an original Chagall oil painting above our bed. There is original art throughout the hotel.
The location was great. It's located in the Old Town area, but 2 blocks from the Metro station which made seeing the other parts of the city such as Outremont, Mount Royal and other neighborhoods easy to get to.We found the Metro very safe and easy to use.
Our advice to anyone visiting Montreal would be to get out of Old Montreal which is very touristy and into the many beautiful neighborhoods especially St.Denis street which has many nice shops and restaurants, which we found were much better than the restaurants in Old Montreal.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TAFROS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#7 of 165 in Montreal
2,478 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#3 of 165 in Montreal
1,108 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#6 of 165 in Montreal
2,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 165 in Montreal
2,064 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#9 of 165 in Montreal
1,774 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#2 of 165 in Montreal
1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LHotel

Address: 262 St Jacques West, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1N1, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Montreal
#11 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#14 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#33 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: $146 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — LHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DARE TO BE ORIGINAL! More than just a hotel, this landmark historic renovated bank is now home to one of the most impressive private art collections in North America on permanent display both in the public spaces as well as our guest rooms and suites. Over 120 Contemporary and Pop artworks feature Litchenstein, Warhol, Miro, Chagall and Botero to name a few. Furthermore, this artful and creative experience extends well beyond the hotel thanks to our Cultural Curator. Elegant, spacious and eclectic, our 56 rooms and suites feature lofty ceilings with large windows, spacious work areas, and luxurious bathrooms and exquisite furnishings. Enjoy daily breakfast served in the privacy of your guestroom or in the Winter Garden Dining Room. Our Botero Wine Bar features private imports by the glass, specially chosen to provide unforgettable tasting experience. Sam Francis Gym, massage room, business center and conference rooms and complimentary WiFi will help make your business or leisure travels unique and memorable. Where else can you have breakfast with Warhol, drinks with Botero and sleep with Litchenstein? Yes, all of our suites and junior suites have original works by world renowned artists! The rooms are memorable but the experience is unforgettable! LHotel is located in the heart of Old Montreal, just steps from the Business District, the Montreal Convention Center, the Old Port and trendy McGill Street. Historic, Artful, Urban. We're more than just a hotel- we're LHotel Montreal...Dare to be original... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your LHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Hotel Montreal
Xixe Siecle Hotel
Xixe Siecle Montreal
Hotel Xix Siecle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing