We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average but Affordable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Versailles Hotel
Ranked #99 of 166 Hotels in Montreal
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Stayed there two nights in early July and booked through Hotwire. The day desk staff was helpful and friendly. The gentleman on desk in the evening was unfriendly and unhelpful. When I asked for enough towels/pillows for the 4 of us in the room, he seemed annoyed and didnt speak. The room was clean and what I expected for a budget hotel. The pool area was clean and appreciated in the July heat. The location works as parking is included, many restaurants/shopping areas, and the metro is right outside the hotel. The hotel has no wow factor but, for an inexpensive stay in Montreal, its fit the bill.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cory117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (217)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

99 - 105 of 217 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2013

This hotel is located in the east side of Montreal, quick access to the motorway offers ample parking, this hotel is located near a very large shopping center and is adjacent to a subway station.

rooms are standard size with new furniture and a balcony that can make an extended stay much more enjoyable the bathroom are small. the touristic spot are not too far away and the downtown is a 15 minutes drive. The breakfast is very poor but few good restaurant are close by.

if you like my post please vote

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I initially picked this hotel because it's very hard to find a hotel that includes parking, which was a big plus. But this was the only plus this place had to offer.
It's an average hotel; nothing special about it. The staff were friendly and the lobby looked nice and clean but the rooms were just okay. I found the bed to be quite small. I booked a queen bed and called the front desk to ensure that's what I had because it looked much like a double bed. However, they stated it was a queen.
The cable didn't offer many channels, which was fine for us because we were there to tour Montreal rather than staying in. The washroom was pretty small; not much room between the toilet and bathtub.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Work booked me at this hotel.
ROOM 132; stayed for 4 nights
LIKED: Front desk people were polite and helpful for directions. The room was old but clean (perfectly ok). The internet connection was fast and reliable. Super close to metro station! Lots of small restaurants and a huge Loblaw’s close by within short walking distance.

DIDN'T LIKE: Could not open the drapes because windows faced directly on the parking lot with vehicles parked right up to the Windows. I was unable to sleep because of a constant dull humming sound (like a ventilator). I turned off the air conditioner and unplugged the mini fridge but the noise continued. Could it be the HUGE electrical transformer power plant just behind the parking lot? I know I maybe should have asked to change the room but I was so tired from work each evening and had to get up early next day.

I bought ear plugs at the Loblaw’s next door after the first night.

I would still recommend this hotel for budget conscious people but NOT room 132.

I would be interested in knowing if other people who stayed at this hotel had a similar experience (humming sound).

Room Tip: NOT ROOM 132! (See my review)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jadefirehorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We had to change rooms because the toilet didn't flush. I tried to fix it but the mold on the tank was quite disappointing. Room was nice. Very quiet to sleep. The breakfast was included because they wouldn't book us a room unless it was included. Breakfast was average. Coffee was terrible.I wasn't sure if it was the cream had gone bad. The waitress was quick to inform us the tip was not included with the breakfast.

Room Tip: Pick a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank multitravelorrkj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We spent a weekend with another couple here mid March because we had tickets to a soccer game.

Overall the hotel is fairly easy to find.
Once going in we were pleasantly greeted by the hotel people which was quite nice.

One thing that caught us off guard was that our rooms were about a 2 minute walk from the other couple we were with. I didn't understand why the 2 rooms were right beside each other. Not a big deal but it would have been courteous.

When in the room it was quite spacious. We had to beds even though we only needed one. Air Conditioning worked and the room was very clean.

Location is always a big factor when travelling and we picked this because we thought it was beside a Metro station. Guess what? It was beside a Metro Station!! This gave us easy access to Montreal without dealing with the traffic.

Most hotels have continental breakfast. This place makes you pay. My suggestion go eat somewhere tasty because breakfast here didn't look tasty.

Overall an average stay. Would I stay there again? Nah, probably not.

Room Tip: my tip to help you choose a good room is to ask for a good room. Hahaha
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wayner76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Auberge Royal Versailles
This review is for a three star hotel and will be compared with other three star properties we have stayed in. The Auberge Royal Versailles is located outside the city center. It is easy to access by car and there are both buses and metro going downtown. The metro station Radisson is located less than 200 meters from the hotel and the metro takes you smoothly downtown. There is also located a huge and nice Loblaws grocery store and a small shopping mall only few minutes walk from the hotel.

Rooms:
The room was of average size. It felt clean and nice. The bathroom was a little worn down and rather small, but it worked out well. The hotel provided ok amenities.

Service:
The staff was friendly and provided good service. The cleaning staff was also very friendly and we had an overall good impression of the service provided.

We had an good stay at this hotel. If you are looking for a clean and good hotel we can recommend the Auberge Royal Versailles. We found it as a good base for exploring Montreal. We enjoyed the complementary parking and were happy to leave the car at the hotel and use public transport downtown. There were plenty of parking places. There are also a selection of restaurants in the vicinity of the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReiseKurre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Hotel Universel Montreal
Hotel Universel Montreal
#76 of 166 in Montreal
499 reviews
Hotel Le Prestige
#134 of 166 in Montreal
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Chabrol Hotel & Suites
#104 of 166 in Montreal
45 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotels Gouverneur Montreal
Hotels Gouverneur Montreal
#98 of 166 in Montreal
1,233 reviews
Hotel Terrasse Royale
#82 of 166 in Montreal
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Versailles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Versailles Hotel

Address: 7200 Sherbrooke St. East, Montreal, Quebec H1N 1E7, Canada (Formerly Hotel Wandlyn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 166 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range: $79 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Versailles Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel located in Montreal, 2 minutes from highway 40 and 25, right in front of the Radisson subway station within walking distance of major shopping malls. The Auberge Royal Versailles is nestled in an ideal neighbourhood. It is indeed a perfect junction point between the East, the South shore, the North Shore and Downtown Montreal which is only minutes away by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Versailles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Versailles Montreal
Hotel Royal Versailles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing