We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'll be back”
Review of Hotel Le St-James

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Le St-James
Ranked #53 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Loved the hotel Great value
Daniel Bruno a bell man was so so helpful!
He needs a raise
I had a large room and it was very clean. The hotel reminded me of days gone past at the Mount Royal LHotel is in a great location close to old Montreal

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (550)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

328 - 334 of 550 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2012

We've been twice to the St-James for our 5th and 11th anniverssaries and we are just impressed by the luxury surrounding the beautiful rooms, the amenities (e.g. the library and the restaurant look amazing), the cool phone in the room (with it you can control the room lights), and the nice washroom to name a few.

Our first time around we got a room that didn't have the earth-tone colors I was expecting (mostly white and gray) but nevertheless was a great stay. So the second time I asked specifically to get an earth-tone color room (a Superior Junior Suite) and I was not disappointed. Gorgeous room!

The restaurant serves delicious food, especially at supper time. I really commend the chef as it's the tastiest food I've eaten in Montreal!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Irving A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeStJames, Director of Sales at Hotel Le St-James, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear Irving A,

On behalf of us all, thank you for your kind comments. It is an honor to host you and your husband on such a special occasion! We have shared your generous compliments to our entire team.

We are looking forward to welcome you again soon!

Sincerely yours,

Elizabeth Glimenaki
Vice President Sales and Marketing
(514) 841-3111

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed 3 nights and, after a long queue at immigration, were delighted to be upgraded from a junior suite to a superior junior suite. It was well furnished, although not very large and on the dark side. The main issue was the noise from outside the hotel when sleeping, although earplugs helped.

The hotel is very well located for exploring both Vieux Montreal and the modern downtown area. We walked everywhere, which was the best way of exploring this charming city.

The XO restaurant is superb and very stylish. Wonderful food, both at breakfast and dinner - their eggs Benedict are the best I have ever tasted. Service was friendly and slick

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KentManKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

This is a beautiful hotel, from the grand bar and fine dining room (XO) to the four-poster beds. On the other hand, the gym is tiny and not much use for a weights routine. It has a universal-type machine with no instruction board and a small weight stack. There are five cardio machines if that's your thing. The gym at the Westin, just up the road, is much better. Wifi is not complimentary and costs $20 before tax. We only stayed one night, so not sure if that charge is per night or per stay. For some reason there was no stationery in our room. The bathroom products were Molton Brown and very nice. The staff were very helpful. Continental breakfast was included with our rate, which consisted of tea or coffee, juice and two pastries. You could order more off the menu, but this was charged.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeStJames, Director of Sales at Hotel Le St-James, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear David G,

We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us! We understand your concerns regarding the size of our gym. We would be delighted to host you again! Don’t hesitate to contact us directly for your future reservations needs.

Cordially,

Elizabeth Glimenaki
Vice President Sales and Marketing
(514) 841-3111

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I have nothing negative to say about this hotel. My favorite aspect of it is that the service is attentive without being overbearing. I've been to several good and even great hotels in which the service is very good, but feels overwhelming. This hotel provides everything you need and nothing you don't.

The downtown location is perfect and with several types of good restaurants.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank super-fan24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Our stay at Le St-James was quite perfect - it exceeded our expectations!

The hotel staff were truly sincere in the efforts to make you feel welcomed but more importantly, important! They went out of their way to offer their assistance and they meant it.
I have never experienced such genuine attentiveness.

Our room was beautiful (#1105) and the was shower exceptional.
The meals were also wonderful ... We enjoyed our breakfasts, our afternoon coffees, and our one dinner there was fabulous.

Running into John Malcovich, who was also a hotel guest, didn't hurt :)

I highly recommend Le St-James!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hellmannaic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

This truly is the ultimate hotel experience...from the minute you arrive till the minute you leave.
We booked a one night stay after a cruise; what a luxurious way to end our trip.
Everyone from the bell staff, front desk staff, and restaurant staff were superb; very charming and welcoming and accommodating.
The hotel is stunningly beautiful, in a great location, very technology friendly and the quietest hotel I have ever seen; talk about a great night's sleep!
The bathroom was fantastic; great towels and amenities; beautifully designed.
Everything about the hotel is thoughtful and well designed; I just can't say enough about it and I am not prone to gushing like this; but I could go on an on.
We had dinner in the hotel restaurant; our waiter, I believe his name was Arnaud, was so thoughtful in recommending an entree based on my questions which made the dining experience even more special.
This was a great choice and I will return to this hotel if visiting Montreal in the future.

Room Tip: If ever you want to splurge on a suite; this is the place to do it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank reallyrosieNashville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Mount Stephen
Le Mount Stephen
#29 of 165 in Montreal
78 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#2 of 165 in Montreal
1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#7 of 165 in Montreal
2,521 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#3 of 165 in Montreal
1,119 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 165 in Montreal
2,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le St-James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le St-James

Address: 355 St-Jacques, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1N9, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier International
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#11 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#30 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#31 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: $268 - $466 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Le St-James 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Member of The Leading Hotels of the World, renowned for its warm professional service, exceptional interiors and avant-garde elegance, this timeless grand hotel has become the benchmark of hospitality in Canada. This historic building, dating from 1870, is ideally situated in vibrant Old Montreal with easy access to shopping areas, restaurants, and the financial center. With impeccably detailed guest accommodations, each room and suite possesses its own character and personal charm. XO Le Restaurant offers its guests a modern and innovative cuisine. Le Spa served as the "Merchants Bank" vault. The stone wall is the original wall of fortification of Montreal which was preserved and now contributes to the peaceful candlelit setting we offer for the ultimate relaxation experience. Hotel Le St-James is a Certificate of Excellence 2014 winner with Trip Advisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Le St-James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le St James
Le St James Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing