We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Met all expectations”
Review of Hotel St-Denis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel St-Denis
Ranked #46 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Met all expectations”
Reviewed August 7, 2014

Great for a 2-3 star hotel. No view from the room but otherwise the room had all amenities and was well maintained. Excellent location near the action but was quiet and comfortable at night. Will stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edm_van
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    361
    104
    17
    8
See reviews for
92
263
97
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

I had a very pleasant one-night stay at this hotel. I basically have no complaints about anything....I did not find the air-con to be loud. The room was comfortable, larger than I expected, and quiet. The bed and toiletries were great. The staff was as well.

I know the area outside is a bit rough with transients and some yahoos. But they are basically just annoying, not harmful. You don't have to walk far in most any direction to get away from it.

Room Tip: I was happy on the third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rockhammerwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2014

This was my second stay at this great little hotel. This time I had a room overlooking Rue St. Denis so I did hear some traffic but it wasn't bothersome. The hotel is older so the rooms are larger and not cramped (though my bathroom was small). This is not a chain hotel but one with a family feel. The desk staff are great - always friendly and helpful. There's no breakfast but there was a coffee maker in the room. The hotel is close to the Old City, shopping on St. Catherine St., nightlife and eateries on St. Denis and Le Village, the Old City, and the Palais des Congres. Its also easy to get to by bus/metro. I was able to leave my suitcase in a locker on my final day.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scd_martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2014

stayed there for conference, had a really quiet room, although I was sceptical since st denis is some kind of party area/night life but my room was really quiet and had good standard, really accessible 24 h,
found out at the last day they have a pool billard in the cellar with tv coffee maker, no breakfast, but anyway you needn't search long to find a coffeeshop nearby, the komiko restaurant right next to I recommend for dinner/lunch, you can drop your baggage in a closet down in the cellar after checkout

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Markus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

When I arrived at the hotel I was a bit nervous because there was graffiti
On the fifth floor outside , then I thought damn how did the little bastards get up there but after getting checked in and laying on the very comfortable bed I thought wow this is worth the price! So far very pleased.
The hotel is very old but completely refurbished. The people here are very pleasant . I'm almost positive on of them was giving me the eye. Lol
Anyway the wifi is great and it is centerly located to several taverns to get me drunk and take taxi back. Paking is in garage and only cost 17.00 for 24 hours. Hotel was only 109.00 for king bed.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Great location in the Latin Quarter beside Rue St. Cathrine. Room was clean but basic, and service was good. It was a little noisy and you can hear people in the hallways but it wasn't too bad. TV didn't work in my room but wasn't bothered by it as all rooms have free Wi-Fi and it is quite fast too. Front desk and staff were always very friendly. Bathroom was small, not very fancy but everything worked fine. When you're out exploring Montreal all day all you need is a nice, clean room in a good location this hotel offers just that and at a great price.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IMTravel95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

I had a week in this hotel recently. Having initially booked a room to sleep four adults, I ended up booking my young adult daughter and her boyfriend into the Hotel Latin Quarter down the road in favour of sleeping in two double beds so close together we could hold hands all night! On the third night, I was upgraded to move to a suite with a jacuzzi for the last five nights and this room was really lovely.
The staff were friendly enough and the rooms clean. I was a little concerned about the security situation after coming home late at night on a couple of occasions to find the hotel entrance wide open to the street without any staff in attendance. This is a problem mostly because of the large number of homeless people wandering this area of the city.
Location wise this is a good choice, easy walk to the old quarter and/or the Jazz Festival site.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Max H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
#74 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
#55 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Quartier des Spectacles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine
Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine
#51 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
#10 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Faubourg Montreal
Hotel Faubourg Montreal
#73 of 163 in Montreal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St-Denis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St-Denis

Property: Hotel St-Denis
Address: 1254 St-Denis | Near Ste-Catherine, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3J6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Montreal
#44 Business Hotel in Montreal
#49 Family Hotel in Montreal
#51 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St-Denis 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel St-Denis has kept the charms of its era and has been modernised to fit today's standards of comfort. Affordably priced rooms, modern amenities, courteous personnel and an outstanding location where it feels like home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel St-Denis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Denis
St Denis Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing