We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great find.”
Review of Hotel St-Denis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel St-Denis
Ranked #46 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A great find.”
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Thank you TripAdvisor for leading me to this little gem of a hotel in the Latin quarter of Montreal. We visited for 3 nights in April and were delighted. Yes the rooms are basic but large and everything in them is clean, tidy and well maintained. King bed is massive and super comfortable! Bathrooms are spotless. Wifi is very fast. (2nd floor). Coffee maker in the room with daily replenishment of supplies is a really useful touch especially when coming in from the cold. Reception was friendly but we had no call to use them. There are no food or drink facilities in the hotel except a vending and ice machines but there are lots of places immediately outside on Rue St Denis.
I may not want to stay here for a full week, but as a base for a short stay when you're going to be out and about it's location, price and overall standard make it hard to beat. Highly recommended.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank MatthewManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    360
    104
    17
    8
See reviews for
92
262
97
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I booked this Hotel for 3 nights while in town for the MTL ComicCon. There were wonderful reviews, it was close enough to the convention centre and it was a great price. When we arrived there it was fairly late (2am) and there was no one in the lobby. Finally I saw a man in a security uniform coming from a group of jus across the street and into the hotel, turns out he was the night guy. He didn't speaks word of English so it was very hard to figure out where the parking was (although he did seem friendly, I just couldn't understand him). When that was found I thought it was a bit shady (around the corner and kinda in an alleyway) but that could have been because it was 2am. Elevator was very small and when we got into out room it was fairly average but what was expected for the price. Upon further "investigation" we noticed the window was open already, the air conditioner unit in the window was not in very well, the toilet had dirty water in it (and the paper seal thing was not there), and the bed/shower curtains had stains. If all of those things were not present, it would have been a fairly decent hotel for the price but unfourtunatly they were there. Needless to say we were up at 8 am and booked into the Holiday Inn by 8:30 and out of there by 9. Hopefully others looking into the hotel have a better experience.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mstephh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed April 4, 2013

This was a second stay at this hotel. The accommodations are basic but adequate for the price. The rooms are updated, very clean and spacious. Most importantly the beds are extremely comfortable. Also, the staff is always very kind and helpful. The location is great for us as we were attending an all weekend event at the L'Olympia Theater which was only a few blocks away on Rue Ste Catherine. Everything we needed was within walking distance. Definitely will stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side of the hotel are quieter and if you would like a very spacious room opt for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Misty2000_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Selected this hotel for a long weekend based on the good reviews here and wasn't disappointed. The facade of the hotel doesn't do the inside justice. The lobby, hallway, and rooms are all nice and clean. We were on the 4th floor facing the opposite side of the street. The king bed was soft and provided for a good night sleep. LCD TV with a ton of channels and free WIFI. The folks manning the lobby are all helpful (thank you!).

The location of the hotel provides walking distance to the subway and a list of restaurants (Vietnamese, Spanish, etc). Montreal is a bit like Boston in the sense that a lot can be reached by walking (if a 15 - 30 minute walk doesn't scare you). The subway is a block away and combined with a public transportation pass there is really no need for a car.

A tip to save $40 back to the airport: the 747 bus to the airport departs on block away. We happened to have used a 1 day public transportation pass the day before and had some time left on it which allowed us to take the bus to the airport in the morning. Takes about 40 minutes. A great public transportation deal.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank boston808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Hotel St. Denis is an exceptional value. It is far from the nicest hotel I've ever stayed at but look at the price and clearly it won't be as nice as a place that's $2-300 per night. It is charming and clean. My room was given a free upgrade so I had a suite. The second room was odd because it featured a couple of chairs, mini fridge and large whirlpool tub (thanks but no thanks). Still the room had everything we needed, plenty of space and faux hardwood floors (much better then a typical hotel carpet IMO).

Parking was close by and reasonably priced. It is close to the Metro station but everywhere I needed to go was within a 2 mile walk and I don't mind walking to explore the city. The neighborhood is not the best but not the worst either.

If I return to Montreal I would definitely look to stay at Hotel St. Denis again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
391 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Good location. 1 block away from the metro station. Only 4 metro stops from central station. Lots of shops around the hotel. Walking distance into the shopping area.

The rooms are comfortable & spacious. The cleaners do a good job cleaning the room. Wifi signal is strong in the room.

Room rates are affordable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thebudgetbeauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

I would have to say I would defiantly go back to this hotel if I went back to Montreal. The room was very clean. Its a basic room for a great price. Plus the location was great. Everything seemed close by i.e. Old Montreal, greyhound station /Berri station. I have no complains.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yazzie_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
#73 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
#56 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Quartier des Spectacles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine
Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine
#47 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
#10 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Faubourg Montreal
Hotel Faubourg Montreal
#71 of 163 in Montreal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St-Denis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St-Denis

Property: Hotel St-Denis
Address: 1254 St-Denis | Near Ste-Catherine, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3J6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Montreal
#44 Business Hotel in Montreal
#49 Family Hotel in Montreal
#51 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St-Denis 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel St-Denis has kept the charms of its era and has been modernised to fit today's standards of comfort. Affordably priced rooms, modern amenities, courteous personnel and an outstanding location where it feels like home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel St-Denis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Denis
St Denis Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing