We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$219
$171
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$248
$214
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$184
$171
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$185
$174
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$211
$204
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$183
$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$187
$182
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 32% below average rates

The price you found is 32% lower than this hotel's average rate of $269/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Nelligan(Montreal)
$266
$227
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$297
$274
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (562)
Filter reviews
563 results
Traveler rating
417
94
30
9
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
417
94
30
9
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful hotelbank buildingsuperior junior suiteold montrealroom serviceturn down serviceeach eveninghotel experiencebeautiful roomlarge bathroomthe ritzhigh ceilingsvisiting montrealxospaconciergedoorman
Filter
Updating list...
331 - 336 of 563 reviews
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We've stayed at Le. St. James once before and this time was just as amazing! The whole experience from check in, to the bar service, to continental breakfast was top notch. The staff is responsive and professional but still friendly. My spouse has a deep tissue massage in the spa and he said it was great. Location is perfect on the border of Old Montreal and downtown is just a short walk or Square Victoria metro is close by. The hotel furnishings are old world luxurious and the hotel is spotless. Our only complaint was our room 808 had no bathtub but otherwise it has every amenity we wanted with classical music playing in your room when you arrive. We loved the library off the lobby where they will serve you drinks by the fire. Yannis the concierge booked our dinner at a local place and made everything so easy. We booked our room through Trip Advisor/Expedia and got a great deal with a spa certificate, welcome drink and continental breakfast included. Sign of a classy hotel - when we went to the bar to buy our welcome drink it wasn't limited but we could order anything we wanted. So, we had our welcome drink and stayed for another! Highly recommend this hotel!!!

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a bathtub if this is important to you as our room 808 did not have one. 808 also did not have a view although we were okay with this.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TessBerwyn_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeStJames, Director of Sales at Hotel Le St-James, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Dear TesBerwyn.PA,

Greetings from Montreal!

Thank you for your kind review. We made sure to thank Yannis our concierge as well as our massage therapists at the Spa on your behalf.

Sincere regards,

Elizabeth Glimenaki
VP Sales and Marketins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Great place. Great location. Great service. Went there for the weekend with very high expectations, and they met every single one of them. The XO restaurant at ithe hotel, and the spa also spectacular. Would not try lany oter place in Montreal.

Room Tip: There is only 1 elevator, so you may want to choose a lower floor in case you need to use the stairs.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jorge P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeStJames, Director of Sales at Hotel Le St-James, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Dear Jorge P.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience. We sincerely hope we will get the opportunity to host you again soon!

Cordially,

Elizabeth Glimenaki
VP Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Had a 3 night stay a few rainy weekends ago, but it was still lovely, and near shopping and restaurants. Just had to use the hotel umbrellas or taxis. Room was great; we had an executive suite, with a separate living room. Decor is warm and interesting; a nice change from slick and sleek. A modern look wouldn't suit the building. Bright white bathroom with heated floor had both tub and rainhead shower (with a glass door, not curtain like some have commented). It was nice to have a huge stack of towels, and plentiful hooks and bars to hang them on (often strangely lacking in hotels). Opening the heavy drapes in the room lets the heat circulate better, but there are still blackout blinds on the windows to allow a nice long sleep in the morning.
If you book through a Virtuoso travel agent you get a lot of perks: free full breakfast each morning, $50 dinner credit at XO (very good, and you can bring your bottle of wine back to your room), 2 welcome cocktails at bar (also yummy) and a spa credit. We made use of them all.
Couples massage was great, in a very nice stone walled room, with extremely comfy massage tables and warm cozy blankets. Still got appointment although we booked only the day before for a weekend afternoon. Gym was small but functional.
Staff was friendly, helpful and prompt.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caprifam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeStJames, Director of Sales at Hotel Le St-James, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Dear Digger 123,

We are very proud of your fantastic review and would like to sincerely thank you for choosing Hotel Le St-James during your last stay in Montreal. We made sure to share your kind words with our entire team.

We are looking forward to host you again!

Sincerely yours,

Elizabeth Glimenaki
VP sales and marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a weekend break at the Hotel St James to celebrate my birthday. I chose this hotel due to its rating on Trip Advisor and for its proximity to the historic area of the city. The hotel is aesthetically prettier and more historic than the other hotels. The other major chain hotels are all ugly, concrete towers thrown up in a less discerning era.
I was prepared to pay a little more for this as I like to treat myself from time to time. The ambience in the hotel was classic and made me feel special. I loved the library and enjoyed sitting by the fire after being outside in the chilly November weather.
Our room was rather disappointing, although I suppose it was one of the cheaper rooms. It was dark, small and cold, we fiddled with the thermostat but it didnt change the heat. Turns out the room temperatures are managed by a computer in the office and it showed the room as being within their acceptable level, so we were lumbered. The windows of the hotel were dirty and even opening the blinds didn't help light the room.
The bed was small and low and the decor was not to my taste, I mean, leopard print carpet .... really ?
Luckily the bathroom, in comparison was luxurious, with lovely heated marble floors. although only one small vanity basin and no bath. The shower was nice and large but with a cheap shower curtain which allowed water to escape onto the marble floor if you didn't arrange the shower. Nice Molton Brown products and lots of lovely towels.
For any woman of a certain age a little tip here, after having had my hair cut and styled for the trip I stepped into the shower and pulled the wrong shower dial. It was the rain shower instead of the body shower and I was drenched from far above and hair ruined !!! Totally my fault .... but should have had a video camera there to record my reaction !!
Room service was very expensive, so we went out for breakfast and I missed having my tea to start the day. Nice hotel staff and the room was well looked after by the chambermaids. The bar staff were a little more haughty and we were left sitting for a little too long for our night cap.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WIFEANDMUMOF3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeStJames, Director of Sales at Hotel Le St-James, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Dear Ms. Birthday Girl,

We were honoured that you chose the St-James to celebrate your Birthday. We are pleased that you appreciated the historical heritage of our building and that the aesthetical part of the hotel was to your liking. The exterior windows are cleaned religiously twice a month. We are in the center of Montreal where dust does accumulate at a quick pace. The interior of our windows are cleaned daily.
There are indeed a few rooms that have showers only. We do our best to provide bathtubs when available.
We hope we will have another opportunity to host you at Hotel Le St-James. Please feel free to contact me personnally and we will do our very best to make your next stay a memorable one.

Warm regards,

Elizabeth Glimenaki
VP Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

A truly sensuous pleasure. Outstanding friendly and well-groomed staff. Courteous. Loved the cool phone in room where you can control the lights Small gym. Wonderful massage treatments. Deep tissue massage was just that. Beautiful appointed rooms. Shower only in room but what a delight. XO restaurant is romantic and great wine selections. Love the warmth of this hotel.

Room Tip: Our room only had a shower
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PedroandDixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeStJames, Director of Sales at Hotel Le St-James, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Dear Pedro and Dixie,

On behalf of the entire team of Hotel Le St-James, thank you for your kind words! The pleasure was mutual. We certainly hope to see you again soon!

Best regards,

Elizabeth Glimenaki
VP Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews