We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location!”
Review of Hotel St-Denis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel St-Denis
Ranked #43 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect location!”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

The hotel was very close to the old city and everywhere else we wanted to go in Montreal, such that we walked everywhere. The room was clean, definitely a little older and pretty simple, but I'd take that over a high-price and poor location any day. The real draw for me was parking. Parking was $16 for 24 hours in an indoor garage. Very important to me as I had read parking in Montreal can be difficult, expensive, and unsafe, sot his was a real asset. Service was very friendly, the concierge helped us find our way around and suggested a few local festivals, one of which we ended up attending and loved! Hotel was quiet at night and we slept well.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    367
    107
    18
    8
See reviews for
95
272
99
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014

This is an older hotel that doesn't look that great from the outside but has very nice rooms. We were upgraded at no cost to a Jacuzzi room, although the view out the window is minimal (another building). The bed was large and comfortable, but the air conditioner was needed in summer and a bit loud. Watch out for the control on the shower as it was reversed and the water was hot. You also had to hold down the handle on the toilet for a full flush. These quibbles aside, the location is perfect - right near the Berri-UQAM Metro stop and a short walk to Old Montreal and the Port, the Village, Place des Artes, etc. The 747 bus from the airport stops just blocks from the hotel. Staff were helpful and allowed me to print boarding passes at the end of the trip. I would recommend this hotel but the price does go up during major events. No breakfast, but plenty of good places nearby in the 1500-1600 blocks of St. Denis.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back away from the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MP830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

Got there around 9pm and the area looked kind of shady so first impression was negative. You HAVE to leave the luggage first and then park because there is no access to the hotel from the parking. Other than that it was Great. The room was comfortable for 4 people and more important, it was very clean. People at the front desk were friendly. It's super close to UQAM, tourist areas and the Metro. Overall it was a good stay at a good hotel in a not so fancy area of the Latin Quarter.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank carolandjey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2014

The reception staff are very friendly & helpful. The location though is not the most desirable & I was glad I was their with three other adults two of which were men. The rooms are big & comfortable but the views of the fire escape was a bit dark. The hotel is close to a underground station so very easy to get around and the hotel's car park is safe & good value.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoxyRowland1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Combermere, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

A friend and I booked into the Hotel St-Denis earlier this week and it immediately brought back memories of many small hotels I've stayed at throughout Europe with narrow street façade, small lobby, and friendly staff. OK, so I really felt like a tourist.
Our room was very clean with plenty of room to move around. the bathroom was extremely clean and there was plenty of hot water and fresh fluffy towels.
Located on Saint-Denis street, it is an easy walk to dozens of interesting restaurants including two new restaurants that had been open for less than a week: CINKO where all plates are $5, and Restaurant Koreana which serves some great Korean food.
Parking is just around the corner in a very clean parking garage and access to and from the garage is controlled with an easy to use swipe card provided by the hotel. (Remember to return it when you leave).
Cable TV provided plenty of English and French stations and WiFi was provided for free.
Hotel St-Denis is now on my list of considerations for future trips to Montreal.

Room Tip: Our room on the first floor (level 2) was very quiet and close to the top of the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kentwaddington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 21, 2014

This was our first stay in Montreal. The hotel was in a pretty good location...the bus stop is only a block or two away, and there are plenty of restaurants and cafe's within a short walking distance. Also the underground is not too far away...The staff is friendly and very accommodating(speaking French and English with ease). We had to leave our luggage although we had checked out, and they kept it safe, including laptops. The attached restaurant is quaint and the food is very good! The rooms are clean and comfortable, and wifi is easy connection. We were looking for a simple place, and we found it...for the money it is an excellent hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the back away from the traffic if you are a light sleeper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Everywas wonwonderful. The staff were gregreat, polite and helpful. The location was perfect with easy access to every thing we wanted to so. It was quiet and a great overall experience. We have already stated that on our next trip to Montreal we will stay at the Hotel St. Denis again! It was a refreshing pleasure.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobandStacey2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
#77 of 164 in Montreal
568 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Auberge Le Pomerol
Auberge Le Pomerol
#41 of 164 in Montreal
531 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Quartier des Spectacles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
#12 of 164 in Montreal
253 reviews
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine
Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine
#53 of 164 in Montreal
409 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
#52 of 164 in Montreal
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St-Denis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St-Denis

Property: Hotel St-Denis
Address: 1254 St-Denis | Near Ste-Catherine, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3J6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Montreal
#44 Business Hotel in Montreal
#49 Family Hotel in Montreal
#51 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St-Denis 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel St-Denis has kept the charms of its era and has been modernised to fit today's standards of comfort. Affordably priced rooms, modern amenities, courteous personnel and an outstanding location where it feels like home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel St-Denis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Denis
St Denis Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing