We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Still Lovely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le St-James

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Le St-James
Ranked #14 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Still Lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Just returned from our second stay at the St. James; the first was seven years prior, and it has retained its luster and continues to set the bar for service. The hotel is also one of the best examples of adaptive reuse to be found; the charm of the original bank building structure remains with modern thoroughly modern touches (the LED Do Not Disturb\Cleaning Requested lights) mixed in with carefully selected design details (a Double Slipper Claw foot Tub with lion paw feet in addition to a spa shower in striking dark marble). The hotel is boutique-sized, and each room is individually decorated; perfect for those of us who are not wild about corporate chain hotels, high end or no. It was truly a pleasure to return to the St. James to relax after a day spent sightseeing or with our family and friends.

Our suite contained an electronic fireplace, which was not functioning when we flipped the switch, so the staff went to work immediately to solve the problem, and was successful after 20 minutes of tinkering. (Although Montreal was warm during the day, we were able to use the fireplace at night to warm the room.) The staff was also able to obtain a rental car for us during a time when almost no cars were available--we had forgotten to make a reservation before our arrival and were taking a trip to the countryside the following day. The staff booked the car and had it delivered to the hotel the morning following our arrival.

One notable change was in the restaurant, XO; the sommeliers that made our first stay and dining experience so outstanding and were ranked #1 and #2 in the country are no longer there. We had the only faltering note in our stay at the restaurant with the tasting menu; the second and dessert courses were strong, but the rest seemed as if they needed more time in the lab. I also ordered room service at the end of our stay, and the food and service was back up to its previous high standard.

All in all we felt very well taken care of, and we’re looking forward to our next trip to Montreal—can’t imagine staying anywhere else but in the elegant comfort of Le St. James.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelBugLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    73
    19
    6
    7
See reviews for
47
252
21
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

If you want a hotel in a great location, with very nice rooms and helpful staff, and you don't mind paying, then this is the hotel to choose.
The hotel delivers on what is promises - a luxury experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boy4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Our family stayed at the St James last Fall and the visit was amazing. This was the first time we had traveled with our newborn and arrived by car with her and our sweet pup. As a traveler, who myself would have been surprised and a little skeptical to see a family pile out all together, I felt we were greeted with the warmest of welcomes and all of our "gear" was quickly whisked away to our room. What a relief! No only were the staff exceptionally welcoming on arrival, when we arrived to our (beautiful) jr suite there was a crib, dog bowl, dog bed and even doggie treats all set-up. The suite was spacious, exceptionally clean, comfortable, with a large marble bathroom with shower and tub. There was a sitting area with raised ceiling and all the furnishings were perfect.

We used all of the services from the gym, to in-room dining, to the spa. While the gym was very small, I was the only one using it and it had all of the main pieces of equipment I use (treadmill, and light free-weights, and mat). The spa experience was fantastic. It is located right next to the gym in an old vault. It too is small, very boutique feeling and personal. Instead of larger changing rooms that males or females share, they had a personal changing rooms with shower, etc. The massage was unbelievable. I recommend trying out the spa services if you are interested.

In room dining was fantastic. Prompt, courteous, and delicious.

If looking for: boutique, personal (but not overbearing) attention, luxurious comfort, superb service, and central location in Montreal THIS is the ONLY place to stay.

If looking for: large hotel/resort, anonymity, big lobby, hustle and bustle, scheduled activities and pool-- look elsewhere.

We have stayed at many of the other luxury hotel chains in Canada, such as the Fairmont, but felt that the experience at the St. James was far superior for the intimate feel, boutique environment, and personalized service. We can not wait to stay here again!

Room Tip: we stayed in the jr suite and loved it, but can not compare to other rooms in the hotel as this was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vacation_loverTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

The desk staff was superb in all respects. The room was lovely and everything worked except the air-conditioning (on the hottest day of 2013, I think). The staff at first claimed it was just off for too long and needed some time ( 1 degree per hour which would have meant about 10 hours to fix), which we knew was just wrong. They finally agreed (the front desk pushed the engineers) and it did get fixed. The only other problem was that on our last morning (we needed to get to the airport, of course), the dining room waiter forgot we were there (a different waiter from the prior two mornings) and didn't notice that we had been waiting a half hour for breakfast that had been ordered while others were served (there were three other tables that had guests and two waiters, so the problem was just inattentiveness). When we finally got his attention, he found that the kitchen had forgotten the order. All kinds of apologies from the woman in charge of the dining room (who should have been walking the floor looking for problems). This kind of thing sometimes happens when dining rooms are less busy; the staff takes a mental holiday. The breakfast was, when it came, excellent--and we made our plane with plenty of time. Just an annoyance.

All that said, this was a very, very good hotel that just had a momentary lapse.

The old construction is great. Absolute quiet in the rooms, heavy doors and no sound of people walking overhead.

The exercise room is tiny, but okay for the basic good equipment (no free weights) if only one or two other people are in it. The spa rating is really for the exercise room. We only looked at the spa which is small, but well appointed. Make reservations well in advance, because it is not staffed full time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dls0140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two nights August 2-4. The hotel is sumptuous in every way - the rooms, lobby, restaurant, and the wonderful statuary. The staff including doormen, concierges, reception, room service, housekeeping, were all very helpful, courteous, and remarkably bilingual.
We were upgraded to a elegant wood panelled suite which was luxuriously comfortable.
The XO Restaurant has wonderful cuisine.
We cannot recommend this hotel too highly. If you want refined and elegant rooms in a terrific location. Le St. James is for you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SocratesCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeStJames, Manager at Hotel Le St-James, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Mr. SocratesCanada,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review about your recent experience at Hotel Le St-James.

Le St-James Team is very humbled by all of your kind words. It was truly a great pleasure to host you!

Please do not hesitate to contact us at 514-841-3111, if we may be of any assistance during your next trip to Montréal.

Have a wonderful day!

Kindest regards,

Elizabeth Glimenaki
Vice President, Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Beautiful hotel! The best in Old Montreal. The service was impeccable. We were upgraded to a beautiful room with a nice sitting area and the bed was comfortable. Gorgeous bathroom and the pressure of the water is top notch!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sofia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeStJames, Manager at Hotel Le St-James, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Mrs. Sofia R.,

Thank you for sharing your excellent comments with the Trip Advisor community.
It was a pleasure hosting you!

We look forward to welcoming you at Hotel Le St-James again soon.

With very kind regards,

Elizabeth Glimenaki
Vice President, Sales and Marketing
514-841-3111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed over the July 4th holiday and found the hotel very comfortable and very convenient to Old Montreal and the Jazz Festival. It's a five minute walk to Old Montreal and was a 10-15 minute walk to the Jazz Festival. We were upgraded to a deluxe or superior junior suite which had a nice sitting area and a large marble bathroom. The hotel was quiet and the A/C worked well which was important because it was hot out. Staff were all very helpful. It's a little more expensive than a lot of the hotels but you are guaranteed good service and quality. We didn't eat any meals there because we wanted to check out Montreal's other venues.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happytravels18_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#2 of 165 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,122 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
#1 of 165 in Montreal
5.0 of 5 stars 683 reviews
Quartier International
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#8 of 165 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,807 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#6 of 165 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,057 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#7 of 165 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le St-James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le St-James

Property: Hotel Le St-James
Address: 355 St-Jacques, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1N9, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier International
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#4 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#11 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#31 Business Hotel in Montreal
#35 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Le St-James 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Member of The Leading Hotels of the World, renowned for its warm professional service, exceptional interiors and avant-garde elegance, this timeless grand hotel has become the benchmark of hospitality in Canada. This historic building, dating from 1870, is ideally situated in vibrant Old Montreal with easy access to shopping areas, restaurants, and the financial center. With impeccably detailed guest accommodations, each room and suite possesses its own character and personal charm. XO Le Restaurant offers its guests a modern and innovative cuisine. Le Spa served as the "Merchants Bank" vault. The stone wall is the original wall of fortification of Montreal which was preserved and now contributes to the peaceful candlelit setting we offer for the ultimate relaxation experience. Hotel Le St-James is a Certificate of Excellence 2014 winner with Trip Advisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TravelClick, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Le St-James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le St James
Le St James Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing