We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel, good price”
Review of Hotel St-Denis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel St-Denis
Ranked #46 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
toronto
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good hotel, good price”
Reviewed October 29, 2011

We booked the hotel last weekend for 2 nights, after searching high and low for a centrally located hotel, that was near everything but not too expensive. The location is not bad, it's near a club, which we already knew at the time of booking, and requested a room in the back. On the plus side, it's less than a couple minutes walk to the UQAM subway station.
The room was small but really clean, and super quiet. Small but clean bathroom, I was happy. I loved the hardwood floors in the room, rather than the usual dirty carpets in hotels.
The restaurant next door had one of the best eggs benedict (florentine) I've ever had.
On the negative side - it seems like it used to be a smoking hotel, and it was quite apparent in the room. But on the whole, will definitely go again, the price can't be beaten.

Room Tip: book on a higher floor, in the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mankoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    361
    104
    17
    8
See reviews for
92
263
97
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

This is a typical European hotel..I was on the first floor so took the stairs (which I liked) Very small elevators and narrow halls. The room was VERY tiny, you would not be able to fit two people in the bathroom at the same time. However, I like the laminate floors, the bed was super comfy. It was not very soundproof and I was woken by people talking and partying through the night. It is walking distance to simply everything and the price was so reasonable through Expedia. It was listed as a 3 star hotel..I would consider it a 2.5 or 2. For the price and location I would recommend it.

Room Tip: I think the rooms at the back of the hotel would be more quiet...I was on the street side and this i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calgarybizlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Qld
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2011

Great location 1 block from a restaurant and cafe district. 100 meters from the Berri Metro station and airport shuttle.
Rooms are large with new fit out, large comfortable bed and plenty of room for luggage.
Breakfast in the restaurant next door is of a very high standard.
There really arent any negatives to report with this hotel.

Stay here with confidence.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benicio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allegany, New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2011

We stayed for 4 nights here in Montreal, and we had an excellent experience. The room (and the hotel in general) was very quiet, everything was clean and worked well, the staff were friendly and helpful enough. The room was more than satisfactory - the bed was comfortable, the updated wood flooring was clean and aesthetically pleasing (although it might be cold in winter). The wifi worked fine, the TV worked fine, the hot water worked fine. We asked for a refrigerator and received one within 15 minutes! This hotel is located in a University district (UQAM) just one block from a major Metro hub, so it was very easy to get around to anyplace we wanted to go in the city. It was also a doable walk to the Old City, although the weather wasn't great during our stay, so we used the Metro often. There's a very nice, reasonably priced restaurant right next door with a great wait staff. The only downside was that we had to pay extra for parking (at a nearby underground lot) but we knew that beforehand, so no unpleasant surprises there. This hotel was not luxurious, but clean & comfortable and definitely an excellent value for our needs and our budget. We would definitely stay there again on our next visit to Montreal.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjasis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, B.C. Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

I stayed for 5 days and couldn't find anything to complain about. I asked for a quiet room and was given a very quiet room at the back. Everything worked well, the elevator and the A/C and the plumbing and all that. Hot water appeared quickly, no waiting 5 minute for it to work up from the basement or anything like that. Bed was firm and comfortable. Staff were friendly and helpful. As others mentioned, I really liked the updated wood flooring in the room. The carpeting and trim in the corridors has seen better days, but that didn't really affect my stay.
I would definitely stay at this hotel again on my next visit to Montreal.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BintiDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

I got exactly what I was hoping for, at the price I paid: solid, clean, quiet room, VERY comfortable bed, polite service. If you aren't looking to stay in your room, this is a perfect place. (I was in town for hockey, and so I was out most of the time. When I came back, there was enough room for my equipment to dry out overnight.) It's near the central subway crossroads and the arts area, and the gay village and latin quarter.

The (minor faults): Walls are a bit thin. The overnight parking is $16, not bad for Montreal; but the underground lot, next door, is down a rather sketchy street (Christin). The UQAM area is quite central, though parts of nearby Ste Catherine are a bit rough.

Room Tip: I asked for a room facing the back, away from the traffic on St Denis.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
187 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights. The room was comfortable and clean. Bathroom very small. It is an older hotel that has been renovated a few years ago. The location (very close to the Metro and at a hub station) is excellent. You can get a train to the botanical gardens, Olympic stadium, Champ de Mars for the old part of town or just to go downtown. There is a good restaurant just next door that has good food,fair prices and a character for waiter - very entertaining and interesting! The free wi fi took a while to come on line but worked well afterwards. The desk staff were a bit detached but that is big cities. I would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petsaloz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
#74 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
#55 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Quartier des Spectacles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine
Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine
#51 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
#10 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Faubourg Montreal
Hotel Faubourg Montreal
#73 of 163 in Montreal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St-Denis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St-Denis

Property: Hotel St-Denis
Address: 1254 St-Denis | Near Ste-Catherine, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3J6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Montreal
#44 Business Hotel in Montreal
#49 Family Hotel in Montreal
#51 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St-Denis 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel St-Denis has kept the charms of its era and has been modernised to fit today's standards of comfort. Affordably priced rooms, modern amenities, courteous personnel and an outstanding location where it feels like home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel St-Denis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Denis
St Denis Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing