We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”
Review of Hotel St-Denis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel St-Denis
Ranked #46 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 27, 2013

The hotel is in a great part of Montreal and the room was very clean and well decorated. The staff were very helpful and attentive. The price, relative to similar offerings, was very reasonable. I plan to stay there again the next time I am in Montreal.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
3  Thank Devika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (691)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

300 - 306 of 691 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2013

This hotel is perfectly located.. Walking distance to Old Montreal, Rue St. Denis, Rue St. Catherines and metro stations. The rooms were very clean and the staff was wonderful, not to mention the price is perfect!! I will stay at this hotel every time I'm in Montreal from now

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Justine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for five nights and it was a very pleasant stay. The room and reception area were very clean and comfortable. The staff were helpful and answered all our questions. It is in a university neighborhood with many good restaurants and shops within an easy walking distance. Parking is in a lot around the corner, but this was not a problem and our car was safe and secure the entire time.
The only drawback is that rooms on the street are a bit noisy, but we had the windows open because of unseasonably warm weather. This might not be a problem other times of the year.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claire1844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Was happily surprised by the size of the room for the rate charged. Close to restaurants, subway and other services. Front desk was always helpful.Probably the best wi-fi service of any hotel I've used in Montreal. The hotel is an old one and it sometimes shows- not a boutique hotel, but a good, clean, relatively cheap place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Happybarbarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

This hotel is ideally located, and the rooms are quite large and comfortable. It even has satellite tv. And it has underground parking at a reasonable rate for a city setting. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Would look for a room overlooking Rue St Denis.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robert499250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Mehran Z
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Thank you TripAdvisor for leading me to this little gem of a hotel in the Latin quarter of Montreal. We visited for 3 nights in April and were delighted. Yes the rooms are basic but large and everything in them is clean, tidy and well maintained. King bed is massive and super comfortable! Bathrooms are spotless. Wifi is very fast. (2nd floor). Coffee maker in the room with daily replenishment of supplies is a really useful touch especially when coming in from the cold. Reception was friendly but we had no call to use them. There are no food or drink facilities in the hotel except a vending and ice machines but there are lots of places immediately outside on Rue St Denis.
I may not want to stay here for a full week, but as a base for a short stay when you're going to be out and about it's location, price and overall standard make it hard to beat. Highly recommended.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank MatthewManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
The Village (Gay Village)
Auberge Le Pomerol
Auberge Le Pomerol
#54 of 165 in Montreal
562 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Quartier des Spectacles
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
#86 of 165 in Montreal
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
#52 of 165 in Montreal
857 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Le Relais Lyonnais
Le Relais Lyonnais
#38 of 165 in Montreal
397 reviews
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine
Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine
#51 of 165 in Montreal
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St-Denis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St-Denis

Address: 1254 St-Denis | Near Ste-Catherine, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3J6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Montreal
#44 Business Hotel in Montreal
#49 Family Hotel in Montreal
#51 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: $101 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St-Denis 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel St-Denis has kept the charms of its era and has been modernised to fit today's standards of comfort. Affordably priced rooms, modern amenities, courteous personnel and an outstanding location where it feels like home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel St-Denis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Denis
St Denis Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing