We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, modern and walking distance to Old Montreal”
Review of Hotel St-Denis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel St-Denis
Ranked #44 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Lancaster, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Clean, modern and walking distance to Old Montreal”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for one night and really enjoyed it. The location was excellent in the Latin Quarter and a short walk to Old Montreal. There were plenty of restaurants nearby. We felt very safe and comfortable here and will definitely return. It was pretty easy to drive to coming off the Jacques-Cartier Bridge.

We splurged and got the jacuzzi suite which was well worth it. The view out of our window wasn't great, but the room was exceptionally clean and modern. We booked in advance directly through the hotel website, got a discount and the total bill came to $179 cdn, which included parking ($16) and all taxes.

The hotel does not have a lot of amenities, but the rooms come with a refrigerator, coffee pot, hair dryer, iron & ironing board and free high speed internet.

The service was very good and employees helpful with any questions about restaurants, shopping or anything else.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WilsonP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    370
    109
    18
    8
See reviews for
96
275
99
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

This hotel is centrally located at Berri UQAM. The Metro station is only 1 block away, and there are many restaurants in the vicinity. It is within walkable distance to Old Town, Chinatown, Sainte Catherine, and even Mont Royal.

Rooms are well-sized and clean. There were a few small problems such as sinks that don't drain properly etc, but nothing major. TV was a huge 40" LCD, very nice touch.

Staff were polite and efficient. They were also ready to answer any questions or entertain any requests. The staff made a mistake with one request that I made; I was given free breakfast for it. A hotel that tries to right things.

Room facing street was not that noisy, as some have indicated. I didn't hear anything as the sound of the air conditioning masked everything.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parcheesee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

The room was what I expected. Parking was easy and just around the corner. You are able to park in front of hotel for 15 min to unload your luggage. Very central and rooms were clean. Chain on the blinds fell off when I tried to use it so I had to roll the blinds up and down manually. We did not have a fridge but we were provided one when we asked. No go view from the room.

Room Tip: Room at the upper back of the hotel was quiet. No breakfast included.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellor5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I booked this hotel based on the reviews on this website and the proximity to Old Montreal and I have to say that we were not disappointed. The service was good. Checking in was a breeze. The room was nice and clean. The area surrounding the hotel was quite dodgy though and smelly. Parking was $16 for 24 hours so get ready to walk if you want to maximize the parking fee. Good thing it was pretty close to Metro stations and Old Montreal. Close walk to restaurants and night life too. Overall a very nice time and I would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: rooms away from the street would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rolliecoaster16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Don't expect a palace, by any stretch of the imagination. As we approached at 10.00 pm after a long journey by bus, we got rather a shock from the exterior of the hotel, wondering if we had made a mistake. However, once inside we found a very comfortable place to stay, right in the heart of the action of Montreal city. The old town was an easy walk, as was the Latin Quarter, the metro and the bus station (connecting to the airport and other destinations). It all depends what you want from your stay in Montreal. If you want very clean, comfortable accommodation at a reasonable price with easy access to everything you would want to see, good service and information from the staff and nothing else, this is the hotel for you. Tip - the restaurant for breakfast next door is really good value, varied choice, excellent service and nice food.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolnIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Basic hotel. Very clean and well maintained with a friendly helpful staff. Coffee pot in room, no fridge or microwave. Ice machine in lobby. Good location on Rue St. Denis and Rue St. Catherine, by U. of Quebec. Many restaurants of varying ethnicities on Rue St. Denis. We don't spend much time in the hotel room other than to wash and sleep, so it worked out very well. It is also close to the bus stop to the airport. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I found this hotel thru Tripadvisor.
We love staying at locations that others may feel are not like the named brands.
This hotel is located in downtown Montreal, maybe not to the liking of some, but we loved the location. You have shops and many choices of dining next door and others just a couple of blocks away. The staff was outstanding, answered our many questions, offered advice of tours and dining. This is a old building and you can feel the history when you walk thru the front door. I understand this was constructed after WW1 to house the returning troops. Also had other uses, but was turned into this hotel.

Room Tip: I don't think you could make a bad choice of rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stuart O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
The Village (Gay Village)
Auberge Le Pomerol
Auberge Le Pomerol
#48 of 165 in Montreal
540 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Quartier des Spectacles
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
#81 of 165 in Montreal
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine
Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine
#52 of 165 in Montreal
415 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
#53 of 165 in Montreal
832 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
#13 of 165 in Montreal
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St-Denis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St-Denis

Property: Hotel St-Denis
Address: 1254 St-Denis | Near Ste-Catherine, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3J6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Montreal
#44 Business Hotel in Montreal
#49 Family Hotel in Montreal
#51 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St-Denis 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel St-Denis has kept the charms of its era and has been modernised to fit today's standards of comfort. Affordably priced rooms, modern amenities, courteous personnel and an outstanding location where it feels like home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel St-Denis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Denis
St Denis Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing