We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Impressive, yet failed to impress!

My wife and I were up in Montreal for a few days this past winter. Initially I had thought it would... read more

Reviewed March 26, 2013
ShababSaad
,
Ellicott City, Maryland
It wasnt what I had expected

We visited the Snow Village on it's opening night. It was super cool and the art is very impressive... read more

Reviewed March 17, 2013
Cathy W
,
Beaconsfield, Canada
Read all 40 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Montreal
from $23.09
More Info
from $90.03
More Info
from $9.79
More Info
from $43.84
More Info
Reviews (40)
Filter reviews
40 results
Traveler rating
8
14
7
4
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
8
14
7
4
7
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 40 reviews
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We visited the Snow Village on it's opening night. It was super cool and the art is very impressive but there is not much to do there. I thought there were giong to be fun activities. There is a bar, a restaurant, hotel rooms and thats about it. The best part were the fireworks. Now, maybe it has changed since the first night but I dont think it would be on the top of my list for things to do in Montreal.

Date of experience: January 2013
1  Thank Cathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Such a unique experience that is easily accessible by the Metro Jean-Drapeau and then a short walk to get to the actual site location. Be sure to dress warm since you are outdoors and if you want to see the fireworks go on a Saturday night. In addition to the walking through to see each of the uniquely carved rooms (30+) in the hotel portion and private individual igloos, you can also dine and grab an alcoholic beverage there. The chapel was really cool. Their brochure showed the list price to stay overnight $$$ but I still didn’t see where the bathroom would be? LOL!

Date of experience: March 2013
2  Thank Where_to_travel_next
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Didn't know about this until our B&B host mentioned it. We enjoyed walking through the park to get to the Ice Hotel which was interesting to see. Good thing they had a bar with hot chocolate and liqueur...It was cold!

Date of experience: March 2013
2  Thank LateTraveler_05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

Staying at the hotel was a neat experience, but not something that needs to be done more than once.
The snow village itself didn't have much to do besides looking at all the rooms, reserving a meal at the restaurant, listening to outdoor music, hanging out in the heated bubble, going to the ice bar, and an opportunity to snow shoe.

Most of the rooms were uniquely designed and some just had the logo on the wall. The beds are ice framed with a normal mattress and pillow. Sleeping bags are provided which can be zipped together for a couple or normal for solo. They were very warm and we only wore long underwear and a toque and neck warmer to bed and were warm all night. There is a light switch in the room but is not close enough to the bed to reach from your sleeping bag.

You only get access to your room at 10 pm and have to be out by 9am. Be forewarned that while there are snacks available during the day, when you come at night, everything is closed. The ice bar included 1 drink with your stay but was served in plastic cups unless you pay extra to get an ice cup. The continental breakfast was decent and is served in a nearby Aquatic Center that is heated. the Aquatic Center also has change rooms and showers locker room style that you can use at night or in the morning. they tell you to be at the Aquatic Center before 11 p.m. at night but go a good half hour in advance because sometimes they close early and all of your belongings are locked up.

There are 4 hot tubs available on site which you can book in advance for certain time. half hour time slots. I found that the hot tub heated up my body nicely before bed.

The restaurant, the pommery, was neat for the experience. we went for lunch and the price was decent and the food was good. however you do get a cold bum. Make reservations.

The ice slide was fun, but agreed, there are some drops that leave you bruised.

There is an orientation that is informative and funny but lasts a full hour bc it is in both French and English. It takes place in the heated bubble. This bubble is open all night in case you get a cool.

The washrooms are in a trailer at one end of the hotel. You have to make a mad dash in the middle of the night. But they're heated.

1  Thank Scrumble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We first learned about ice hotels from a gorgeous Nat Geo documentary; then we learned of Rami Kurtakko and team's work in Montreal. We were vary excited to see Snow Village (tho we chose for financial reasons not to spend the night). We arrived on a Friday at dusk with gentle snowfall. After paying the $12 admission, we learned that there was to be a tour; after listening that it was in French (understandably), we didn't want to bog the group down by having to translate for the just us two, so we opted out.

The Snow Village engineering did not disappoint; the long corridors of sci-fi arches are a delight. The NYC-themed snow-and-ice-sculpted rooms range from nuanced (clever use of LED lighting; "minus degree" room numbers) and thrilling (King Kong; The Village Vangaurd) to several perfunctorily Snow Village™ logo branded rooms, but overall terrific.

However, this visitor had a few observations about what i perceived as several marketing/management missteps – one serious. Approaching the complex, you see the village structures surrounded by glaring white flood lights, giving the "village" an industrial/construction site feel. An outdoor projection screen surrounded by loud techno-thumping speakers, suggested a dance area completely abandoned throughout our visit. So our first impression was to wonder if the Snow Village was a FAIL and we had fallen into a tourist trap.

It isn't, but someone was not paying attention to visitor experience.

Then there is the ice slide… with a poorly maintained deep RUT at the end of the slide. And there i picked up my Snow Village souvenir, a painful, fractured rib.

Date of experience: March 2013
4  Thank jleonyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews