We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“World class hosting”
Review of Hotel Le St-James

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Le St-James
Ranked #40 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Booked at Hotel Le St-James for what I will call "Coldplay Wekkend" - it was awesome, the service was top notch, even room service was spot on. Love the shower and bathroom and heated floors - everything worked the way it's supposed to. I highly recommend trying this out.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JY_Martineau_027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeStJames, Manager at Hotel Le St-James, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2012

Bonjour Mr. Matineau,

We hope you enjoyed the Coldplay concert and your recent stay in Montreal!

We'd also like to congratulate the United States for having won 90 medals (so far) at the London Olympics 2012. What a great acheivement!

We hope we will have the pleasure of hosting you in the very near future.

Have a fantastic day,

Hotel Le St-James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (535)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Le St-James
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

332 - 338 of 535 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2012

The staff was very helpful and polite. The hotel and restaurant were both lovely, and the location was great. There were some hiccups: the elevator was broken during our stay so we needed to use the service elevator. The room that we were given initially had not been cleaned and we needed to wait in the lobby for a new room - but were offered complimentary drinks. Our bags were piled up in the storage room, in the meanwhile, but no harm done. The rooms were quite nice and clean - there was some sign of wear but it wasn't bothersome. The restaurant was very, very good; it was a treat to have such a good restaurant on-location.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusieQTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeStJames, Manager at Hotel Le St-James, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2012

Dear SusieQTraveler,

We are pleased to hear that our staff was helpful and polite. We, at the St-James, pride ourselves on the personnel. We are also very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

Rest assured that our elevator has been repaired. We are sorry for any inconvenience it may have caused you.

Feel free to contact me directly at the number listed below for any asstance you may need regarding your next stay.

T: 514-841-3111, or toll free at 1-866-841-3111.

Wishing you a pleasant day,

Elizabeth Glimenaki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We loved this hotel. The staff is fantastic. The concierge especially, Yannis was extremely helpful on what to do and where to go in Montreal. Also he gave us excellent restaurant selections! The rooms are beautiful and bathrooms are huge. Absolutely stay here it gets an A+!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cbrkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeStJames, Manager at Hotel Le St-James, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2012

Dear cbrck,

Yannis is a very professional and talented concierge. We are very honored to have him on our team. He was humbled by your very kind words.

It was an absolute pleasure hosting you!

We look forward to welcoming you back at Hotel Le St-James.

À bientôt,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

This beautiful hotel is in a perfect location in Old Montreal. Unfortunately, the elevator was broken the 2 days we were there, but otherwise it was a great stay. The restaurant and the service was excellent throughout our stay and the staff were very friendly. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cora L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeStJames, Manager at Hotel Le St-James, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2012

Bonjour!

Dear Cora,

Thank you so much for choosing the St-James during your recent trip to Montreal.
We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience the elevator may have caused you during your stay.

We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely yours,

Hotel Le St-James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

My husband and I spent a weekend in June at this hotel to celebrate our anniversary. The hotel is located in Old Montreal. When we arrived there was a card in a room along with a plate of macaroons to wish us a happy anniversary. The suite very spacious and clean. The service in this hotel is excellent and professional. We ate at th xo restaurant in the hotel where we had an outstanding meal. Definitely worth the price! Very romantic as well!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nessienu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeStJames, Manager at Hotel Le St-James, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2012

Bonjour!

Dear "Nessienu",

We feel very honoured that we were your hotel of choice to celebrate such a special day!
We wish you and your husband many more years of health and happiness.

Looking forward to welcoming you back here soon!

Sincerely yours,

Hotel Le St-James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Yesterday I moved from Intercontinental to Le St James and I like it here much more! It is smaller and the service here are so much better. The rooms are nicer, also. Hotel is next to the Intercontinental and has a good location for exploring the old Montreal on foot.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ales11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

The hotel is conveniently located for exploring old Montreal. Lovely amenities, great food in the restaurant and excellent service. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UsaJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#2 of 165 in Montreal
1,356 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#6 of 165 in Montreal
2,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier International
W Montreal
W Montreal
#20 of 165 in Montreal
1,477 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#7 of 165 in Montreal
2,385 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le St-James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le St-James

Address: 355 St-Jacques, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1N9, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier International
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#7 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#23 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#31 Business Hotel in Montreal
#35 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: $314 - $635 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Le St-James 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Member of The Leading Hotels of the World, renowned for its warm professional service, exceptional interiors and avant-garde elegance, this timeless grand hotel has become the benchmark of hospitality in Canada. This historic building, dating from 1870, is ideally situated in vibrant Old Montreal with easy access to shopping areas, restaurants, and the financial center. With impeccably detailed guest accommodations, each room and suite possesses its own character and personal charm. XO Le Restaurant offers its guests a modern and innovative cuisine. Le Spa served as the "Merchants Bank" vault. The stone wall is the original wall of fortification of Montreal which was preserved and now contributes to the peaceful candlelit setting we offer for the ultimate relaxation experience. Hotel Le St-James is a Certificate of Excellence 2014 winner with Trip Advisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Le St-James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le St James
Le St James Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing