We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Budget Stay”
Review of Hotel Viger

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Viger
Ranked #113 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed here for one night and were very satisfied with our stay. The room and building were clean, no musty smell! The location was great, basically 10 min walk to Old Montreal, Rene Levesque, St. Catherines St. The staff were nice, we checked in late after calling and updating them with our arrival time. The staff helped me find free street parking. Overall great place if you are on a budget and don't need a modern room. Will definitely be coming back here

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StarWatcher07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (189)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

52 - 58 of 189 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2013

Spent a few nights at this hotel for a budget trip. Hotel staff were excellent, and we were able to get free street parking. Breakfast was tea/coffee juice, crossiants, and muffin. TV was small and dated, fridge in room worked, a/c was fine.

Room was fine for what we needed, had a good night sleep. Bedding was clean.

Only complaint it could have been vaccumed and dusted a bit better.

Location was great - 5 min to Old Montreal, subway was close, lots of restaurants, cafes, bars, grocery store all close. We walked from our hotel to downtown in about 20 mins.

Good for a place to sleep, not a luxury place. May or may not return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel for a number of years for Grand Prix weekend in June. Other Montreal hotels significantly raise their rates and require extended minimums so this is good option for those who want to spend their money elsewhere in Montreal. It is a tourist hotel which includes breakfast and coffee (yes the croissants and muffins come from Costco, but they're good!) and rooms can include refrigerators, TVs, wifi, hair dryer etc. No elevator or other amenities, but clean and safe. We have never had anything stolen or disturbed and the housekeepers have been there for a long time. The management is friendly and accommodating ( they'll keep your luggage safe after you have checked out, for example) The location is the best part - close to the main subway station at Berri-UQAM, a short stroll to Old Montreal as well as St. Catherine Street and the Village ( a mix of gay friendly shops and several restaurants and bars). We love it here and will stay for many more years to come. We have recommended it to several racing friends who now stay there as well.

Room Tip: We prefer higher up and corner room for more light and less noise, but be mindful there is no eleva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ssd3206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I stayed in a small room alone in june 2013. Room clean and quite silent. There was everything you need (air condition, hair dryer, tv...) but no fridge in the room. Weak internet signal in the rooms, but if you come down to the small lobby, perfect and inunterrupted signal. Good and enough breakfast. People are really very interested to the guests. A cheap budget hotel in 10 mn walk to downtown.
I recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank atillabeloglu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Read some of iffy reviews and had a few hesitations but decided to book anyway and I am very glad that I did. The stay was wonderful, I have no idea what some of those other reviewers are talking about. The people working the front desk were extremely helpful, the room was cleaned daily and the location was perfect! We really loved our stay and will certainly refer others to stay at Hotel Viger in the future!

Room Tip: No elevators, so if needed try to book a room on a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HarlemPants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager H, Manager at Hotel Viger, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Dear Guest, thank you for your review. We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Viger and we will be happy to welcome you back at any time. Hotel Viger is located a walking distance from Convention Center, Old Montreal, China Town and Latin Quarter and we do our best to offer our customers the best possible rates in this area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

I'll keep this short..

Great value for the location, however the room had a very funky smell and I knew it was the fridge that might of had some mold in the back. Our car was broken into during the DAY on Sunday while we were out strolling. Don't park your car in their designated lot... Its a bad area. They even broke our center console for some reason. Took all the liqour i had bought for my family as well.

Anyways if you can get a room without a smell and dont have a car.. Then stay here if you are on a budget.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JovieTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

We booked on booking.com and paid only $50 a nite including taxes. We were able to park on the street right outside the hotel, so we saved about $15 /nt. room was very small and in basement, those were the only drawbacks. Location was extremely walkable to all we wanted to see- village, Chinatown, Latin quarter, old montreal, old port. Management was very helpful and courteous. B'fast was good enough for us- lge muffin or croissant, coffee or tea, oj. Enjoyable stay

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suejill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager H, Manager at Hotel Viger, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Dear Suejill, we are very glad that you had a good stay at our hotel. We will be very happy if you will choose our hotel for your next visit to Montreal. Yes, we are indeed located at the walking distance of numerous Montreal attractions, such as: Convention Center, Place-des-Arts, Old Montreal, Chinatown and Latin Quarter. Two subway stations (Cham-de-mars and Berri-UQAM) are also just a short walk away. We really appreciate the positive feedback from the experienced traveller like you. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
The Village (Gay Village)
Hotel Bon Accueil
Hotel Bon Accueil
#109 of 165 in Montreal
70 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Hotel Elegant
Hotel Elegant
#124 of 165 in Montreal
192 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
#86 of 165 in Montreal
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Casa Bella
Hotel Casa Bella
#125 of 165 in Montreal
142 reviews
Motel Le Paysan
#108 of 165 in Montreal
10 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Roberval
Le Roberval
#81 of 165 in Montreal
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Viger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Viger

Address: 1001 Saint-Hubert St, Montreal, Quebec H2L 3Y3, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range: $39 - $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Viger 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is close to the Convention Center, Latin Quarter, China Town and Montreal Arts Museum. Old Montreal - Old Port and Notre Dame Basilica are within walking distance as well. The Hotel Viger Montreal, a Magnuson Hotels affiliate, is located in the center of Montreal, adjacent to the St-Laurent River. Concordia University, Botanical Gardens, Montreal Casino, and the Olympic Stadium are also very close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Viger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viger Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing